We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and great location ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Times Square West
Ranked #279 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The rooms here vary quite a bit , so if you need more room be sure you know what you are getting before booking. The location can't be beat and the rooms are ok - the staff is VERY nice and will do anything to accommodate the guests. There are really attractive rates at times, other times pretty expensive so we check frequently. We have stayed here 5 or 6 times in the last couple of years - consistently very good.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sam k, General Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear James E, Thanks for sharing your valuable comments on TripAdvisor and appreciate for being a loyal guest at our hotel. We are proud to say that our staff provide best service consistently to exceed guest expectations. Our room sizes vary depending on room types. We look forward to have you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

436 - 442 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

This is the second time I have stayed here. All of the employees are very friendly and courteous. Rooms very clean. Great breakfast. Moderately priced. Highly recommend this hotel. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skeeter1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sam k, General Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Skeeter 1313, Thanks for sharing your experience with TA Community. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful time on your second stay with us.We will share your comments with rest of our team. Thanks very much for High Recommendations and hope to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

WOW It was perfect. Very good breakfast, close to the theater and Times Square and very clean. We stayed one night (February 7th), went to a show (2 blocks away) and left the following day on a cruise. It was exactly what we were looking for. Great value and a very nice room too. We will go back for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sam k, General Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Patricia M, Thanks for sharing such a wonderfull review about comfort inn Times square West. Your scores are greatly appreciated and your WOW will fire up our team to maintain good work consistently and exceed guest expectations. Thanks very much for staying with us and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This hotel is a real gem. The location is superb, just one and a half blocks from Times Square and surrounded by bars, restaurants and food outlets, not to mention the majority of Broadway shows and top shops within a 5 minute walk.
While it doesn’t have great curb appeal, the facilities and rooms are amazing for this price. The rooms are well equipped – super king size or two doubles, TV, coffee machine, hairdryer, free safe – and the bathrooms look brand new. Good central heating too which we needed as it was -9 outside.
The best bonus is the breakfast. A massive range of pastries, toast, yogurt, freshly made waffles and a rotating selection of hot items with sausage, egg and bacon (although US bacon is a bit rubbish!)
There is a great little Irish bar opposite called O’Quinn’s which does a fine array of beers and food.
I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank furryferretderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sam k, General Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Furryferretderby, We are honored with your Great review and thanks for sharing very detailed comments on Tripadvisor. Our location is the best near Times square and Theatre district and right in the Hells kitchen. We are thrilled to know that you were able to enjoy all our amenities provided in the room. Our HOT Breakfast is real MASSIVE and all the pastries are fresh from Bakery. We are working on our curb appeal and very soon you will notice a unique look in Hells kitchen.

We thank you very much for staying with us and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

What a great location. I just stayed here this week during some really cold weather. The location was perfect...Restaurant row was just two short blocks, the theater I was visiting was two short blocks, and Times Square was just three blocks away. The room was really clean (though small, especially the door into the bathroom) and the bathroom appeared newly renovated and immaculate. Though our TV had a loose connection, we called the front desk and someone was at the door within two minutes to address the issue. Nice breakfast layout and attentive worker that was stationed to fill anything that needed to be filled. I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room, the street can be a little noisy. We were right next to elevator (401) and di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jerzeyjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sam k, General Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Jerzeyjen, Thanks for the best scores on Tripadvisor. We are glad to know that you liked out best location and very close to your theatre. We apologize for the cable issue you experinced . Our teams effort is very well recognized and we hope that you will stay with us on your future trips to NYC. We once again thank you very much for staying with us at comfort inn times square west.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We spent 4 nights in this brilliant hotel. The value for money matched with the location is an unbeatable combination. Two blocks from Times Square, one block from the subway and really close to many budget restaurants and interesting bars. What more could you want from a New York hotel.
The hotel itself is small and tight but the service, breakfast, free wifi and especially the price makes this a great option for New York accommodation. The room itself was pretty small but we weren't there to hang around the room. The tv options were extensive, the room was quiet and the bathroom was clean. All in all a great budget hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Good location and sometimes available at a very competitive rate.

Having read the TA reviews, and after quite a bit of research into alternative hotels I opted for this hotel for a 5 night stay. I set my expectations too high based on the TA reviews and the following were my issues
1. Paper thin walls. I was beside a family with young children. There's nothing the hotel can do about noise from other guests but I could hear everything that happened in the room next door and what TV program they were choosing to watch. The issue is the walls are too thin.
2. Towels. These need to be refreshed. I stayed 5 nights and of the 5 sets of towels I used, 3 of them had significant wear/stains.
3. I have stayed in New York about 10 times, and I know how small hotel rooms in the city can be.... but this was the second smallest room I have ever stayed in. I was travelling alone (which was lucky) and stayed in a Queen Room. These really should be marketed (like other New York hotels) as Petite Doubles as there is almost no clear floor space whatsoever
4. Noisy air con. The air con units are very noisy. It was February in New York and it was snowing & cold. The Air Con was needed but it can not be left on at night as it is so noisy.
5. WiFi - very slow WiFi that drops out and prompts you to re-login at random times when you can be in the middle of using it!
6. Noisy, very slow elevator - and there's only one. I was on floor 6 - hotel has 7 floors. Lift was horrendously slow especially in the mornings and at other peak times. It is also extremely noisy so if you get a room in the half of the hotel closest to the lift you will enjoy the noise of the motor running all day and all night
7. Others have commented on the friendliness of the staff. I can't say the staff were unfriendly but I certainly didn't find them especially helpful, courteous, or friendly - rather they were efficient.
8. Housekeeping is extremely noisy, often congregating in groups in the middle of the corridor having loud conversations...or, worse, using a walkie-talkie intercom system to hold long conversations
9. Breakfast was ok. The dining facility was too small though, frequently running out of seating, and shutting service at 9.30 neither helps with the crowd nor provide guests with a restful lie-in in the morning when they are on vacation!
8. Hotel name slightly misleading as it's not on Times Square itself but once you look up your maps in advance you will realise this. I didm;t measure it but it's at least 2-3 avenues of Times Square.

Can;'t think of much to recommend this hotel, given the huge number of hotels in New York but it does have a decent location and the price is sometimes attractive

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank journeyman29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square South
Comfort Inn Times Square South
#312 of 469 in New York City
1,159 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Midtown West
Comfort Inn Midtown West
#335 of 469 in New York City
570 reviews
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#263 of 469 in New York City
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New Y...
#363 of 469 in New York City
1,208 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#290 of 469 in New York City
2,188 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#355 of 469 in New York City
19,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Times Square West

Address: 343 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-5402 (Formerly Comfort Inn Theatre District)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 Family Hotel in New York City
#133 Business Hotel in New York City
#154 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £95 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Times Square West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Theatre District Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing