We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel stay in 2013” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #134 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel stay in 2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

This review is one year late but I hope it is better late than never. Location of the hotel is great and within walking distance to Time Square. Breakfast was not fantastic but sufficient variety and amount to satisfy. They even serve wine on certain afternoons and what is the best is the laundry facilities. For people like me who spent three weeks in USA, it was so convenient and useful to us. Although the elevators do take quite some time to arrive, it was not a really serious problem. Staff were helpful and nice too.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yumakoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,960
    1,902
    426
    74
    34
See reviews for
1,655
2,016
217
416
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband is in NYC regularly for work and this is his "home away from home". The staff is always very pleasant and full of useful information. The rooms are a great size for NYC and having a full kitchen is perfect to store leftovers and be able to eat them later. The location is convenient to access many modes of transportation, a variety of food options, and travel in and out of NYC. The rooms are very quiet. It probably helps that there are only 10 rooms per floor.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

My Husband and I have just come back from a 2week vaction from New York City where we spent 7 nights at the Staybridge Suites. Everything is clean and spacious the breakfast fantastic. The rooms are excellent, location perfect. We had no problem at all with the lifts. Tho only negative was that some of the washers and dryers were not working so took a little time to juggle some washing. But overall an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
437 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was our first trip to NYC and while planning, we had no idea on where to stay. Given the excellent reviews on TA, we decided to try Staybridge Suites.

The hotel is in an excellent location in Mid-town Manhattan. It is located right across from the Port Authority Bus Terminal and a few blocks from Times Square. The 42nd Avenue subway stop is at the end of the block!

The room was bigger than I expected to get in NYC. It had a full king bed and a kitchenette. The bathroom was a bit tight but given that we spent no time in the room, not a big deal.

The free breakfast was excellent and I really appreciated the free internet and the newspapers that were available at the front door.

I felt this hotel was an excellent value and would not hesitate to book there again.

Room Tip: Some say the elevators are slow so you might want a lower floor. We were on the 11th floor and didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I certainly wasn't expecting an oasis like this place in the midst of zooyork! Following a hectic flight during which my luggage went missing, I was greeted by the astonishingly pleasant Ari with a big smile that made me think, well may be the worst part of my trip must be over. Extremely accommodating, she described all the available amenities and facilities, and helped me locate nearby shops to purchase everything I required till my luggage was found. This too 7.5hrs into her shift! If anything, Ari secured my future patronage for this place.
- Kory, San Francisco

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Korysf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and spacious. We loved having the fridge and micro to reheat our yummy NYC leftovers. Super convenient to get around with a subway entrance at the end of the street. Ricardo and Kenyeta were so helpful during breakfast time too! Breakfast was decent, enjoyed the nightly appetizers and drinks, too!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room for even more space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theguthriefive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Several facts about Staybridge from me. Pluses: 1. Everything is clean and brand new. Perfect furniture, fully equipped kitchen and comfortable beds. Only one problem is A/C. 2. Perfect breakfasts. it's regular but very fresh and tasty. Three times a week you can have free snacks with drinks. 3. Absolutely professional and friendly front desk stuff. Guys really likes their work or just do it good. 4. Location close to Times Square and subway. but you can read about location in a next part too. So 'minuses'. 1. Location again. Hotel is situated in a strange part of street with adults porno saloons and a lot of drunk and homeless people. I really afraid to walk here in the late evening. 2. Noise. really huge noise. first noise from the street - you can't open a window because fan coils in the building in front of hotel are very loud. But If you close your window and wanna use your own a/c it makes huge noise and in our room it has a dog's pee smell because hotel "animal friendly". A/c doesn't work correctly because it's not cool air even then I made it on 60F. May be someone doesn't care about it. 3. Our housekeeper forget about us for 2 days. So anyway hotel is pretty good and I can recommend it for a people who looking for a nearest place to the TS but next time I will looking for a place on a quite and safety street. anyway guys you make you job pretty well! OK, almost all of you. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alex_Lipovskiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#209 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,702 reviews
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#251 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,853 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Property: Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#57 Family Hotel in New York City
#61 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing