We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #156 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2011

Stayed for break with son aged 29 for 4 nights at the Staybridge Suites towards the end of Jan.. Whilst it may not be situated in the most celubrious street in New York ie. opposite the main bus depot, please do not be put off. The location is excellent, just 1 block from all the fun and excitement that is Times Square. From the moment we stepped out of the airport shuttle until we boarded it 4 days later for our return, the service of the staff, the friendliness of employees the cleanliness and size of our room and the excellent value for money provided made this a memorable stay in the Big Apple! I cannot speak highly enough of the security lady who was so helpful when my son got robbed in a restaurant on our first night--- not in the hotel I hasten to add! They were so attentive, helping us with the police etc. and were determined that this incident would not spoil our stay, which it most certainly did not.
Our room was on the 5th floor, spotlessly clean, 2 large queen sized beds, large wall mounted TV with all channels available, excellent heating, for it was cold and snowy and all the mod cons of cooker, dishwasher, micro wave, fridge freezer and tea/coffee machine. Although only on the 5th floor the room was by no means noisy and easily accessible.
Breakfast included hot and cold dishes and plenty of it served in a very pleasant and clean eating area with numerous staff on hand to keep things replenished
For our first visit to New York I cannot speak highly enough of the Staybridge Suites and if they continue to maintain these excellent standards I will certainly return and recommend the hotel to all my friends without reservation!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Britsabroad2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,952 - 3,958 of 5,799 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2011

Pay attenion to one thing: i payed my room on internet and when the receptionists asked me my Credit Card i thought it was for expenses, but when i came back home in Italy i discovered that I payed my room two times. Having back the money wasn't so easy also because the reservation office didn't answer to my request and just when I informed them that i was proceeding by my lawyer they answered me and gave me back the money and excuses. Anyway I stayed in this Hotel for about four nights and i can say that this hotel is really comfortable. Coming back in the hotel from a walking day i felt myself at home because of clean, comforts and modern room. The breakfast was great even if repetitive and the breakfast room was spacious mostly in the sitting room behind where you can take a sofa. The hhotel was furthermore in city center far less than 5 minutes walking by times square and so permit to explore the city very easily.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PPPierpaolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

This was my third time in NYC. The first time I stayed in a fancy expensive hotel, the second in a cheap one. This time it was a winner. Staybridge Suites have a decent size apartment with mini-kitchen, large LCD TV, and excellent bathroom. I was with the wife and we loved the staff, the service, the space. Their "it's on us" policy works - very good breakfast (including take-away) included in the price, gym and laundry. Free internet was free and fast! This, of course, is not a luxury hotel, but it is agreeable and confortable. The not so good things were - smallish wardrobe and, sometimes, long waiting for the lifts. The location is absolutely fantastic, walking distance to cinemas, theaters, restaurants, drugstores. The hotel block itself is not fancy, facing the side of the Port Authority Bus Station. But walk half a block and you are in the liveliest of the NYC neighborhoods. And it is true - when in your room, it is quiet!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VSOP_AOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

I stayed at the Staybridge Suites from 1/28 - 1/31 while in town for a trade show. The hotel is extremely clean, the staff is very friendly and helpful and the room was perfect! The location was ideal--close to the excitement of Times Square, within walking distance of the Theater District and a quick & easy cab ride to the Javits Center where our show was.

Some of the perks that made our trip exceptional:

*The room was perfect for a business trip: free internet, full kitchen, a spacious bathroom & a comfy bed--what more do you need?
*The continental breakfast was really good & much appreciated!
*The gym was clean & had nice equipment in it.
*The concierge was very helpful!
*The bellhop was eager to assist. He held our bags & booked our towncar to the airport for us so we could take a final walk (and a last shopping trip) around the city.
*We felt safe the entire time, even when walking to our hotel at night. For two ladies on their first trip to NYC, that was extremely important! We were out late two of the nights and didn't have any problems.

Overall, this was the perfect trip! I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again or suggest it to anyone else!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ras79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Me and my husband stood there for vacation during 10 days.
Ok. There are nicer hotels we have already been... But in NYC all we wanted was a nice place to sleep and stay out all day (without breaking the budget)...

The staff was very polite and helpful. The street is not the best one, but the location is just perfect.... Everything is just some steps away (including subway station to go a little more far away)... The hotel is clean, well attended... The breakfast is perfect (I wish I had that ring shapped bread recipe)... The rooms are big enough and workable. I loved the free loundry... Free Internet access... Nothing to claim about!
We are looking forward to get back there soon!!!

Nilson and Melissa

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melcardoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

We had taken the red-eye from Los Angeles, and were happy to be able to check into our room that morning. Happier still to find a clean and relatively spacious room and bathroom for my husband, myself, and our 16-year-old son. Nice to have a regular-sized refrigerator in the kitchenette, as well as a microwave, stovetop, and dishwasher. We used all but the stovetop, mainly to store and re-heat leftovers from dinners out. Buffet breakfast was plentiful and good, with eggs, breakfast meat, yogurt, cold and hot cereal, breads, fruit, and drinks. Evening reception (Tu, Wed, Th) had hot appetizers, wine, beer, and other drinks. 40th Street wasn't the best, but not bad; close to subway, Port Authority, and theaters, and an easy walk to Times Square, etc. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ppjpve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

This hotel couldn't have friendlier staff--genuinely enthusiastic and helpful. Great, convenient location for Port Authority, Theater District, Hell's Kitchen, Chelsea (and easy subway/bus to anywhere else)
Generous breakfast, good storage of luggage, nice WiFi, free laundry....
You might have to wait at times for one of the 3 elevators....get over it! Talk to your international fellow travelers and enjoy!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGRTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#309 of 470 in New York City
4,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#66 of 470 in New York City
5,505 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#237 of 470 in New York City
1,889 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#188 of 470 in New York City
8,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £115 - £412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing