We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Times Square West
Ranked #277 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I recently stayed here for 3 nights. You can not beat the location. It's right down the street from Time Square, broadway shows and a subway station. Plenty of places to eat within walking distance. Beds are comfortable. Rooms are small, but that is not a big deal since you really are there to sleep and shower. Stay always had a smile of their faces when I came in and out. Will stay in this hotel the next time I'm in the city. Breakfast is free so you can't complain about it.

Room Tip: Stayed in the basement and did not have a lot of noise issues from outside.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talitha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sam k, General Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Talitha L, Thanks for sharing your reviews on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to know that our location was very convenient for all your activities and needs. Our room sizes are typical New York style but they are very comfortable. Our Hot breakfast is a major highlight and food choices in Hells kitchen is plenty. We look forward to see you on your next trip to NYC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (998)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn Times Square West
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

400 - 406 of 998 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

My wife and I stayed in this hotel on the recommendation of our travel agent - we thought that a 3 star hotel in New York would probably be about the equivalent of a 4 star hotel elsewhere - how wrong we were.This hotel would be ideal for a business person travelling to New York on their own but would not recommend it if travelling as a couple looking for a comfortable few nights holiday in New York.The location is the most attractive feature of the hotel as you are right on Times Square and also the staff were very friendly and helpful apart from the breakfast staff who virtually ignored you when it was obvious on your first morning that you were unsure of the way breakfast was operated here.For a hotel,the breakfast was a joke and it was more fitting of a youth hostel.I dont know how many rooms there are in this hotel but if they all came down at the same time there would be a large queue to get a seat.There was one large breakfast bar type area in the middle of the room which was barely larger than a standard size lounge and there was 6 stools situated around the bar.there was two other small tables which seated 4 persons, also sqeezed into the room.All your plates and cutlery were plastic and the only hot food available was a waffle maker which you had to make your own and obviously had to know how to work it as there was nobody willing to show you.This was a first for us and hopefully the last.Several times people came down for breakfast and had to go away as there was no room for them.The room we stayed in was very small and virtually nowhere to put our cases - the bed was comfortable and there was no problem with cleanliness.Finally if you are looking for a taxi you would be best to arrange it yourself as we had a bad experience with a taxi company the hotel obviously uses for their guests.We were travelling to Newport and had obtained a quote from the local taxi cabs - we told the receptionist at the hotel and he said he would get a quote from the company they use.It worked out 5 dollars more expensive but we were told they were reliable and would be on time with no hidden extras.When we arrived at the port the taxi driver asked us for 15 dollars more than we were quoted and after arguing with him for several minutes he put us on to his boss who was very rude to us and threatened to get the police if we did not pay what was asked.We eventually paid and complained to the hotel when we got home but they were not interested.One more complaint about New York is - do not use the green bus tours for the city as although they may be slightly cheaper,they have no recognised stops and when you are trying to get back to your hotel after visiting the sites you will hardly ever see a green bus and they will not stop for you if you put your hand out - we eventually had to take underground train to get us home.

Room Tip: ask for their largest room
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is my second stay at this hotel in the past 6 months. Both times the hotel was very clean and the customer service was great. The location is fantastic and everything in Times Square is very close. Three classic NY restaurants are within half a block of the hotel - Carmines, Shake Shack, and John's Pizza. Breakfast every morning is super convenient. They will also store your luggage when you check out. Rooms are a comparable size to other NY hotels that I have stayed at. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sam k, General Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Emily B, Thanks very much for your fantastic and detailed review about our hotel. We are glad to hear that we exceeded your expectaions on your second trip and look forward to serve you better in future. We are pleased to know that our location, amenities , Breakfast, staff service and food options in Hells kitchen were very convenient for you. We look forward to welcoming back in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at the Comfort inn for three nights, the room was clean, with comfortable bed, but not very spacious. The staff was friendly and helpful. The thing that struck us in a negative way was the breakfast. In other reviews you will read otherwise, but for us coming from Europe it was a bit of a shock to say the least. The entire cutlery and plates were plastic(!) and the only "fresh" fruit were bananas one day and apples the other day.

We would recommend it to travelers who value location over everything else.

Room Tip: Try not to be located next to the elevator and as high as possible
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sam k, General Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Jan O, Thanks for sharing your review about your recent stay at comfort inn times square west. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable accomodation and staff service. Our Breakfast is a major highlight in line with the US standards and we totally understand your expectation which is available only in full service hotels with restaurants. We look forward to welcoming back in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

It was the perfect location for the theatres. We could walk to any of them in 5 minutes. It was also only a block from a subway stop and walkable to the Empire State Building and Central Park. The rooms were small, but it had all the amenities and very nice bedding. They served one of the best breakfasts. All in all, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agave43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sam k, General Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Agave 43, Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip advisor. We are glad to see that our location was very convenient for your needs in the city. Our Hot breakfast is one of the highlights of our hotel. It was a pleasure to serve you this time and hope to see you again. Once again thanks for choosing Comfort inn times square west.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

There were a few issues with my stay:1. The hotel didn't keep important work materials that we're sent for me to the hotel 1day in advance, 2. Maybe bc I asked for a quiet room but got a semi-creepy basement room, 3. I couldn't stop the AC and was only able to change temp within limits, 4. the bed was nice but there were small holes in the wall where once pictures hang, and while the free breakfast is nice, there was no space for me to sit when I arrived shortly after 9am. The service was otherwise friendly. But for $250 a night you can find a nicer place!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markusinmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sam k, General Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Markusinmiami, Thanks you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay and sharing detailed review on TA. We are glad to see that you enjoyed our service and Breakfast despite few issues in the room. We receive packages for inhouse guest only due to lack of storage and safety issues. Our breakfast is very popular and it sometimes gets really busy. We will definitely address other issue you mentioned and take necessary steps to avoid inconvenience to future guest. We also truly apologize for not meeting your expectations and look forward to have you back and give us a chance to provide superior service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed here last week, 5 nights. Room was quite big enough for us (2 adults + 1 eleven year old), clean, floor safe, Gideon's Bible, clean bathroom. Air conditioning unit a bit noisy. They have just started a re-furb, so I hope they will update these.
Plenty of choice for breakfast. Only one lift, we were on 6th floor, so had to wait for it.
Receptionist very helpful, friendly, Helped us out a lot with taxis, changing dates, really put themselves out, I thought.
Location, well, 200 yards or so from Times Square, what more could you want?? We landed at Newark airport, got the "Newark airport express" bus, (16$ each) to "Port Authority Terminus", Times square, 40 minute trip, about 10 minute walk from the hotel. No taxi needed.
BTW, as other people have mentioned, there is a very good Italian restaurant just across the road, "Don Giovani's", really handy if its late & tired, as we were first night.About 65$ for three of us. We will stay there again, if we go back to New York.

Room Tip: First or second floor, you won't have to rely on the lift.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxF123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sam k, General Manager at Comfort Inn Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear MaxF123, Great ! Thank you very much for the Fantastic review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our clean rooms, Bathrooms, Amenities and the Breakfast. Our location is very centrally located like you mentioned and there are plenty of food options in hells kitchen.We are happy to know that we will be your hotel choice on your next trip to NYC. We will share your review with our staff who always make the difference with such a wonderful service to all our guests. Once again we thank you very much for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square South
Comfort Inn Times Square South
#290 of 468 in New York City
1,143 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Midtown West
Comfort Inn Midtown West
#332 of 468 in New York City
552 reviews
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#262 of 468 in New York City
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#251 of 468 in New York City
2,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Times Square West

Address: 343 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-5402 (Formerly Comfort Inn Theatre District)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 Family Hotel in New York City
#133 Business Hotel in New York City
#154 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £140 - £421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Times Square West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Theatre District Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing