We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but...”
Review of The MAve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The MAve Hotel
Ranked #384 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I tried this boutique hotel based on tripadvisor reviews. The location is great, only one short block to the subway stop (Lexington line 23rd stop). At $200 p.n. (inc tax), the room size was acceptable (Madison type). Decor is modern & simple.

On the negative, no refrigerator in the room, and window air-conditioning which is a bit loud. I was on a lower floor so you could hear the traffic as windows are not double glaze. Only one of the two elevators was working so if you are on an upper floor, you have to wait a long time. The hotel provides complimentary pastries and coffee in the front lobby which is good but many of the guests hangout by the tables giving the feel like you are a fast food restaurant.

I think there are plenty of new boutique hotels that have opened in NYC for around $200-250 p.n. (inc tax) so I will try another hotel for next time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HKFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (956)
There are newer reviews for The MAve Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

452 - 458 of 956 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2011

Have actually stayed ath the MAve several times (probably 4 or 5) and had a good experience each time. Location is very good (tucked in a quieter, clean area of Chelsea), staff has a can-do attitude (they've accommodated me for early check-in more than once over the years), the lobby is inviting, and the hotel appointments are quirky, sort of an industrial kitsch motif. The breakfast on the run is fun, with a good assortment of pastry and cheese and the like (but no real beverages for some reason). Rooms are quite cozy and watch out for the step up going into many of the bathrooms.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mfgib197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George_Vesa, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

Dear loyal guest,

Thanks very much for your wonderful feedback. We share the good and the bad with our staff (obviously the good is always more fun) and so our guests' input is greatly valued. We look forward to your next stay, thanks again for taking the time to let us know how we're doing (we'll definitely look into adding other beverages besides coffee to our grab 'n go breakfast).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed in the MAve for three nights and liked it very much. The minimalist interior design was really pleasant. The location was great. Our room was quite small and we had a lot of problem handling our three big bags. They didnt have a breakfast saloon but rather served some danish pasties in grab-and-go style.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank_Jr_II
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Room was great just what i needed, service was where the value is. from my Desires welcome note to amenities, all people here and what they do for guests are 1st class. Do not forget this gem when visiting The Apple

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobSassani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George_Vesa, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

We're flattered and humbled, sir! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the world, we hope to see you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Just spent the weekend at the Mave and was pleasantly surprised by this hidden little gem. It is a relatively new boutique hotel that the taxi drivers hadn't heard of, but very easy to find and in a nice location. We stayed in the ultramodern suite on the top floor, which was extremely quiet, clean and comfortable. For NYC, the room was a reasonable size, with an amazing shower and very comfy bed. We've paid more in NYC for a smaller room at other hotels. The staff was very very attentive, knowledgeable & friendly. The hotel isn't pretending to be anything beyond its size - it is petit and doesn't have a restaurant, so the 'grab and go' breakfast of pastries was as expected and the workout room was very small. There isn't much of a view, but the location is great: just a few blocks to Herald Square and other parts of the city. There are great restaurants nearby as well. Only 1 elevator was working, but there is an unusual central staircase that winds up the entire hotel in addition to the emergency stairs. If I need to stay in that area again, I'd definitely stay at the Mave.

Room Tip: Get a suite if you need space - it is nice and quiet on the top floor
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Confutio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George_Vesa, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

Dear Confutio,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We're very glad you found us to your liking and would be very happy to welcome you back soon. Apologies for the elevator challenge, we are working on it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The MAve is a charming and modern boutique hotel on the corner of Madison Ave with 27th St, a few steps from 5th avenue and Madison Square Park (one of the many fabulous NYC parks). Need I say more? The staff is incredibly nice, welcoming and helpful; always willing and available to do their best at fulfilling your Desires.

As soon as you pass the front door, you can't help but feel welcome to the place, as you are promptly greeted by one or two staff members (gotta mention the nice scent in the lobby and the equally pleasant chill-out/lounge music coming from the speakers), combined with the hotel's hip and fresh mood, making you feel like you are ready to conquer NYC and truly enjoy the best of it. Getting to The MAve was the perfect start! Not to mention the complimentary early check-in we got, which made our day after a nine hour flight from Brazil.

The rooms are nicely decorated, enough to give it a clean casual modern look; it's always neat and clean when you come back at the end of the day with your legs sore from exploring the city, the beds are truly comfy (great mattresses and covers!), and yes, there is silence. In the city that never sleeps, you'll certainly get the best night's sleep.

PLUS: You´ll get complimentary (high-speed!) wi-fi and grab-and-go breakfest; a couple of subway stations at short-walking distance; nearby Starbucks, Bread and Butter, Duane Reade for all your basic needs; great restaurants and not-to-miss places like Eataly, Shake Shack, Flatiron Building, and much talked about rooftops like 230 Fifth Avenue.

Have recommended to friends and family, and definitely looking forward to come back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PedroM84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George_Vesa, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

WOW!!! Amazing review, thanks very much :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I found this hotel to be very clean and in a good location. The staff was very helpful and friendly and were always smiling. The room was small, but nicely decorated and had all of the amenities you would need. The beds were comfy. It is a nice, trendy hotel that I would recommend for couples, friends, for business. Also, we had to get room service one evening and it was quite tasty!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skinnyglassesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
The Evelyn
#287 of 468 in New York City
2,119 reviews
Flatiron Hotel
#356 of 468 in New York City
785 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Richland New York
Hotel Richland New York
#251 of 468 in New York City
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#58 of 468 in New York City
2,333 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#38 of 468 in New York City
686 reviews
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#57 of 468 in New York City
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The MAve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The MAve Hotel

Address: 62 Madison Ave, At 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8704
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #384 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £287 - £532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The MAve Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new center of the universe, the Flatiron District. Located at the core, the newly opened 74 room MAve Hotel puts you steps away from iconic New York, at the crossroads of sophistication and chic. Wander to Chelsea, Madison Square, Gramercy and Union Square from this impressive address. Modern in style, yet simplistic in nature-featuring hardwood floors and eclectic urban artwork, the MAve is your personal Manhattan pied d' terre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The MAve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mave Hotel New York City
Mave New York City
Mave Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing