We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Great Price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The MAve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The MAve Hotel
Ranked #378 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Denver
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Great little hotel right in the middle of it. Very inexpensive. You get stylish, clean rooms in a well renovated building.

Just know that food on site isn't there. They have "breakfast", but it is made up of just very good croissants and the like, and coffee. You will be out of the hotel for any meals. However dinner and lunch in NYC is always out. Breakfast is easy around the corner at the ubiquitous Starbucks or Cafe 28 on 5th Ave. and 28th.

My only concern would be the HVAC in either deep summer or winter. They have individual in-window units to handle the heating and cooling. However, I was there with pretty comfortable Spring weather, so don't know how these units would perform in a more extreme time of year.

Anyway, this hotel is a safe bet. Book with confidence and enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room for an upper floor. I was along 27th St. which is probably slightly more tranqu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank v0ce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Good Morning...

Thanks for the positive feedback; we are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Our heating and cooling units work quite well in summer and winter months. We hope to see you back again during your next New York visit.

Warmest regards,

Jason Mancuso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    357
    169
    71
    64
See reviews for
106
448
99
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brewerton, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

We traveled to NYC over Palm Sunday weekend to meet with one of our former German exchange students. His German travel agent had booked them into The MAVe and we, of course, wanted to stay at the same hotel. We were both on the 9th floor and all of us were extremely pleased with the cleanliness and very comfortable beds. It was quiet and everything was in working order. We were extremely pleased with the location at 27th and Madison. It was perfect for walking, shopping, or for taking the subway. Restaurants were plentiful in the area. The complimentary baked goods and coffee were delicious in the morning. All of the staff we encountered were friendly, helpful and one could tell it was their aim to please. We would stay there again in a heartbeat, and the the price is right! We have already recommended this hotel to 6 different people who will be traveling to NYC in the near future. We traveled by Amtrak and It is a short walk from Penn Station, which made it really convenient.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 312MurielB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are delighted we were able to accommodate you and help make your stay in NYC a pleasant one. I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warmest regards,

Jason Mancuso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

Have just returned from 1 week in Mave Hotel and would like to say how much we enjoyed our stay. The situation of the hotel ls perfect for a sightseeing trip. Everything within walking or metro distance. The hotel room was very small but in that small space is almost everything you need.
TV, I pod docking station, dressing gown, efficient hair drier, nice selection of toiletries, iron and board, really comfortable bed. The room was also very clean.
Faults were a noisy air con unit and no tea/coffee making facilities.
Nice touch to have coffee and pastries for breakfast. Small area to eat this but you can easily take it back to your room.
Staff at the Mave were fantastic. No question to trivial and a lot of patience shown to the green traveller. Top marks to the staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anchrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Hi Christine and Andrew! Thanks for the glowing review; we certainly appreciate your recognition of our amazing staff. We hope to see you both again during your next trip to Manhattan. See you soon...

Warmest regards,

Jason Mancuso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

What a great little boutique hotel in the heart of the flatiron district in NYC. The Mave is small- but perfect for a quick weekend getaway- the rooms were spacious (for NYC) and clean and the staff was excellent- special thanks to Felicia and Pablo for helping with all requests. The main thing I loved about the Mave was its location- perfect distance to Park Avenue South- full of great places to eat and shop along with easy access to the 6 train.

I look forward to going back soon.

Shannon O'Leary

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thanks for the great review! Felicia and Pablo will be so pleased you remembered them by name. We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Warmest regards,

Jason Mancuso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merion, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

The lobby of The Mave Hotel adjoins an art gallery, partitioned off by glass. The appearance of the art exhibited matched the decor of the hotel, which was fine, but I'm not taking home any postcards except perhaps the one left in our room that shows the streetsigns at the hotel's intersection: 27th and Madison. The room was fine in size, containing two doubles. I missed having a chair to sit on but appreciated the room's clean, modern appearance. The style was simple, and I got a couple bruises from the rather sharp corners of the bedframe and the narrow entrance to the bathroom. Nevertheless, I'd come back again: got a good discount, great location, near the subway, continental breakfast provided, and a great "slow fast food" restaurant, Essene, across the street, with amazing and healthy variety. Nice staff too!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDoriaol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
So sorry to learn of your bruises from our bed frame! Ouch! Please let us know when you are back in NYC; we will be happy to upgrade your reservation to a larger room category with some additional space to move around in. Thanks for the positive reviews about staff and taking time to share your comments. We appreciate all feedback.

Warmest regards,

Jason Mancuso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

...beware of the noise of New York traffic throughout the night. Our room was on the 8th floor, the window was broken so
It wouldn't shut close which made the room noisy and cold; even tho we had the aircon on heat for a short while to warm up our room we didnt want to leave it on during sleep as we wanted peace a quiet (kinda). Tbh my husband and i were pretty much knackered during the evening from our full on day so falling into a deep comfy sleep wasn't hard BUT come around 5am the noise outside would wake u! Also the shower - water kept splashing out making the bathroom floor wet. As we travelled with family, the room they had was on 3rd floor, as the noise outside was bad they were moved to a higher floor up above us. So the hotel was quick to sort that out without any issues.

Overall the hotel is clean, affordable, the rooms are small but clean, the bed was comfy, the guys down reception were friendly and great with recommending restaurants to go to that they know of themselves, the location is superb for easy access to empire state building, times square, Madison park, walking distance to the metro on28th street etc etc and the best part was the 24 hour diner opposite which we used for breakkie!!! Also the hotel provide coffee and some pastries in the mornings which you can take back to your room. Did that once on our first morning!

Apart from the 2 negatives, there are the positives.. Oh and there's also a small
Art gallery for any art lovers!

Plus the hotel arranged our private transfers to JFK! No hassle!

I would recommend this hotel if u are on a budget and if you are a deep sleeper at night lol. The location is great, the service is good, and plus you are in a convenient area for those extremely never ending long walks!!!!



  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChryssoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thanks so much for the feedback; we are so sorry to hear the street noise interrupted your sleep. When you are back in NYC, please call us directly and we will be sure to accommodate you on a higher floor. Thank you for choosing The MAve...

Warmest regards,

Jason Mancuso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

The hotel is in a fantastic location, has friendly staff and is super trendy. The rooms were also impeccably clean. The bathroom was very modern which was nice plus. The only downside is the basic room is quite small, and the one I was in was without a view. But for the price, well well worth it! I would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask if there are any with a view?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Thank you for the glowing review! Please let us know when you are in Manhattan next; we will be happy to provide a complimentary upgrade so you can experience our larger room categories. Thanks again for choosing The MAve!

Warmest regards,
Jason

Jason M. Mancuso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
The Evelyn
#295 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Flatiron Hotel
#322 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collect...
#361 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
HGU New York
HGU New York
#242 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#36 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The MAve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The MAve Hotel

Property: The MAve Hotel
Address: 62 Madison Ave, At 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8704
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #378 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — The MAve Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new center of the universe, the Flatiron District. Located at the core, the newly opened 74 room MAve Hotel puts you steps away from iconic New York, at the crossroads of sophistication and chic. Wander to Chelsea, Madison Square, Gramercy and Union Square from this impressive address. Modern in style, yet simplistic in nature-featuring hardwood floors and eclectic urban artwork, the MAve is your personal Manhattan pied d' terre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your The MAve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mave Hotel New York City
Mave New York City
Mave Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing