We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No reason to stay anywhere else” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #133 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No reason to stay anywhere else”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

A friend and I stayed 4 nights. The staff was friendly and helpful staff. We requested and got two beds and the rooms were clean and large for New York City. The beds were very comfortable beds. Adequate breakfast selections. Great socials serving appetizers, wine, and beer mid week. Perfect location near subway station.

Room Tip: IHG Platinum members were offered bonus points
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShereeRobinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,963
    1,902
    427
    74
    34
See reviews for
1,656
2,016
217
416
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We spent 5 nights at the Staybridge Suites near Time Square. First time to stay with this brand but will not be the last. It was centrally located to most everything we wanted to do in NYC - especially Broadway. The hotel was clean, bright and the staff very helpful. The breakfast was good and plentiful - depending upon the hour it can be somewhat crowed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We booked this hotel based upon its central location and stayed for 5 nights.

Reception was always busy but there were enough staff on duty to deal with guests.

The rooms were clean and compact but still bigger than most in NYC. We had a 21st floor view over the top of the bus station which was fine and it was open. Empire state views cost more.

There is a shop to buy food/drink for the room if required and Breakfast was included. You should expect to share tables when you eat. The breakfast was basic and if they could just go to an automatic rolling toaster like we have in the UK that would certainly help, but it was food and it did the job and got you out the door with a full stomach ready to hit the sights.

Now for the lifts which seems to concern many reviewers. We were here long enough to get an idea of what they were like. We were high up and waited for about 3 minutes on one occasion. The rest of the time we seemed to get lucky.

The service we received was variable. Check in/out was efficient but we had a problem with an incredibly noisy fridge motor in our room and after 2 days of them saying they’d fixed it when it was still like a freight I just turned it off at the wall because I was told changing rooms would cost me a couple of hundred dollars.

We were staying in NYC for our honeymoon which was listed all over our booking and my wife mentioned it when asked if we were sightseeing or on business, but we didn’t even get a congratulations which was a little disappointing. Service wasn’t what you would expect from a big chain.

The free wifi is a bonus and the hotel is right next door to the 42nd St bus terminal and subway stops so its easy to get to where you need to go. I can recommend downloading the free App “NYC Subway” which has a good planner and map on it and doesn’t use data to work out subway routes.

If you want to do some outlet shopping there’s a bus that goes to Jersey Gardens (indoor mall) and takes about 35 mins as opposed to the bus to Woodbury Common (outdoor mall) which is longer.

We also bought the New York Pass which included a bus tour and saved us money (and time with queue jump) on attractions in the long run.

The best bit of staying in New York was New York itself. We left the hotel at 7am and returned late in the evenings and that was probably a good thing.

The big question is would I stay here again based upon my experience? Given the choice of hotels in the City and the service we received I will choose to stay somewhere else, but I still cant rate it that badly as like the breakfast, it did the job.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hills86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Hills86,

Thank you for taking the time in completing a review about your stay. We are delighted to know that you liked our clean rooms, complimentary internet access and convenient location. However, we apologize for the noise challenges experienced and breakfast variety which has negatively impacted your stay. The review we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We hope you will give us an opportunity to better serve you on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Usually a carbon monoxide detector would make one feel more secure, but when the battery's dying and the thing starts beeping at 4 am after a long night where all you want to do is sleep, it tend to undo a certain amount of goodwill. It was quickly taken care by the extremely efficient and friendly staff, but it nevertheless was an annoyance.

Otherwise, though, the hotel was fine. Big bed, cozy kitchen area, very large bathroom with a funky little shower (heavier people might find it a tight squeeze) and a nice selection at breakfast. Very close to subway line and Times Square.

Once again, I can't fault the staff, who handled everything extremely well. I thought it very generous and surprising when I was offered 1,000 rewards points for the nighttime inconvenience. Kudos to them and their customer service.

And P.S. get a tip jar or something going for the breakfast staff. They work their butts off.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jas044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Having been to New York several times, we knew we wanted a clean, safe, reasonable Manhattan Hotel that had at least a mini-fridge and was close to the Times Square action. This hotel definitely met those requirements. THE GOOD – Great price, the staff was very courteous, it was easy to get a cab (a block from the port authority), a big drug store and great pizza place was right down the street, the room was well laid out, very clean, modern (including the mini-kitchen), and quiet (which is amazing in Manhattan). THE BAD – All three elevators are crazy S-L-O-W (and there are 20+ stories so either get your climbing shoes out or be prepared to wait), there was no restaurant or room service on site, the corner glass shower was small, and although there was a window, there was no view, at all. THE UGLY – The free breakfast buffet. Yes, there was the promised hot and cold items, and the yogurt, cold cereal, or pastries were wonderful, but a few of the hot items were a guessing game (is this sausage or hash browns?), there is nowhere near enough seating for the deluge of people eating (even if you get there at 6:30am and sit with strangers), and it started to look like the Hunger Games around the two super slow four-slot toasters (seriously, people were arguing so heatedly about the fact that they were “next in line” for the toaster it started to get scary). AND SOOO…. If you are looking for clean, safe, reasonable Manhattan Hotel (with kitchen), then go for it. If you are thinking that you will get anything other than those four things, don’t.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a room on a lower floor overlooking the alley. That way you can skip the sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oh_my_schnauzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Public acknowledgement:

Dear Oh_my_schnauzers,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. I am delighted that we have met your expectations when it comes to rates, service from staff and room accommodations. The good comments from our valued guests, like yourself, give us the motivation to continue finding ways to provide you with the best hotel experience.

However, it is truly regrettable that not all aspects of our facility were at par with your standards, especially the elevator and breakfast selection. Each point raised on your review have been taken into serious consideration as this will be used towards improving on our services.

I hope that you would give us another chance to host you in the future and provide you with a great hotel experience.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oatley, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

If you're looking for a quality hotel with very reasonable rates that's well located in Manhattan, look no further than this hotel.

My wife and I stayed here on three separate occasions over a one month period (3-4 nights at a time) while we used NYC as a 'base' to explore NE United States and Canada. We were impressed on each occasion we stayed here.

Being a block or two from Times Square on W40th St.means that Staybridge Suites is well situated to most attractions and transport hubs (it's across the road from the Port Authority Bus Terminal [PABT] and only a few blocks from Penn Station).

We found the staff welcoming, efficient and very professional. Everything worked well and went off without a hitch (although the elevators are a little slow, mainly a result of this hotel's popularity - there a lot of people who like Staybridge !)

On each of our stays, we had a room with a "City View". This means you're on an upper floor overlooking the PABT car park. That's not as bad as it sounds. I've included a photo from our room on level 31. From there we had reasonable glimpses of the Hudson River and the lights of Times Square.

Part of our accommodation package included breakfast. The choice of food in the morning was generally good and satisfying, with both 'continental' and 'hot' styles of breakfast on offer. The breakfast (like the hotel itself and its elevators) is very popular. My tip is to avoid the 'breakfast crush' between 8am - 9am if you can. You also have the option of taking food back to your room.

The kitchenette in our room was well equipped, with a full set of crockery, cutlery, a microwave, dishwasher, coffee maker and a decent fridge. BTW, the best local food market we found was the Food Emporium at 452, W43rd St.

So if a quality NYC hotel with great staff, good rates and convenient midtown location is what you're after, make sure you include Staybridge Suites on your list.

Room Tip: Ask for a "City View" room. You might pay a tad more, but it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SageAU1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed here for a weekend in March so we could see a few shows. It’s a typical NYC hotel, fairly small rooms with narrow hallways. It was clean and the free breakfast was very good so no complaints there. We drove into the city and it was easy to get to, at least from the direction we came. There is also a parking garage right up the street that was fairly reasonable for the city ($35/day). I’m not sure it’s quite at a rating of very good but I would return for sure. All in all we have a good stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#207 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#143 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,707 reviews
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#250 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,856 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Property: Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#57 Family Hotel in New York City
#61 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Southall Travel so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing