We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Times Square West
Ranked #283 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 16 November 2013

My wife and I booked 4 nights at this hotel, and it was ideal for our short break to New York. OK, it’s not the Waldorf Astoria, but for the money we paid it was great PLUS you also got breakfast.
From the outside the hotel does not look much, but it’s a 5 minute walk to Times Square and there are theatres and bars / cafes all on the doorstep. It is located on West 44th Street, Just off 9th Avenue (towards 8th Avenue).
Checking in was quick and easy. The staff on reception, to the cleaners, all were very polite and helpful.
The hotel has 7 floors and we were on the 5th. There is one small lift and it’s a bit slow but you can always take the stairs. The room had 2 double beds, flat screen TV, filter coffee machine, air conditioning/heating unit, fridge, iron, ironing board, en-suite bathroom, with small bath and shower.
The room was a little small, and my only gripe really was that there was not enough drawer space. Perhaps the hotel should consider taking out a couple of the chairs and adding in a chest of drawers, or maybe instead of having 2 double beds, have one queen/king sized bed as this would just give a bit more space. The room was fine for a couple, but for more than 2 people I think that it would be a bit of a squeeze.
We had room 507, which was at the back of the hotel and quite quiet. The only noise was occasionally from the fridge. There was also a bit of a draught coming from behind the AC unit. The beds were very comfy and we got a good night’s sleep (or maybe that was due to all the walking that we did!).
Breakfast was coffee, tea, bread, bagels, muffins, pastries, cereal, waffles, fruit – plenty to set you up for the morning.
When we arrived at JFK airport, the cost of the yellow cab, was $58 to the hotel (set fare to central Manhattan hotels). We arrived on Sunday lunchtime, and the transfer to the hotel took about 45minutes. On our return, we asked the hotel to book a cab for us, and they use a private taxi firm, with a flat fare of $65. Note: if you want to use the tunnel you will have to add on the tolls of $7.50 to this. The private taxi was nice, a big 4x4 with blacked out windows – cool! This arrived on time and took about 60 minutes to get through the Thursday evening rush hour traffic to the airport.
All on all, we had a nice break and the Comfort Inn Times Square West was more than adequate for our city break and I’d recommend this for couples or 2 people who are looking for a central, good value for money hotel.

P.S. The Beer Authority bar a couple of doors up from the hotel was great. It’s like a sports bar, but they have happy hours and do some nice cocktails and also a good selection of beers and ales.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

483 - 489 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

Pros: Location for theater; value-priced (relative to the rest of Manhattan and rates vary greatly through the year in NYC); free wi-fi; free simple breakfast; free tea and coffee throughout the day; friendly staff. Be sure to try the Shake Shack chain down the block. Get water or other unexpected travel needs at any nearby Duane Reade.

Cons: Rooms were clean but might have various signs of wear; the bathtub mechanism to turn on the shower is so challenging that they have a postcard photo in the guidebook advising how to pull down this hard-to-find ring; breakfast room extremely small.

NYC's hotel rates tend to skyrocket as do many world cities during peak travel season. Location is perfect for first-timers to Manhattan, and those wishing to walk to and from the theaters, and stay at a budget rate relative to all the surrounding hotels. Even the Best Western by Herald Square was over $300/night during the same period, to provide some comparison.

Although the stay was overall fine and went without a hitch except for figuring out the shower, and that we rate this a very good stay, we still felt it was expensive for this budget-line of accommodation (over $200, but under $250/night before tax, and this best rate was available on their website as a pre-paid best rate when you join their free loyalty club...worth the savings in this instance).
It was better than paying 1.5 to 2x that for other budget level hotels. Worth nothing that this was October, when there were conventions and events going on everywhere. Some hotels were solidly booked.

Depending upon the reason for visiting NYC, this hotel is recommended if everywhere else has jacked up rates because of peak convention crowds, or one is going to several theater shows during the stay. It's perfect for walking to and from the innumerable theaters. Otherwise, if it is not peak season, staying away from the Times Square area provides a more authentic experience. Around this hotel, which by the way is quieter than being right at Times Square...a plus, it's a mostly touristy experience. We shared breakfast room tables with other patrons and learned most were by far first-time visitors or else very frequent visitors.

Room Tip: Requested a higher floor room away from the street and it was quiet for midtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radfahrenfaireduvelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed for four nights, had a great time. We had a room with two double beds. While it was smaller than a hotel in other cities might be, it was normal for NYC, and a great deal for this location. The room was clean, especially the bathroom.

Breakfast in the morning was awesome - a good way to save money in this city!

The front staff was very helpful, especially when we needed our bags held after check out.

It is only two blocks from the Subway and Times Square - great location!

My only complaints would be that our room faced the street; it was a little loud at times. Nothing to keep us from sleeping the whole night, but it woke us up a couple of times throughout the four nights.

Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are louder
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emily13anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I was travelling to New York alone in April 2013 and needed to stay somewhere for 1 night. The challenge was to see New York- Manhattan in 2 days and I needed a hotel that was safe and was in the heart of NY. I learnt of this hotel chain through some local friends and settled for it.
A 2-minute walk from the theater district of NY, the location is ideal and accessible.
Like all NY hotels, it really pinches your pocket ?(more in conversion from INR), but it is the best you can get in that area.
When I reached the hotel, I was pleasantly surprised to see an Indian manager and his wife managing the place. I was taken to my room which was comfortable, just enough for me. There was a huge double sized bed in the room with all modern amenities. I was forewarned about the small sized rooms in the area, so I was ready for this one. The bathroom was really big and clean, which was good. The bed was comfortable and I slept well despite being alone.
The breakfast is included in the room charges and it was a basic one but very filling, with eggs, toast, fruits, yogurt, and waffles to end with. There are several restaurants around, so you should try grab dinner before you get back.
I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a cosy hotel in the heart of the city and are not willing to shell 5-star rates. The room size is ideal for a couple but not sure if you can fit in the children there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saylithetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sam k, General Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Saylithetraveler, Thanks for choosing our hotel for your accommodation needs while in NYC. As you mentioned our location is one of the best for all sighseeing and Theatre visitors. We are thrilled to know that you had a excellent time and enjoyed our accomodations, amenities and Breakfast. We hope to be your lodging choice for your future trips to NYC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed here in October - family with teenagers. Good hotel, nice breakfast, clean (small) room, friendly and helpful staff. Location excellent - we walked everywhere from here as we had really good, dry sunny weather. The only time we took the subway was to 9/11 memorial. Breakfast does get very busy esp as some people want to sit and chat even after they've had their breakfast (!) but they do allow you to take food up to the room. Loved New York and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the sixth floor - no noise problems and always had a good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nisha26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sam k, General Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Nisha26, Thank You for taking your valuable time to share your feedback and review our hotel. We appreciate your decision for choosing our hotel for your lodging needs. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed every part of your NYC trip and felt that we exceeded your expectations. We hope to be your hotel preference for your future trips to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

had week staying here with family, was so pleased with staff, location, breakfast, friendliness. I will certainly stay again when I return to NYC. Location to theatre, subway, times square, restaurants, all within walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary19512008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sam k, General Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Mary19512008, Thank you very much for such an excellent review about our hotel. We appreciate for choosing our hotel over many choices in the area. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed location, Breakfast and our services.We are honored to hear that we will be your choice for future accomodations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Just returned from NYC; a ladies only trip with family! Stayed five nights, NO complaints! Very clean hotel, fast, friendly check-in. Free cookies at front desk, coffee/tea/hot chocolate available in breakfast area 24 hours.
Decent hotel breakfast, very clean and efficient.
Awesome location! Just around the corner from Times Square....!
Would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone when visiting NYC!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burt1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square South
Comfort Inn Times Square South
#327 of 473 in New York City
1,168 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Midtown West
Comfort Inn Midtown West
#325 of 473 in New York City
594 reviews
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#271 of 473 in New York City
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#290 of 473 in New York City
2,237 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Midtown West
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Mi...
#216 of 473 in New York City
1,132 reviews
Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Mid...
#341 of 473 in New York City
2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Times Square West

Address: 343 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-5402 (Formerly Comfort Inn Theatre District)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in New York City
#132 Business Hotel in New York City
#153 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £80 - £423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Times Square West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Theatre District Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing