We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend in the Big Apple”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Times Square West
Ranked #253 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Weekend in the Big Apple”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Very nice hotel in Times Square. Staff was very helpful. The vending machines and ice are on separate floors. The breakfast was very nice with scrambled eggs and bacon, plus a waffle maker. The elevator was small as were the rooms, but remember you are in NYC. Plenty of restaurants in the area and only 2 blocks from the center of Times Square and the theaters are all right there.

Room Tip: Do not take the first floor next to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hgrannyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    433
    125
    29
    22
See reviews for
344
263
62
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

The desk clerk at night was very friendly, but the others were a bit more officious. The room (606) was at the back of the hotel so it was pretty quiet for NYC. The room was clean except for the shower tile grout was showing a bit of mildew. Towels are thin and skimpy but they allowed us four each day so that balanced out. Breakfast was typical with microwaved scrambled eggs, bacon and waffles for hot food and a good selection of yogurts, fruit and breads as well. The breakfast area was well replenished and that isn't easy at 9:00 AM when the capacity 35 room reaches overflow.
The TV in our room would not show cable TV properly because of a loose coaxial that we had to have fixed twice, with poor results. Also, the hallway had piles of laundry (clean or not?) in clear bags at all hours, something I have not seen happen before.
We were lucky to get a king room, that was a decent size for NYC, for $170 plus taxes for our three nights. The location is 1 1/2 blocks off of Times Square with several restaurants and bars (with $8 beers) around it and the wonderful Shake Shack on the corner.
All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaribMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Even though you may not think of Comfort Inn as a 5 star hotel, I am here to tell you, this one will make you reconsider. The staff's professionalism, service, ettiquete, and friendliness toped most 5 star hotels- I know beccause I get paid to go to 5 star hotels and rate their service.

These guys were awesome. The room was great. The bed super comfortable, and on top of it we got breakfast- a real breakfast!

Over all 5 stars, the staff above and beyond. Thanks for making a cold trip on the holidays a warm place to come home to at the end of every day!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knikookary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sam k, General Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square West, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Knikookary, Thanks very much for this great review. We are excited to know you had a wonderful time during Holidays. Your review is very helpful for future guests looking for Accomodations near Times Square. We hope that you will consider us as your hotel choice for future trips to NYC. We once again thank you for choosing Comfort inn Times square west.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed one night while in town to see a Broadway show. The location can't be beat -- we were just around the block from the theater. Everything about the hotel is compact: the lobby, elevator, breakfast area, hallways and rooms. There is no extra space anywhere -- the vending and ice machines are even on different floors! But everything was clean and functional, and the staff was friendly and helpful. Nit picks: the window curtains aren't room-darkening, and I couldn't figure out the shower until I found an information card.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimHanoverNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sam k, General Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square West, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear JimHanoverNH, Thanks for sharing your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed our proximity to Theatres, clean accommodations and friendly staff. Space is a major factor in New York city when compared to other Metropolitan cities and also the beauty of NYC. We apologize for the confusion about shower and the room Darkening curtains. All our windows has room darkening which is the third layer after the sheer. It would be our pleasure to be your hotel choice for your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the comfort inn for a sightseeing break, me and my sister went with my 70 year old mum for her birthday so we needed a central hotel,this is in the heart of Manhatton a 5 min walk from Times Square and close to all the famous landmarks, the hotel staff were friendly and the continental breakfast was a fantastic bonus to the holiday saving us money every day. There was free tea and coffee 24 hours a day which was great to have, rooms were a bit small but you are in New York so your not in the room long enough to notice.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank rossi19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sam k, General Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square West, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear rossi19, Thanks for taking your valuable time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our Breakfast, Location and had a wonderfull time on your mothers 70th Birthday. Please let us send our delayed wishes to her. Your feedback is very valuable for all future guests trying to book accommodations near times square. We once again thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

The rooms were very clean and also nicely decorated. The breakfast had a good selection both hot and cold and you could help yourself to as much as you liked. The staff were so lovely and very helpful. The location was amazing literally 5 minutes walk to time square and the metro. When I go back to New York if stay here again.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alisonabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sam k, General Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square West, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Alisonable, Thanks very much for your wonderfull review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are thrilled to know that our Tean members did a fantastic job to make your stay more memorable. Our location is one of the best close to Times square. We hope to see you back soon on your future trips to NYC. Happy Holidays .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Arrived and greeted by friendly staff. Room was small, but no problems. It was quiet room for NYC. Great beds and bedding. Daily breakfast was excellent!! The best one I've had compared to other Comfort inns. Well stocked with everything. It does get crowded in the breakfast area.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palmspr_flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sam k, General Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square West, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Palmspr_flyer, Thanks for the great review about our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our New Bedding, Breakfast and the quiet rooms. We will share your experience with all the departments for creating such a wonderful time while you were staying at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square South
Comfort Inn Times Square South
#263 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#258 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Midtown West
Comfort Inn Midtown West
#319 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#237 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,326 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Times Square West

Property: Comfort Inn Times Square West
Address: 343 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-5402 (Formerly Comfort Inn Theatre District)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Family Hotel in New York City
#136 Business Hotel in New York City
#157 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Times Square West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Theatre District Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing