We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hotel”
Review of The MAve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The MAve Hotel
Ranked #386 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night. Wanted to stay at another place, but was directed to the mave, because I was only staying the one night.

Generally a nice, clean, safe hotel -- I got what I paid for.

Breakfast was the biggest disappointment -- something less than you would get at a youth hostel.

My quest continues...

Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
Thank etittley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (956)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

246 - 252 of 956 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed as a couple at the MAve twice this month (mid-september and end of september). It was our honeymoon, and NY was one of our destinations. First time they gave us one of their smallest rooms, which was definetely NOT suitable for more than one guest. A small bed attached to the wall, no space for suitcases. We asked for a larger room but there was no availability. Second time our room was a proper double room on the 2nd floor, so we were satisfied this time, even though it took us quite some time to sleep at nights due to the noise from the street. Moreover, outside wind comes through the airconditioning system so it could be quite chilly the early hours by the end of september. The friendly staff, free wi-fi and flat-screen tv are the positives. Location is excellent. I would give a higher rating if it wasn't that tiny room the first time we stayed.

Room Tip: Request rooms as high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sissy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel hits all the right spots- great rooms, great location, bonus breakfast, great staff & great value. Couldn't have asked for more from our trip and they were even kind enough to upgrade us as it was all of our 30th birthdays. The breakfast of pastries & coffees was a nice touch on the top floor & the quirky retro pictures and furniture gave the place a great vibe. The room even had complimentary toiletries. We were thoroughly impressed and would have no hesitation returning- would be our first choice on returning to NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high as possible to reduce notice from street- unavoidable in busy NYC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleB_Brum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I've stayed at The Mave (27th and Madison) twice in the past year. The first thing that comes to mind is how courteous and helpful the front desk staff are. Extremely accommodating. This past summer, we weren't going to be checking in until Sunday. We had to make a quick trip on Saturday to Connecticut to drop our kid at camp. We didn't want to haul all our stuff out of town for one night...called the The Mave, told them our situation and they said, by all means, drop your stuff before you leave town and it'll be here Sunday when you get back.

It's a small hotel. Just a few rooms per floor. The rooms, by New York standards, are pretty good sized. Comfortable bed and pillows to start. Good tv, iPod player (though this last time, mine didn't work). The bathroom is where they fall short a bit. The shower is not in a separate stall. It's at the same level as the floor to the rest of the bathroom. So, on occasion, the water can run into the sink area. It's not that big a deal. Just a little quirk. The water pressure is always good, though.

There's not much else to say. The only real snafu I've run into is that sometimes, during busy times of year, they require you to stay five nights minimum. I'm usually in town for 3 or 4, so that takes them off the table for me sometimes.

All in all, they're worth looking into.

Room Tip: Great place across the street for carry out breakfast, lunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is a quaint hotel in a place that you wouldn't think you would find it! RIGHT on Madison Avenue, around the corner from Madison Square Park, and in the middle of everything you need - yet still a mellow (by NYC standards) location to chill out!

The prices are great for what you are getting. The hotel is clean, modern, and has nice little extras here and there to really make you feel like you're doing it up big, but not with a big price tag. It *is* NYC though, so don't expect huge spacious rooms... DO expect an iPod Dock and flat screen TV!

Very recommended.

Room Tip: If you want a little extra space, upgrade. If you don't mind, stay small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zepcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and myself stayed in this hotel as it was recommended by my son as a good location to see the sights yet not bang smack in the middle of the madness of time square. We went there for our anniversary and my son had pre formed them of this. We were upgraded to a bigger room and wine and chocolates were placed in our room as a surprise...such a lovely touch. It was close to the subway which for $31 dollars you can travel as much as you want anywhere in the city. Breakfast consists of delicious pastries and coffee which is complimentary however there is palace called cafe28 which you can get a cooked breakfast. Even though they don't have a restaurant we were able to order various food from a variety of restaurants which was delivered to our room for free through a website called seamless, however there are so many places to eat, however the closer to time square or chain restaurants tend to be expensive so we stuck to local diners and local restaurants. We bought wine to drink in our room and staff at the mave provided glasses and corkscrew, they were always very helpful and definitely made our stay a very easy pleasant experience. Clean towels and room was freshened every day which was great. We will definitely be staying here again when we visit New York again. Cannot fault the place at all !!!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sharondenvir77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed for 9 nights in August with my best friend. The hotel and its location was just perfect for us. The beds were super comfortable and the rooms including the bathroom were super clean. We thought the room size was great and Pablo at reception always very keen to help with directions and ask us how our day was! I would highly recommend this place and if i was to visit NYC again (which i hope i do) then i would book this place immediately.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charmain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
The Evelyn
#292 of 469 in New York City
2,132 reviews
Flatiron Hotel
#363 of 469 in New York City
789 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Richland New York
Hotel Richland New York
#263 of 469 in New York City
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#40 of 469 in New York City
694 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#58 of 469 in New York City
2,371 reviews
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#56 of 469 in New York City
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The MAve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The MAve Hotel

Address: 62 Madison Ave, At 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8704
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #386 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £282 - £530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The MAve Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new center of the universe, the Flatiron District. Located at the core, the newly opened 74 room MAve Hotel puts you steps away from iconic New York, at the crossroads of sophistication and chic. Wander to Chelsea, Madison Square, Gramercy and Union Square from this impressive address. Modern in style, yet simplistic in nature-featuring hardwood floors and eclectic urban artwork, the MAve is your personal Manhattan pied d' terre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The MAve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mave Hotel New York City
Mave New York City
Mave Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing