We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING STAFF!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #156 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We were in New York for 11 days and from the moment we walked into the Staybridge Suites, Jamie was there to help. He gave us amazing recommendations that not only made our stay more fun but a lot easier in a great big city. Kim at the concierge desk was always friendly and willing to help us get around the subway or book a car for us. I can not say enough about the wonderful staff at this hotel, they made our stay even more fantastic! What a fabulous city!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,158 - 4,164 of 5,799 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2010

Our moment at the Staybridge Suites Transpired July 17 - 22. We engaged in an impressive new, 22nd Flr Rm [2203] with cool views [ignore the parking garage].
Cons: Noisy A/C and Small Shower. BEWARE: Extremely hot water with awesome water pressure.

NOTE: There are 10 rooms on each floor [32 floors]. Only the odd room numbers offer a view via the high floors.

3-ELEVATORS, which worked perfect for us ... On most occasions, I'd press the button and presto the doors would open immediately. The most we ever waited was 3 minutes.

BELLMAN: Sunny the Bellman is truly a "BLESSING" to all who visit ... And, his name reflects his wonderful personality on a daily basis! Sunny was our first & last impression of our lodging moment ... Genuine & Priceless Representative! The other bellman and the security guards are super nice as well. If you've seen the movie Salt ... Say hello to Omar the Bellman who was sworn in with Angelina Jolie during the movie.

Maid: We were BLESSED with an awesome Angel ... Our picture perfect room was cleaned and "well-stocked" daily. We "NEVER" needed a thing ... Thank U!!!!! Our maid went above & beyond any expectation ... On our first day we simply dropped our bags and made a mess when unpacking ... Needless to say, our room was a war-zone! When we returned from our long day we were surprised to see our room in picture-perfect condition - WOW! And, yes our room remained wow during our entire visit.

FRONT DESK STAFF & The CONCIERGE: Average, yet helpful

BUSINESS CENTER: 3 Computers - 1 Printer [Does not print PDF's - inquire with the front desk for printouts]

BREAKFAST: Basic Fare, which consists of eggs, fruit, 1-breakfast meat [ham, sausage or bacon], pastries, granola, oatmeal, juice, coffee, etc. We utilized the breakfast service each morning and never had a problem obtaining food. In addition to the beautiful main dining room [which does fill up quickly] there is another room right off of the lobby that remains pretty empty. Another option is to eat in your room where U can toast your own bread and provide room service to your family. NOTE: If traveling with small children, purchase some cereal to store in your room. Having a brand new refrigerator and dishwasher was a great benefit!

GREAT FOOD: Greenwich Village, West Village, Soho & Tribeca

VALUE: Grayline Double Decker 72-Hr Bus Tour: Includes 3 tickets to must-see attractions and a night tour via the Brooklyn Bridge that is great! Basically, U get the tour for free.

TIMES SQUARE: 556,000 + people travel this venue daily, which can be over-whelming, especially when traveling with small children. Wear comfy shoes as U will walk more than U ever imagined. Most importantly, don't be shocked by anything U see! Yet, U will feel safe, as the NYC Police are everywhere day/night.

HIGHLIGHTS: Statue of Liberty, Central Park, Lion King the Musical & Rockefeller Center

SUBWAYS: Super-Hot and Confusing at First

Private Town Car Service from Staybridge Suites to LGA: $45.00 Flat [Inclusive of tip & tolls] via CASH.

BOTTOM LINE: If U are seeking glamor, perfection, an awesome breakfast with no lines, no wait-time for the elevators, an empty gym, etc., U just may want to engage in the high-end venues where U will surely find something to complain about.

Enjoy your stay, tip well and be hAPPY!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZestyTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

We were on vacation for a week in NYC with our teenage children and this was perfect for our stay. The kitchenette was handy but we stuffed ourselves on the breakfast buffett so we saved most of our money on eating by being able to skip lunch. They also have a reception (free beer, wine and soda and snacks) T, W, TH evenings which was a nice bonus. Close to subway and right across the street from the Port Authority so getting around was a breeze. Rooms were big by NYC standards. Very modern and very clean. Don't count on using the computers there - only a couple off the lobby and always in use. I brought my laptop and the internet was free as promised, The laundrey was great - nice new machines. All you need was detergent - the machines were free. Would recommend for families or for those staying more than a few days.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

I stayed at this hotel the first weekend in June with two of my friends and we had a very pleasant stay.

The positives:
- Nice size rooms for New York, especially considering the price.
- Everything is new, new, new. Well-stocked kitchenette.
- Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Able to provide both early check-in and late checkout, as well as helped print tickets to event when business center printer would not work (more on this later).
- Fast internet and FANTASTIC television - 42" HD with over 200 channels, most of which were in HD. Never experienced that before.
- Comfortable beds.
- Located near several subway stops.

Negatives:
- Everything about the hotel (with the exception of the rooms) is undersized. Only three elevators. Small lobby area with poor design. Only two computers available in business center. Tiny breakfast and reception area. Small gym. All of which are frequently overwhelmed by the number of guests.
- Is not in what many would consider to be the "safest"or most attractive location.
- No rollaways available, no sleeper sofas like many other Staybridges.

Overall: For the purposes of three 20-something year old guys in the city, this hotel worked very well. The staff was great and we weren't usually up early enough to fight for breakfast. The rooms were spacious for New York and well-appointed. I'd absolutely stay here again, as long as you don't count on some of the "extra" amenities being available.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JF1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We came tired and exhausted after travelling 14 hours, the hotel staff was very accomodating and courtious. The bell boy Sunny was the most helpful . We had requested him earlier around the 6th of July to keep a spare bag in the hotel bell desk. Sunny in my opinion is an asset to any hotel enterprise and should be promoted and given a salary incentive.
I am a very senior Air-India pilot with 27 years of airline experience and I have been staying in hotels for the last 27 years. This hotel is the best, keep it up and keep me informed of your sales promotions and loyalty rewards programmes on my E-mail hiteshkukar@gmail.com

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiteshkukar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

We stayed here for two nights in mid July 2010 in a Queen Studio. Very impressed with the size of the room, full size fridge, big lcd tv and good size bathroom. Everything was immaculately clean.
The location is pretty average, midtown west side - there isn't a lot of things to see or good restaurants close by, except for Times Square, but this means it is a very hectic place.
We never went to the nighttime reception drinks but if they were anything like breakfast I am glad we didn't! Breakfast is 6.30-10 and one morning we went down at 8am and it was standing room only - people were literally eating their cereal from a bowl standing up as there is nowhere to sit and the place was overflowing. I'm sure the items on offer for breakfast were probably good - not that we could get near enough to get anything due to the volume of people so ended up grabbing muffins and fruit and going back to the room. Very stressful way to start the day.
The lifts are very slow and always full - we were on floor 7 (I think there are 32 or 34 floors) so often we had to wait for another lift to go down.
The business center is 2 computers that were always taken everytime we went past which was frustrating.
The gym is good but very small - 3 treadmills and 2 eliptical trainers which all get taken up quite quickly in the mornings.
Other than that it was a pleasant stay but probably wouldn't stay there again, at least not in summer when it is so busy.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Unlucky to stay for only 1 night!! We travelled on to Orlando but wish we could have stayed longer
.2 X QUEEN ROOMS Excellent rate of $189. Free wii
Evening drinks & snacks were very enjoyable and the breakfast was excellent. STAFF were wonderful and couldn't have been more helpful and friendly.
Sonny and Jamie you are LEGENDS we love you <3
Am lucky enough to be staying for 2 nights in September with my Mum although the rate is higher it is still pretty good. If the rate lowers we will stay for another 3 nights,,,,,,, so here;s hoping!
Can;t wait until September!!!!My favourite hotel in New York :-))

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank britishtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#309 of 470 in New York City
4,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#66 of 470 in New York City
5,507 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#237 of 470 in New York City
1,889 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#188 of 470 in New York City
8,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £116 - £413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing