We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel near bus and subway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #152 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

really near busterminal, subay and Times Square. The street is not so nice and I would not had stayed ther with younger children. Breakfast was included and perhaps not the standard that we are used with in Sweden but ok. Not so much room to sit but you could bring it back to your room. Managers reception was included and was ok. Burgers one night and hot dogs the other. The elevators were a problem. One day all was open but stil a long waiting time. One day two out of four didn´t work so we walked the stairs. Kitchen with stove and fridge. Problems with towels. One day we had 3 for 3 pople. The next day 2 towels and the third only 1 towel for 3 persons. The reception didn´t seem to care. One day we did not get our room cleaned until we asked late night.

Room Tip: We hade a room opposite the bustermial but there was no noice. The ac was very noicy. Don´t stay so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SwedenSweden123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I can assure you our location while very busy with us being so near Times Square, it is very safe and we do keep 24 hour in house and street security to assure the safety of our guests. We do provide complimentary hot and cold breakfast buffet and I’m glad to see you could join us for this. Please note we do offer additional seating in our front bar area as well as outdoor seating during our summer months. Our elevators can get a busy during our peak hours of check out and check in time and we advise our guests to allow a little extra travel time during these hours. We do have all 3 of our elevators in full working order. I apologize for the issue with your towels. We certainly can send up extra towels at any time and I apologize this was not addressed quicker for you. I hope you enjoyed your stay otherwise and we hope to see you again in the future!

Thanks Again,
Staybridge Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,927 - 1,933 of 5,764 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Jamie, Eddie & Sunnie made us feel unbelievably welcome at Staybridge Suites in NYC! This was our first stay here and we were excited for our big vacation in May 2013. When we arrived we let them know it was our mom's 75th birthday and the whole week we stayed there they sang to her and made sure to call her by name; that really made our mom feel so special. When we requested a good place to eat they would call ahead and let them know that we were coming and that it was mom's 75th b-day:) One night we came back to the hotel and we were cold. We were presented with the best hot cocoa and were encouraged to sit by the fire in the lounge. Besides being made to feel so welcomed and special, the cleaning services were amazing!
This hotel was in the best location very close to everything we wanted to see and visit. We could not think of one thing that was lacking or disappointing. I would highly recommend this hotel and make sure to ask Eddie and Jamie to sing you a song:) They were awesome!!! I hope they are there the next time we come back!
From Marshfield, WI

Room Tip: We stayed on the 31st floor. Not sure how other rooms were but ours was quiet and well maintained. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and recognizing our wonderful bell staff here at the Staybridge. Jamie, Sunny, and Eddie were so glad to hear they made your stay extra special and memorable. We are thrilled we could be a part of such an important occasion and I do hope you mother enjoyed every moment of her special trip. We would love to welcome you back (with a song of course), and hope to see you again soon!

Thanks Again,
Staybridge Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Been checking in the web for the best ,affordable hotel around Times Square. Came across Staybridge Suites. Reviews was good so I decided to book for our family. Location was just a stone throw away from Times Square. Restaurants aplenty around the area. Our rooms comes with kitchen, a bit small for a family of four, can be a bit squeeze but that's the only downside. This hotel comes with free wifi ,breakfast and a complimentary happy hour snack during weekdays. It's like a home away from home. We will surely be back Staybridge.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maribel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

We are so happy you felt at home while with us and were able to “get comfortable” as that’s our motto! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and share your kind words. Here in NYC we try to make the most of the little space we have while still giving you all the comforts of home and while a tight fit I’m glad this did not spoil your trip and you still enjoyed the hotel! We would absolutely love to welcome you back to the Staybridge and hope to see you again soon!

Thanks Again,
Staybridge Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Location was great to begin with but all of the extras made this the best hotel for our family's week in New York. Laundry facilities (free); breakfast buffet (totally adequate and also free); early evening happy hour with beverage and snacks (again, free); helpful staff and a concierge that goes the extra mile. Only downside was the elevators....not enough of them and slow once they arrive.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Pegzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for such a great review! Our amenities such as free breakfast, wifi, laundry, and weekday social reception are just one way we say thank you to our wonderful guests for choosing Staybridge Times Square! Thank you also for recognizing our concierge and front desk staff. They are always happy to help our guests with anything they might need. Our elevators can get a busy during our peak hours of check out and check in time and we advise our guests to allow a little extra travel time during these hours however, I’m glad to see this did not spoil your time here with us. We would love to welcome you back to the Staybridge and hope to see you again soon.

Thanks Again,
Staybridge Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel has it all: Clean, comfortable rooms with full kitchens. Free, hot breakfast. Snacks in the afternoon during the week. Friendly, helpful staff. Great location. The rooms are spacious for New York City.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Librarian123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review! I’m glad to see you enjoyed all of the amenities we offer here at the Staybridge! I hope you were able to get out and make the most of this lovely summer weather here and make it to all the great attractions nearby! We hope you would come visit us again soon!

Thanks Again,
Staybridge Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I would highly recommend this hotel based on the hotel itself, it's location, value for money and the quality of the staff.

The location is fantastic as it's close to Times Square and port authority bus terminal, yet the street is relatively quiet. I will definitely stay here again.

The hotel is very well maintained. Our double rooms was quiet spacious and immaculately clean.

The staff are a friendly and professional bunch.

Tip: Try the nearby Capizzi on the corner of 40th and 9th, great for pizza and wine.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank ConorFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for recommending the Staybridge Times Square! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time here with us! Being just a few short blocks from Times Square we get all the benefits of our central location with less of the noise of the square itself! Thank you also for offering the great tip of checking out Capizzi’s pizza down the block from us. They are a great spot and always take wonderful care of our guests. We hope you will come visit us again the next time you’re in NYC!

Thanks Again,
Staybridge Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here for 9 nights and loved every minute of it. The location is fantastic, a stroll to anywhere really, and not one bit of outside noise in hotel , very well insulated .
All the staff are outstanding, and obviously have great pride in their workplace , it shows through.
We booked on a referral from a prior house guest and would highly recommend it to any one looking for clean, modern , comfortable accommodation at a great price for the location.
The free brekkie is a winner, as is the wifi. The lifts are a bit slow, but so what, just pretend that you had to wait an extra few minutes to get across the lights , or any other instance where you have to wait a mo, it just doesn't matter in the long run. Gives you an opportunity to chat with other guests, such a melting pot of international travellers.
Thanks for a great holiday , you are all welcome at my motel anytime!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank PammyG675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan B, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and spent such a long time with us! Our location is perfect for sightseeing as we are within walking distance to many big attractions and just steps away from the subway. Thank you so much for mentioning our wonderful staff. It means so much to us that you noticed the hard work they put in to make every guests stay special. It sounds like you really made the most of your time here! We would love to have you back for a visit again and hope to see you soon! And a trip to Australia sounds like just what our staff needs! We may just have to take you up on that offer!

Have a lovely day!
Staybridge Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#302 of 469 in New York City
4,200 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#65 of 469 in New York City
5,461 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#235 of 469 in New York City
1,885 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#290 of 469 in New York City
2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £117 - £382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing