We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #131 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

I was looking for a not so expensive hotel within walking distance to Times Square to spend a weekend with my wife, since I had bought tickets to a show at B.B. King´s Blues Club & Grill and the Phantom of the Opera. Among the many hotels available, I found the Staybridge Times Square on Google Earth. I had seen some reviews online, talking about the shady businesses on the same street, but decided to give it a try, after looking at some photos of the hotel´s ammenities.
I have to admit that it is located on a street where you´ll see some shops you´d never go into, but that´s just half a block from 8th Ave. As soon as you get to 8th Ave., you´ll see a Dean & Deluca, and right next to it, one of the Muji stores. And let me make it clear that we never felt that this area wasn´t safe. Even around midnight, when we were coming back from a show, there were a lot of people on the streets and everything felt fine.
So, if you don´t mind the short walk to decent civilization, you´ll absolutely love the hotel. The staff was extremely courteous from the start, and although this was probably due to our reservation, they made it possible for us to check before at noon.
The room was one of the best ones I had ever slept in. The bed was very confortable (we felt like we weren´t going to have the strength to leave the bed and go to the show), and it was the first time we ever stayed in a room with a full refrigerator and a dishwasher, besides the microwave oven, electric stove, coffee maker, etc.
There were only two cons in our stay. The first was that in the room where we were located (end of the hall), you could hear a bit too much of closing doors (although that never prevented us from sleeping). The other was that our room was on the last floor, so water flow to the shower and sinks were inconsistent. But that´s easy to fix. Just ask for a lower room.
We will certainly stay there again, given another opportunity.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HPeirano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,003
    1,917
    432
    74
    35
See reviews for
1,684
2,035
220
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

I was very impressed by how friendly and eager to help the staff was. We were working in the room and had a towel on the bed with many door keys in piles. Stepped out for a break and when we came back house keeping had been there and actually made the bed and did not disturb any of our work! We were very impressed! Anytime we would call front desk for anything the always responded quickly!
The kitchen had everything we needed to make meals and there is a meat market and farmers market only 1 and 1/2 blocks from hotel. Very nice stay almost felt like being home!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnyHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

Great location, great (free) amenities, great (free) breakfast, great (not free but well priced) rooms, friendly staff, would definitely stay there again when back in town.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimbolsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walkerton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

Stayed at this hotel for three nights July 26/10. Great rooms, large TV, beds comfortable and virtually no noise (and we were 2 doors from elevators). Kitchen a plus for snacks and drinks, breakfast that was included was great...encouraged you to take muffins and fruit to go. Breakfast room like others have said is very busy at certain times. Nice selection but sometimes hard to navigate to get to what you want because of line ups at the toasters. We tried to arrive before 9AM and it seemed to be less busy. Bathrooms in hotel like others have said could use more towel racks... especially with four girls sharing a room. Staff was extremely helpful, courteous,and always willing to make terrific recomendations from anything from where to eat to where to go and see something wonderful and exciting. A special shout out to Carter on the front desk really willing to go the extra mile to make sure that everything runs smoothly, and to Jamie our bellman who gave us some really fantastic ideas on where to eat....5 Napkin Burger is great!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuffytuffy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

If you want something of quality and good value in the middle of one of the most crazy places in the world this is the place. Right on the doorstep for everything with the nicest staff anywhere whether you want to look after yourself or go out and get looked after. New building, the rooms are excellent with first rate facilities. Breakfast is an abundance I dare you not to find something you like but go early to avoid the rush. However, if crowds aren't your thing grab what you want and relocate to a quiet dining space located off reception. Happy hr 3 nights per week free wine and beer - beat that in New York. The staff are so friendly and helpful. Don't know where to go or how to get there they will tell you. Have to mention 2 front of house - nicest guys in the world Sunny and Jamie, Idriss who kept our room later for us and Joy on reception. Downside - lifts can be a bit slow and you often end up going up before you come down! Needed air con during the night (July - very hot) but noisy as is having the fridge freezer in the room. Overall if I ever get enough energy that is the place I will stay when I return to New York.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

We were in New York for 11 days and from the moment we walked into the Staybridge Suites, Jamie was there to help. He gave us amazing recommendations that not only made our stay more fun but a lot easier in a great big city. Kim at the concierge desk was always friendly and willing to help us get around the subway or book a car for us. I can not say enough about the wonderful staff at this hotel, they made our stay even more fantastic! What a fabulous city!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johns Creek, GA
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

Our moment at the Staybridge Suites Transpired July 17 - 22. We engaged in an impressive new, 22nd Flr Rm [2203] with cool views [ignore the parking garage].
Cons: Noisy A/C and Small Shower. BEWARE: Extremely hot water with awesome water pressure.

NOTE: There are 10 rooms on each floor [32 floors]. Only the odd room numbers offer a view via the high floors.

3-ELEVATORS, which worked perfect for us ... On most occasions, I'd press the button and presto the doors would open immediately. The most we ever waited was 3 minutes.

BELLMAN: Sunny the Bellman is truly a "BLESSING" to all who visit ... And, his name reflects his wonderful personality on a daily basis! Sunny was our first & last impression of our lodging moment ... Genuine & Priceless Representative! The other bellman and the security guards are super nice as well. If you've seen the movie Salt ... Say hello to Omar the Bellman who was sworn in with Angelina Jolie during the movie.

Maid: We were BLESSED with an awesome Angel ... Our picture perfect room was cleaned and "well-stocked" daily. We "NEVER" needed a thing ... Thank U!!!!! Our maid went above & beyond any expectation ... On our first day we simply dropped our bags and made a mess when unpacking ... Needless to say, our room was a war-zone! When we returned from our long day we were surprised to see our room in picture-perfect condition - WOW! And, yes our room remained wow during our entire visit.

FRONT DESK STAFF & The CONCIERGE: Average, yet helpful

BUSINESS CENTER: 3 Computers - 1 Printer [Does not print PDF's - inquire with the front desk for printouts]

BREAKFAST: Basic Fare, which consists of eggs, fruit, 1-breakfast meat [ham, sausage or bacon], pastries, granola, oatmeal, juice, coffee, etc. We utilized the breakfast service each morning and never had a problem obtaining food. In addition to the beautiful main dining room [which does fill up quickly] there is another room right off of the lobby that remains pretty empty. Another option is to eat in your room where U can toast your own bread and provide room service to your family. NOTE: If traveling with small children, purchase some cereal to store in your room. Having a brand new refrigerator and dishwasher was a great benefit!

GREAT FOOD: Greenwich Village, West Village, Soho & Tribeca

VALUE: Grayline Double Decker 72-Hr Bus Tour: Includes 3 tickets to must-see attractions and a night tour via the Brooklyn Bridge that is great! Basically, U get the tour for free.

TIMES SQUARE: 556,000 + people travel this venue daily, which can be over-whelming, especially when traveling with small children. Wear comfy shoes as U will walk more than U ever imagined. Most importantly, don't be shocked by anything U see! Yet, U will feel safe, as the NYC Police are everywhere day/night.

HIGHLIGHTS: Statue of Liberty, Central Park, Lion King the Musical & Rockefeller Center

SUBWAYS: Super-Hot and Confusing at First

Private Town Car Service from Staybridge Suites to LGA: $45.00 Flat [Inclusive of tip & tolls] via CASH.

BOTTOM LINE: If U are seeking glamor, perfection, an awesome breakfast with no lines, no wait-time for the elevators, an empty gym, etc., U just may want to engage in the high-end venues where U will surely find something to complain about.

Enjoy your stay, tip well and be hAPPY!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZestyTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#54 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,842 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#213 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#254 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,891 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,784 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Property: Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing