We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible”
Review of The MAve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The MAve Hotel
Ranked #382 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I didn't even stay here and I hate this hotel. My friends and I were visiting from Toronto and had booked with The MAve months in advance through Booking.com. While ON ROUTE to NYC (a 9 hour drive) I got an email saying that The MAve had decided not to honour our reservation, as they had given our room to a last minute walk-in. Not even a day in advance. We were already on our way there. They obviously decided that it was better for them to charge someone up the wahzoo rather than honour our reservations. I was not impressed. Luckily, Booking.com found us a room at the Affinia Manhattan - a better room for the exact same price. Save your money and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geetika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    359
    170
    71
    64
See reviews for
107
449
100
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Well , we had a great trip to New York and the location of teh stay was pretty good. Hwever, although I knew this was a "boutique" hotel, so it was going to be somewhat quaint, it was a lot smaller than i expected, although very clean.

If you wnat usual hotel comfort and space this isnt the hotel for you. (our double bed was up against the wall with only a little space the other side.

If you want a peaceful nights sleep, this isnt the hotel for you. Noisy outside, till about 05.00 am then from 06.00 onwards.

If you want a good location for sites .. good choice. just round corner from Grand Central, Statue of Liberty and the Rock centre.Good Transport links nearby.

on the whole it was OK but I was disappopinted with the room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Unfortunately our stay at The Mave was not a good one.
When we arrived they informed us we had been downgraded from a King to a Queen room due to some damage in the room we were meant to be in. Although they took $20 off per night the room we were given it was not good. We found the staff to be a little unhelpful at times and the rooms are tired and do not have adequate heating, plus the windows are not double glazed so the air comes in as does the inevitable noise in NYC! We had to call to get someone to close our window as it had been left open when we arrived and the latch was broken, it was eventually fixed thank goodness. As an extra note do not expect tea and coffee facilities in your room they do not provide anything like this. If you are not looking for any more than a bed and bathroom then this place is value for money I guess.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alyciaelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Our stay could not have been much worse. We booked our room through booking.com. We had four people so we booked a room with two queens. When we got to the hotel, the person at the desk asked us if we booked two rooms. Should have known that was a red flag. We said we hadn't. He handed us a room key. When we arrived upstairs it was one king size bed for a family of four. I was furious he even tried to send us there knowing full well and seeing that we had four people.

When we asked to be moved to a room with two queens we were told all the rooms were booked. We had our booking confirmation receipt with us to show that we had prepaid for this room. He apologized and said they were overbooked "because the weather is warm." As if that made any sense.

They offered us two rooms on two different floors to compensate which would have been nice except that the two children needed to be with mom overnight. They could not accommodate a roll away bed legally in the room so they brought a mattress to place on the floor. The room was so small that we could not even fully open the door with the mattress on the floor. Never mind the fact that numerous other people had to be moved to other hotels when they checked in in the evening because of the serious overbooking problem.

I figured for all of the trouble the hotel gave us that they could kick in a day of free wifi. When I requested this I was yelled at and told that if I had a problem I could call the manager in the morning. Wifi is $9.99 per day. Ridiculous.

I've never been in such a small hotel in my life and I've stayed in many places in New York. To top it all off, the walls were PAPER thin. We could hear word for word what was going on in the room over and out in the hallway. To couple all of this with such abysmal service and mediocre pricing made it worse. We will never be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hope_brinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I booked a room quite in advance and chose carefully as prices are very high in Manhattan but I didnt want to stay in a shoebox either. Well when we arrived we found ourself in a room with a 120 cm bed and not enough space to fit three pieces of luggage and this for a very very high price. I have been to New York several times but never saw something like it. When I asked the reception if theyre sure that this was the right room they were willing after some time to actually check it. Of course it wasnt and of course they made a mistake with the reservation and of course they had not the room available I actually booked and payed for. They told me that until the next day we had to accept it. When I told them I wouldnt pay the same price for a shoebox as for a much bigger room due to a mistake they made they just told me they couldnt do ANYTHING about it. Just after when asking for the manager, which I really never never never do, they found, suddenly, a solution. Finally, we were moved to the booked room the next day. The room was okay, the bedsheets were used which is just gross. But of course changing bedsheets isnt that easy either. The "breakfast" they offer is a instant coffee with a piece of muffin beside the elevators. Apart from that the internet was very bad, I could not do any work due to the slowest connection ever and be careful it is not for free! One last thing: dont take the taxi service to the airport they offer, it cost much more then getting a yellow cab.
I would never go back and even if NY is well known for small rooms for a high price this was just impertinent. Sorry.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isimee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Although from the outside and the lobby this hotel doesn't look great, we really enjoyed our stay here. There was a young man on reception that couldn't do enough to help us which was brilliant when you don't know your way around the city. The rooms were spacious and very clean. Bed was very comfy and we always had clean towels daily, I would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawcrook
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the mave recently for a week, we found the room to be much larger than expected particularly the bed which was huge! The room was modern and clean with everything that we needed, the staff were really lovely and helpfull (apart from 1!). The negatives were that breakfast is supposed to be served from 7-9 yet we were down at 840 on 2 occasions to everything put away and not even a sniff of coffee! There is a great breakfast place called Essen directly opposite though that we would highly recommend! We were on the 11th floor and although we had no trouble getting hot water the power to the shower was rather poor almost "catch the drips"! Aside from the minor negatives a great place to sleep in a fab location.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Flatiron Hotel
#347 of 467 in New York City
780 reviews
The Evelyn
#287 of 467 in New York City
2,084 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 467 in New York City
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#59 of 467 in New York City
2,286 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Richland New York
Hotel Richland New York
#354 of 467 in New York City
31 reviews
Midtown
HGU New York
HGU New York
#200 of 467 in New York City
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The MAve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The MAve Hotel

Property: The MAve Hotel
Address: 62 Madison Ave, At 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8704
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #382 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — The MAve Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new center of the universe, the Flatiron District. Located at the core, the newly opened 74 room MAve Hotel puts you steps away from iconic New York, at the crossroads of sophistication and chic. Wander to Chelsea, Madison Square, Gramercy and Union Square from this impressive address. Modern in style, yet simplistic in nature-featuring hardwood floors and eclectic urban artwork, the MAve is your personal Manhattan pied d' terre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The MAve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mave Hotel New York City
Mave New York City
Mave Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing