We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT!!!”
Review of The MAve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The MAve Hotel
Ranked #386 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

------------------------------------------It was my tenth trip to NYC and my third stay at The Mave. Great staff, superb service, best location and clean rooms. An overall perfect boutique Hotell that I definitely will return to.
-------------------------------------------

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Novatwentyten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (956)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 956 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

My lady and I in NYC for the weekend…usual annual conference to attend sand then on to some fun. Found The MAve on line, read the reviews and thought "why not"? Certainly didn't want to spend the outrageous sums asked by some Midtown hotels - company money or not. The MAve fit the bill extremely well. Very friendly staff from check-in to check-out. Moved us to a lower floor when we checked in with no issues at all. Room is small - but adequate size - this is a boutique hotel in NYC after all. Spotless bathroom, Duravit fixtures, fluffy towels. Very comfy bed. Window unit A/C heater combo…a little noisy at times but world well. Street noise was as expected in NYC on the weekend. Grab and Go breakfast acceptable as well. Location was very good for exploring Chelsea, Greenwich Village etc etc. Even a reasonable half hour walk up to Central Park. All in all well worth the money and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger61Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This hotel is well situated for many of the top attractions to see in NYC, if you are looking for somewhere to flop after a busy day sightseeing, then this hotel is to be considered. If you are looking for a nice restaurant to eat in at said hotel, forget about it. there's no restaurant, no toilets in foyer, minimal food left out at breakfast, plenty of coffee at said breakfast and a good bar next down called "SHORTY'S". So if you are looking for a bit of luxury, go some where else, but if you just want to get out and explore Newww York, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: We were booked in to room 801, a bit twee, you could watch the telly from the toilet quite easy but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Recently returned from a 4 night stay at the MAve with my partner.
We were in NYC primarily for a Xmas shopping and the location was excellent for this, being very close to 2 tube lines, and centrally located.
The staff at the hotel were excellent - very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay an enjoyable one.
The room was large from what we have experienced previously in NYC - we had a boulevard king, and it was cleaned and dressed to a good standard (though the coffee machine reservoir could have used a deep clean).
The main issue here (and the reason why it didn't get 5 stars) is the noise from Maddison avenue - because the air conditioning unit went directly to the street, there was a fair amount of traffic noise through the night. The hotel supply ear plugs on request - I had my own - but was still woken by early morning traffic noise most days. My partner didn't have a problem with waking from the noise, so I guess it depends how heavy a sleeper you are. Having stayed in NYC previously, I expected traffic noise through the night, but it seemed louder here than where we previously stayed in the lower east side.
All in all, I was happy with the stay, it was reasonably priced, located centrally and I would definitely consider staying again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Time_to_diet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My husband and I just got back from our trip where we had a double (full size bed) room. The room was very small but worked just fine for the amount of time we spent in it.This hotel is exactly what is as advertised, a boutique hotel. We were on the 8th floor so we didn't really hear much traffic or noise at night. It helps if you keep your fan on all night too. The location was great. You are in walking distance of a lot of must see attractions. We actually did mostly all walking, even to central park which is a little less than 2 miles away. Essen across the street was good market/quick food stop. They had a lot to offer. Sara Beth's is a great breakfast place a block away too. The negatives would have to be no shower curtain/door so water escapes out pretty easily and one of the elevators was broken during our visit which led to waiting for a while. Also, they are doing some renovations so they didn't have a restroom in the lobby for guests. However, you could go across the street to Essen. I think we would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheljowo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Had a really bad experience where items went missing from my car after I valeted it at this hotel so beware. The best part of the hotel experience at the MAve is the location in mid-town. Rooms are very small and bathroom is tiny but the beds are comfortable.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Dickie1734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

A modern, small hotel that is ideally situated for most of the popular attractions. Within easy walking distance of the Empire State Building, Macy's and Times Square. The reception staff go beyond service expectation by constantly offering recommendations, directions and maps. The rooms are adequate but importantly with clean linen and plenty of hot water. The continental style breakfast of fresh pastries, fresh coffee/tea is sufficient for those with a light appetite. We were made to feel at home here and the staff could not do enough to help us make the most out of our first visit to their city.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
The Evelyn
#290 of 469 in New York City
2,137 reviews
Flatiron Hotel
#364 of 469 in New York City
790 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Richland New York
Hotel Richland New York
#253 of 469 in New York City
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#41 of 469 in New York City
698 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#59 of 469 in New York City
2,382 reviews
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#57 of 469 in New York City
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The MAve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The MAve Hotel

Address: 62 Madison Ave, At 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8704
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #386 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £271 - £530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The MAve Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new center of the universe, the Flatiron District. Located at the core, the newly opened 74 room MAve Hotel puts you steps away from iconic New York, at the crossroads of sophistication and chic. Wander to Chelsea, Madison Square, Gramercy and Union Square from this impressive address. Modern in style, yet simplistic in nature-featuring hardwood floors and eclectic urban artwork, the MAve is your personal Manhattan pied d' terre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The MAve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mave Hotel New York City
Mave New York City
Mave Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing