We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected”
Review of The MAve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The MAve Hotel
Ranked #389 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 27 May 2014

By calling themselves a "boutique hotel" I expected something an establishment where the operation is elite and highly specialised and this hotel did not deliver. The best thing about it was that it was clean and in a good location.

The lobby and the rooms were extremely tiny. Only two elevators and one did not work most of the time. The lobby staff upon arrival was disinterested and un-welcoming. With 4 people in the room, we did not have enough towels and had to ask for more every day for 3 days. The website indicated an ionic hair dryer which we never got, instead an old model that barely worked. WiFi was not free, even though website said it was. Upon check-in, they sent us to an already occupied room! And lastly I come home to discover they charged some $50 fee to my credit card, which I intend to get refunded.

All in all, not a terrible experience, just was hoping for a lot more charm for the special occasion of taking 3 ladies to NYC for the first time for a Sweet Sixteenth birthday weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (956)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 956 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed for 1 night. Was a bit worried after some recent reviews. Room was clean and much better than other hotels I have stayed in NY and well priced. Would recommend and would return. Staff are very friendly too.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Kvanrooyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This hotel feels European in te sense that the rooms are tiny, it's a little dingy, and the front desk people are rude. We had spotty hot water, which was unpleasant. The reception area had an empty spot next to it that was filled with balloons to cover how crappy the floor looked, which was strange. The room was super noisy and we were in the 7th floor. There's a great place across the street for snacks or breakfast. Overall, the best thing was the location and we otherwise just stayed out and about.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCB0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in May 2014. The location is very good next to Madison square. I requested a room on the highest floor possible but got a room on the lowest floor possible. The room is extremely noisy as the airconditioning leds through all street sounds. The room was small but nice and clean. TV didn't work properly as the signal was very weak which led to signal loss and a black screen sometimes. The shower isn't working properly at all. You can't regulate the temperature.

The things is disliked the most was the staff at the reception. Especially 2 ladies. They where not friendly at all! Didn't answer my questions or give an proper advise, didn't great me when entering or leaving, etc.

Overall it was an OK hotel but nothing more. I would not go back if i had the choice!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewout B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We grabbed this hotel last minute on Hotel Tonight. When we arrived and pulled back the sheets there were small hairs all over the bed...GROSS!!! The hotels remedy...they came and put fresh sheets right on top of the old ones...leaving the dirty hair sheets underneath. DOUBLE GROSS. Didn't seem to care and was told to talk to management in the morning.

A week later I noticed a $9.95 charge...apparently for internet...which I didn't even use.

A Joke. Very poorly run. Save your money and go somewhere clean.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crossal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Good location...they couldn't fulfill the rooms we'd booked - one with two beds but we got an upgrade on the other from double to kingsize because of it. Rooms were pleasantly decorated, simple and clean.

We had thought breakfast wasn't included but it was. It's called breakfast to go which means there is a trolley in the lobby with coffee and crossaints with two chairs if you want to sit down in the very small space. There is a very nice coffee shop attached to the hotel if you want to sit and have breakfast as normal.

The lobby of the hotel with it's empty space sparsely filled with balloons is a bit of a let down and makes it seem less boutique, expensive and credible. Not bad if you get a deal as we did but I wouldn't want to pay full whack.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pandapops73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I was in NYC with my sister and a group of friends for a long weekend and we picked the Mave for price and location.
The rooms are brand new, very clean and nicely decorated, although very basic and a bit noisy.
The staff is super helpful and kind. The hotel is located on Madison Ave, very close to the Empire State Building and a block away from Madison Square Park, where they serve the best hamburger in NYC.
Great place to stay, the only issue might be the heat over the summer months since the rooms have no AC.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DalilaMariaCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel Richland New York
Hotel Richland New York
#261 of 469 in New York City
707 reviews
Midtown
U Hotel Fifth Avenue
U Hotel Fifth Avenue
#300 of 469 in New York City
1,080 reviews
Financial District
Aloft Manhattan Downtown Financial District
Aloft Manhattan Downtown Financi...
#321 of 469 in New York City
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flatiron Hotel
#373 of 469 in New York City
796 reviews
Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan/Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan...
#235 of 469 in New York City
416 reviews
Midtown
HGU New York
HGU New York
#233 of 469 in New York City
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The MAve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The MAve Hotel

Address: 62 Madison Ave, At 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8704
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #389 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £286 - £541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The MAve Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new center of the universe, the Flatiron District. Located at the core, the newly opened 74 room MAve Hotel puts you steps away from iconic New York, at the crossroads of sophistication and chic. Wander to Chelsea, Madison Square, Gramercy and Union Square from this impressive address. Modern in style, yet simplistic in nature-featuring hardwood floors and eclectic urban artwork, the MAve is your personal Manhattan pied d' terre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The MAve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mave Hotel New York City
Mave New York City
Mave Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing