We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small is understatement” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The MAve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The MAve Hotel
Ranked #380 of 467 Hotels in New York City
West haven ct
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Small is understatement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Staff very welcoming and helpful ... My room was depressing to say least ... Between window ac and running toilet ... Had a lot of background noise ... Location was good and Madison park is beautiful and friendly

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kjcski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    357
    169
    71
    64
See reviews for
106
448
99
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

This hotel is wonderful. Cannot fault it at all.

Great location - one block from 5th Avenue, one block from Madison Square Park, short walks to Empire State Building, Union Square and other New York landmarks.

I got a good deal by booking an Early Bird special through the hotels website, which made it by far the cheapest hotel in the city for the room we got (2 queen size beds).

The room was very clean and tidy, a little on the small side, with not much storage for 3 adults and their suitcases, but you can make it work. And really, you're in New York, so it's not like you'll be spending much time in the hotel anyway.

The staff were incredibly friendly and willing to help with anything - they were kind enough to lend me an umbrella on a wet day. Nothing was too difficult for them.

Breakfast was provided daily in the guest lounge on the top floor, however it was only pastries.

Reccommend this hotel 100%. Will certainly be coming back here next time I'm in the city.

Great price, great room, great staff, great location. Can't go wrong if you stay at The MAve!

Room Tip: I stayed on the 2nd floor and it was a bit noisy, but I assume it would have been noisy on any level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We only stayed at the Mave for one night in December. It was in a great location and the staff was very friendly. We must have been in one of their smallest rooms and the window was blocked off so we had no natural light.
Madison Square park is just down the street and I enjoyed walking around the park at night and during the morning. The park is surrounded by some of New York's most interesting buildings. Including; The Flatiron Building, The Metropolitan Life Building and the New York Life Building. The park also has a Shake Shack which is a major bonus if you are hungry.
Overall, I would stay at this hotel again, but only if we had a larger room.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thatjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Found a great deal for this hotel on kayak.com. We originally booked the full sized, standard room, but we were upgraded to a queen upon arrival. Room was very clean, and well sized for NYC standards. We had enough room for two adults, with two big suitcases, who did lots and lots of shopping, thanks to where the bed was placed and the good sized dresser. Room was quiet and the bed was extremely comfortable. As other reviewers note, the shower can be annoying since water does get into the bathroom floor, but this is nothing an extra towel can't fix. The only negative thing about this hotel was we sometimes noticed a strange smell in our room, only to find out it was the air conditioner. I spoke with reception who changed the filter, but then informed us upon checkout that the entire unit would be replaced later that day. Shame on me for not telling them sooner, but the way they handled it was fantastic! I would have also gotten a small refund on my stay, but could not as I booked through a third party.
I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Passionfruit23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. I am so sorry to learn of the challenges with the A/C in your room; however, I am happy to hear the team responded quickly. We hope you had a safe trip back to Switzerland and we look forward to your return.

Warmest regards,
Jason

Jason M. Mancuso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teteringen, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed in a double room (king). Enough space, clean, it had a small (but large enough) bureau, TV, ipod dock, iron, good bathroom with shower. Maybe a chair would have been nice. Very friendly and helpfull staff. We could leave our luggage on our day of departure and they arranged a private car company to get us to the airport. Just one block away from Madison square garden. Many places where you can have something to eat nearby. If you are not too demanding the breakfast is OK, but we went to Bread & Butter nearby.
If I ever go to NY again, I certainly will consider staying here again. And yes, there is some streetnoise, but I did not find it too noisy.

Room Tip: The higher rooms will probably have less city noise. I stayed at the 4th floor. The noise dit not bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Hi Eric,

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we thank you for sharing your experience. Thanks for recognizing our friendly and helpful team and clean and tidy accommodations. We hope you had a safe trip back to the Netherlands!

Warmest regards,
Jason

Jason M. Mancuso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

First time in NYC and this hotel is in the perfect location for accessing the sights. The staff are very friendly and willing to help. Plenty of places to go nearby for food and drink. Only thing is if your room is on the lower ground floors you may find it a bit noisy at night especially as this city never sleeps.

Lucky for me and my party our room was on the 9th floor. Free wii fi in the rooms were very handy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors as lower floors too noisy due to traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fee_Kakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
So glad to hear you enjoyed the staff and location. From all of us at the MAve, we hope you enjoyed your first trip to NYC and look forward to your return.

Warmest regards,
Jason

Jason M. Mancuso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Just spent a week here. Really nice staff and the room (king) was much bigger than we were expecting given the other reviews.

Well located for all sightseeing etc

Very noisy at night due to street and what seems to be construction works! I wouldn't say I slept particularly well but that's NYC for you and there's not a lot the hotel can do about it. Beds are super comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redfella83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your comments. I am so sorry to hear of the construction noise but happy you enjoyed your guest room overall. We hope to see you again in the future.

Warmest regards,
Jason

Jason M. Mancuso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
The Evelyn
#294 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Flatiron Hotel
#324 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collect...
#360 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
HGU New York
HGU New York
#243 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#36 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The MAve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The MAve Hotel

Property: The MAve Hotel
Address: 62 Madison Ave, At 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8704
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #380 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — The MAve Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new center of the universe, the Flatiron District. Located at the core, the newly opened 74 room MAve Hotel puts you steps away from iconic New York, at the crossroads of sophistication and chic. Wander to Chelsea, Madison Square, Gramercy and Union Square from this impressive address. Modern in style, yet simplistic in nature-featuring hardwood floors and eclectic urban artwork, the MAve is your personal Manhattan pied d' terre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The MAve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mave Hotel New York City
Mave New York City
Mave Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing