We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very noisy but in no way the hotel's fault.”
Review of The MAve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The MAve Hotel
Ranked #386 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed at the MAve on our 4th trip to New York for 3 nights. We arrived at the hotel quite early in the morning after arriving by cruise ship, our room was not ready when we arrived which was fine as we weren't planning on spending time at the hotel during the day. We were greeted with very friendly reception staff who helped us with all our bags and gave us directions where to go and even where to find great coffee!
After our day out we arrived back at the hotel where our room was ready and we settled in. We noticed they were setting up for road works on 27th Street however we didn't realise they would last ALL night! This made for a very unpleasant nights sleep. The road works continued all through the 2nd night also, the hotel provided us with ear plugs to help drown out the noise. Thankfully the last night we stayed there was no road works and we had a very comfortable sleep. The beds were very comfortable and big. The room was of a decent size as we had been upgraded to a King room. Breakfast was provided on the top floor however we did not use this facility. The bathroom was large and spacious however the drainage was not real great and water went everywhere! There was the standard drain in the shower and also another one in the centre of the room.
The location of the hotel was great, just a short walk to the Empire State Building and Macy's, there were lots of eating places around so you would never get hungry, close to Park Ave. There was a good little store across the road 'Essen' for all your snacky type foods.
All in all (apart from the noise issue) we really enjoyed our stay at the Mave and would recommend it for anyone that doesn't want to stay midtown with all the hustle & bustle of Times Square.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTraveller859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (956)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 956 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

THe MAve boutique hotel was in such a good location it will be our first choice should we be lucky enough to visit New York again.Our room on the sixth floor was modern,clean and had enough space for our four day break.The temperatures during our stay veered from 64 degrees down to 46 degrees but the heater/air con unit in our room was very efficient. The chap on reception when we checked in,Nick, was friendly,competent and helpful On noticing no tea making facilities in our room ,I contacted reception and he arranged for us to borrow some from another room...very necessary for two tea addicts from Britain. He also explained the way the streets/blocks run so we didn't get lost once. Traveling as mum and daughter,we also felt very safe in this hotel. The hotel is very close to the Flatiron building and a small park where there are lots of very tame squirrels plus its within walking distance of the iconic Empire State building.We bought a New York citypass from here which is excellent value for money.Also we used the hop on hop off bus to travel around learning lots from the bus tour guides.There are designated stops for these buses.It was a hectic trip,we walked lots too and were able to experience the busy atmosphere of this great city....only problem ,we needed more time to see absolutely everything so will have to go again I think.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swanseajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

On arrival at The MAve, we were given a warm welcome by the reception staff who provided us with a map of Manhattan and some great starter points on the best way to get around.

We stayed in room 604 which is directly outside one of the elevators. Initially I thought that the room may be noisy with footfall outside our door, but I couldn't be more wrong. There was some noise from the traffic, but as we got used to life in NYC it was barely noticeable.....either that or we were so tired out from all the sight seeing! The beds were comfy, the room was spotless and cleaned daily. And the complimentary wifi worked perfectly here.

Breakfast was ideal for me, but if you prefer something savoury then try a breakfast from Essen across the road. The grab and go breakfast at the hotel were really nice quality croissants, pain au chocolate, muffins and Danish pastries. With tea and coffee.

Somebody different was on reception each day of our four night stay, and each were really polite and helpful. If you need a cab at night then the doorman will hail you one, but be sure to try and hail one yourself for the ultimate New York experience.

We used Grey lines bus tours for the hop on hop off buses to get around. Be sure to haggle because a 2 day pass is $59 but we managed to get a 72 hour one for the same price. And we bought a City pass ticket for the sights. That was $106 for the Empire State Building, top of the rock at Rockerfella, natural history museum, Statue of Liberty cruise, metropolitan museum of art....and one more thing I can't remember!

I'd highly recommend the MAve as the perfect base for visiting NYC and I'd definitely stay there again

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank 125TashD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We have just spent 4 nights at The Mave. The location is brilliant, close to a subway, Park Avenue for dinner,drinks and brunch, five mins walk to the Empire Start Building and ten mins walk to Macy's etc. Also the bar next door does the best Philly steak cheese sandwhiches which when your arrive at the hotel at 1am from your flight is a welcome treat.


The staff were great and always friendly and helpful. The hotel has a list of suggested restaurants nearby, we tried two and they were both great.

We stayed in a Queen room which was on the cosy side but it is New York and perfectly fine for the location and overall good quality of the hotel. Two people with quite a bit of luggage fitted fine!
Room was furnished very well and the bed was comfy. No issues with being kept awake by city noise.

When we next come to NY we plan to stay at the Mave again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fi_d_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed here for a weekend where we saw a Broadway a show. Came Friday, left Monday. The rooms are small and sparse. You should expect that. Room noise is also a problem.
However, the staff were friendly and attentive during the visit. The location was near the 6 train and other things to do, including many restaurants.
There were no issues during our stay that were unexpected.
We booked three months in advance on their website, where they offered a special rate that was $50 less expensive than other hotels on Manhattan and in the neighborhood. That rate was able to be canceled up to 14 days in advance. I would take advantage of this staying here, as there are hotels that offer more at a comparable rate. But at a cheaper price, this is well worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony_B_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed at The Mave at the end of a wonderful tour around New England, we had 4 nights in the hotel and first impressions was very good. The reception is trendy, smart and the service was friendly and welcoming.

We did not expect a big room by any means but the room we were in was tiny, a real squeeze with our suitcases, we were facing a brick wall with no natural light which made it feel even smaller. My husband had to climb over my feet in the night when he needed to use the bathroom due to the bed positioned against the wall and desk squeezed in at the end of the bed. The room was stuffy and just not very comfortable for a four night stay and this with the noise (clearly lacks double glaze), it just meant we did not have a good nights sleep. Such a shame because the furniture and look of the room and the wet room was all very modern, nice a clean and aesthetically pleasing.

We were on the 9th floor (907) an end of corridor room (standard room), and it would appear the end of corridor rooms were the smallest of the standard rooms so would avoid if at all possible, particularly if your staying for more than a night.

The Wfi was free and good reception, the fitness room on the 12th floor was just not worth having..one runner, one bike and a few weights, just little point in it really. Everything just felt cramped.

The Urban cont breakfast was very oddly served n the lobby which seemed an inappropriate place and was just muffins and coffee, so we just had breakfast elsewhere during our stay.

The Hotel was in a brilliant location and was very clean, modern and reception staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Do not have an end of corridor room if your there for more than one night....just ridiculously cramp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ash1-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Nice hotel. We stayed for 6 nights in a Madison Queen room. The room was a bit small, but it worked out fine as there was enough storage space. The hotel has free wifi which is great, very comfortable beds, a great location in the Flatiron District close to Empire State Building. The staff is also very friendly and helpful.

We had a room on the second floor so there was quite a lot of noise from the street. We asked for a room higher up in the building, but it was fully booked. To help on the problem we got ear plugs from the staff and it helped us to get better sleep. Although the room was perfectly clean on arrival we thought that the cleaning during the stay could have been a little better (for instance vacuum cleaning every second day and also change the linens during a 6 days stay.

The hotel offers a breakfast, but it is just pastries and coffee. You can get a nice breakfast at Essen across the street. It would be nice for the Mave to fix a breakfast deal with them.

Room Tip: Get rooms that are higher up in the building. Less noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
The Evelyn
#292 of 469 in New York City
2,132 reviews
Flatiron Hotel
#363 of 469 in New York City
789 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Richland New York
Hotel Richland New York
#263 of 469 in New York City
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#40 of 469 in New York City
694 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#58 of 469 in New York City
2,371 reviews
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#56 of 469 in New York City
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The MAve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The MAve Hotel

Address: 62 Madison Ave, At 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8704
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #386 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £282 - £530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The MAve Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new center of the universe, the Flatiron District. Located at the core, the newly opened 74 room MAve Hotel puts you steps away from iconic New York, at the crossroads of sophistication and chic. Wander to Chelsea, Madison Square, Gramercy and Union Square from this impressive address. Modern in style, yet simplistic in nature-featuring hardwood floors and eclectic urban artwork, the MAve is your personal Manhattan pied d' terre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The MAve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mave Hotel New York City
Mave New York City
Mave Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing