We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Were amazingly helpful during Hurricane Irene”
Review of The MAve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The MAve Hotel
Ranked #384 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Were amazingly helpful during Hurricane Irene”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We enjoyed 5 nights stay here but unfortunately were due to fly home the day the hurricane hit. As a result our flight was cancelled and couldn't fly out for another 6 days. The hotel allowed us to remain in our room ( which had been upgraded on arrival to a king) for a reduced rate. Luckily we managed to get an earlier flight and only needed the two exta nights, there was no problem cancelling the extra nights we provisionally booked. They were patient as we tried to find the extra money to pay for the room.
The hotel is in a good location, close to subway stops. The Flatiron building is right near by, the Empire State Building is a five minute walk, times square a little further. We even walked to central park one day.
The room had everything we needed including fast wifi! Parts of the room were a little worn around the edges but it was modern, fresh and clean. The room was a king size and an ok size but that's standard for the area. It was perfectly adequate but upgrading to a king would be worth the money. I can imagine the queen is a little small.
The breakfast was a nice idea but didn't work for me, by the time I got there at 08:30 it was demolished. You either have to squeeze standing up in the Lobby area or take it back to the room. But it is complementary so can't really complain. Even though there is no restaurant on site they do provide room service from a nearby restaurant, never tried it but menu looked promising.

In summary the service was fantastic and it made a good base for exploring the city. Good budget accommodation.

Again thank you to the reception staff for being very helpful at a stressful time. It made things so much easier to know we at least had accomodation organised.

Would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah5320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    358
    169
    71
    64
See reviews for
106
449
99
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I think the Mave is in a good location. It's very central to many places. Nonetheless, it has only 2 small elevators (one of which was broken during my stay), and no formal lobby. The included breakfast was basically put out in the hallway.. not a good vibe. They'd be better not offering breakfast.
They offer miniscule rooms .. and being that this is Manhattan it was understandable and effectively the bed was comfortable.
The Mave isn't bad... it's just not good and for the price doesn't come across as a value.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WiseTraveler1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George_Vesa, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Dear guest,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and your honest feedback. We're glad you enjoyed the location of our property. We do offer different size rooms ranging from 165 to 365 sq ft, it sounds like the size of the room you confirmed might not have been the right one for your needs. Our complimentary "grab 'n go" continental breakfast is offered as a courtesy to our guests who don't always have the time for a full breakfast but we do have plenty of options for a full breakfast in the immediate area of the hotel.
We apologize for the inconvenience the out of order elevator created for you, we are working on this and will have it back in service soon. We do hope you will give us a chance to show you our larger rooms during one of your future stays in NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

NY Hotels have always been a challenge, my worst stays have been in this city and I always feel like I am gambling when I book a hotel here, will I hit the jackpot or lose everything in one fell swoop?
The MAve overall was better than I expected, the location is convenient, the staff were friendly and happy to recommend and advise, the room was OK, not too small with a nice selection of amenities and the trump card was the free Wi-Fi.
I read a lot of reviews before picking this hotel and the thing I worried about was the noise, I saw that the noise issue had been taken care of following the on-line feedback and appreciated the management's response, but after 3 nights here I must report that even the double glazing couldn’t keep NY morning traffic noise out even on the 9th floor. This is just NY and I was able to get used to it.
I do feel that the MAve is quite pricy for what you get compared to other hotels around the world in this price bracket, but for NY in August I guess it could be considered reasonable... So I am glad I stretched my budget and tried the MAve, I may come back here again but I will probably keep on with my gambling quest to find nice places to stay in NY that will not bankrupt my company.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BBeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
182 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I tried this boutique hotel based on tripadvisor reviews. The location is great, only one short block to the subway stop (Lexington line 23rd stop). At $200 p.n. (inc tax), the room size was acceptable (Madison type). Decor is modern & simple.

On the negative, no refrigerator in the room, and window air-conditioning which is a bit loud. I was on a lower floor so you could hear the traffic as windows are not double glaze. Only one of the two elevators was working so if you are on an upper floor, you have to wait a long time. The hotel provides complimentary pastries and coffee in the front lobby which is good but many of the guests hangout by the tables giving the feel like you are a fast food restaurant.

I think there are plenty of new boutique hotels that have opened in NYC for around $200-250 p.n. (inc tax) so I will try another hotel for next time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Have actually stayed ath the MAve several times (probably 4 or 5) and had a good experience each time. Location is very good (tucked in a quieter, clean area of Chelsea), staff has a can-do attitude (they've accommodated me for early check-in more than once over the years), the lobby is inviting, and the hotel appointments are quirky, sort of an industrial kitsch motif. The breakfast on the run is fun, with a good assortment of pastry and cheese and the like (but no real beverages for some reason). Rooms are quite cozy and watch out for the step up going into many of the bathrooms.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mfgib197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George_Vesa, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Dear loyal guest,

Thanks very much for your wonderful feedback. We share the good and the bad with our staff (obviously the good is always more fun) and so our guests' input is greatly valued. We look forward to your next stay, thanks again for taking the time to let us know how we're doing (we'll definitely look into adding other beverages besides coffee to our grab 'n go breakfast).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed in the MAve for three nights and liked it very much. The minimalist interior design was really pleasant. The location was great. Our room was quite small and we had a lot of problem handling our three big bags. They didnt have a breakfast saloon but rather served some danish pasties in grab-and-go style.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank_Jr_II
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Room was great just what i needed, service was where the value is. from my Desires welcome note to amenities, all people here and what they do for guests are 1st class. Do not forget this gem when visiting The Apple

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobSassani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George_Vesa, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
We're flattered and humbled, sir! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the world, we hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
The Evelyn
#297 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
Flatiron Hotel
#333 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#49 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,150 reviews
Manhattan
Clarion Hotel Park Avenue
Clarion Hotel Park Avenue
#369 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collect...
#368 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The MAve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The MAve Hotel

Property: The MAve Hotel
Address: 62 Madison Ave, At 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8704
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #384 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — The MAve Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new center of the universe, the Flatiron District. Located at the core, the newly opened 74 room MAve Hotel puts you steps away from iconic New York, at the crossroads of sophistication and chic. Wander to Chelsea, Madison Square, Gramercy and Union Square from this impressive address. Modern in style, yet simplistic in nature-featuring hardwood floors and eclectic urban artwork, the MAve is your personal Manhattan pied d' terre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The MAve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mave Hotel New York City
Mave New York City
Mave Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing