We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for clean and convenient--totally lacking in NYC style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Times Square West
Ranked #265 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 2 February 2010

Clean and convenient. If that's what you're looking for this property fits the bill completely. Rooms are small but not out of line for this part of town. If you want bigger look at Westin or Times Square Hilton, both nearby. Rooms are very comparable to Comfort Inn on 39th, although more rooms per floor. Similar to Hampton Inn and Four Points, both within 4 blocks from here. You will notice on website that there are not many pictures. Really not much to take pictures of. Internet present and free, but slow.

Block has parking lot, parking garage, building under construction, Birdland jazz club, Dykes lumber supply and an Italian restaurant. Not much to look at, but convenient. 9th Ave a plethora of food choices. Totally improved recently, that's the direction you should go to get fed. Still, while a little deserted it doesn't have the grungy feel of a few blocks south. Lobby more sterile feeling than anything. Standard Comfort Inn breakfast except no bananas. Good coffee all day long. Asked questions of the folks at the desk a few times. They were not the most informed--probably not native Manhattanites--but always gave a good effort. Busy street during the night.

If convenient, competent and sterile is what you seek, this fits the bill. The only real drawback is that there are so many interesting properties in NYC that this seems boring by comparison. Westin and Hilton are much nicer, and just as convenient, although usually more expensive. Dream hotel has similar small rooms, but funky vibe. Lots of choices just east of Times Square.

If the price is right it offers basic conveniences in a stellar location. Broadway theaters nearby, food galore, really no downside to worry about. Also, the folks that wrote that Macy's was 2 minutes away were staying at a different Comfort Inn at 35th and Broadway. Here you are about a mile. If expectations are managed they should be easily met. Enjoy your visit.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seasonal-jamaican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,024)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

780 - 786 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2010

My wife and I spent three nights here prior to our trip to the Holy Land. We found the hotel to be an excellent choice. As some have noted previously, the rooms are small (this is, after all, Times Square area in Manhattan), and the elevator is slow to be sure. Other than that, everything we experienced was superior. The location - 2 blocks from Times Square and many Broadway shows - makes New York sights very accessible. The subway is less than 2 blocks away. We chose not to use tour buses (we wanted to see how New Yorkers get around), and we refused to pay exhorbitant rates for taxis. We found buses and subways to be fast and efficient. The hotel was almost new and it showed. The bath was immaculate and the housekeeping staff kept the place tidy and neat. The bed was comfortable, even though the room was small. The amenities described in the promotional literature was spot on. The TV was great, and the WiFi was great (albeit, a little bit slow when compared to high speed internet). The continental breakfast was great - not just a roll and coffee. We had eggs, bacon, cereal, waffles, etc - quite a choice. The staff was wonderful. Sam, the manager, was a great host, and his staff made our stay very pleasurable. I told Sam that when we come back to Manhattan I won't consider staying anywhere else. Is it that good. You bet !! And I'm telling all our friends and relatives where to stay in Manhattan, also.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank go10go4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

My family and I satyed at this hotel for 3 nights. It was very comfortable, and in a great location. It is located in close proximity of the subway and nice restaurants. The free breakfast was a nice plus, also. The only real drawback was that the elevator was rather slow.

TIPS:
*While Times Square has many restaurants, check out 9th street. There is a wide variety of dining options to choose from.

*Don't book a taxi to/from the airport through the hotel. It is significantly cheaper to just go outside, and catch a cab yourself. (The staff member at the front desk offered us a price of $75 for a van to LGA. We went outside to try our luck, and we got a cab to LGA for about $40.)

*If it is your first time in the city, you will want to utilize the subway. Make sure you have a map, and you are somewhat familiarized with the metro system.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BryceFugate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

Just came back from a week in NYC. I usually tried to stay away from "touristy" spots like Time Square whenever I visit NYC but the reasonable price and good reviews of this hotel got me curious so I decided to give it a try. All I can say is, what a gem in the middle of Time Square! This hotel is located on W. 44th St. between 8th & 9th St. (close to 9th) and needless to say this is a fantastic location. Tons of eateries on 9th Avenue (as part of the Hells Kitchen area) and numerous shops/stores on 8th Avenue as well. The subway entrance/exit is about half a block away and if you are traveling from JFK Airport, the E train is right there. Speaking of super convenience!

Hotel has obviously been refurbished recently so everything looks relatively new. The room is not super huge but of a very decent size with modern decor. Compare to many other hotels I stayed in NYC before, you have a queen size bed, a comfortable couch, a working desk with free internet, a refrigerator and a coffeemaker in room and a fully functional bathroom with a full size tub, plus free breakfast at this hotel. As a AAA member, I got a super deal of $99 w/tax per night! Now where would you go find a quality hotel in the midst of Time Square for less than $100 a night? Sure this is not your fancy and luxurious hotel, but you also don't spend too much time sleeping or hanging at your hotel in NYC, so why would you pay $150, $200 or even more for hotels?

I do agree with a couple reviews here that walls are THIN and the elevator can be slow, which may be irritating to some people. Actually I have stayed at other much more expensive NYC hotels before and found many of them having the same problems. Bear in mind many NYC buildings are old so these problems are quite common, especially if your hotels are converted from old buildings. This one is no exception. But if price is what you care most about and you do get a nice comfortable room with a great price at a good spot in town, then these issues really become secondary.

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel and will not hesitate to book it again next time when I return to NYC.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanFranExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

We traveled in mid-December on a weekend. I had booked this hotel before it even opened, so got a fantastic rate. I think that if you can get a room for around $175 or so, you should consider this hotel since it is brand new and about a 5 min walk to Times Square. It's on the west side, near many of the theatres. We traveled with friends and they said their room was very noisy at night - we were on opposite sides of the hotel and seem to have been a litle more buffered. The rooms are clean, nicely decorated, but small (as to be expected in NYC). The complimentary breakfast is ok - great if you have a family and don't want to go out and pay at least $20 for breakfast.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
Thank Mom2BoysVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2009

We stayed here for a week at the beginning of December.. It is located a few blocks off times square, nearest subway is he port authority- but its just as easy to walk to times square rather than taking shuttle over to it.

Free breakfast was great for saving time and money each morning.. included: waffle maker, toast, bagels, buns, croissants, pastries, yoghurt, fruit, cereal, fruit juice, tea, coffee, bacon, eggs.. what else do you need?/ Plenty of cream cheese, butters, jams and maple syrup. staff always refilling everything! Didn't mind if you took it up to your room.. could be busy in the morning but we always got a seat..

free internet, computer and printer which was handy for checking in online

One lift in hall way- very slow but not a fault really of the staff...

rooms cleaned very well, new soaps etc always stocked up

I would def stay here again if I got the same price, we paid £85 a night for the room.

On check out we got freshly made cookies each which were yummy as we waited on our taxi.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belfast01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2009

We just returned from a two-night stay at this Comfort Inn in NYC. There are many positives about this hotel but a few negatives, too. First of all the location is great, the rooms are clean, the staff is friendly and the rates are good - BUT ... the hotel is incredibly noisy. We didn't spend a lot of time in our room, but when we did, we were hoping to get a good nights sleep after a full day in Manhattan. We were on the second floor just above the lobby, and on the first night we could hear people talking on the street below at 3 a.m. (for about an hour) just like they were in our room. The snow plow came by three times, we could hear the elevator going up and down, and the heater in our room clicking on and off made a ton of noise. On the second night, someone on our floor (who had a few too many) was moaning and yelling, the garbage truck parked right outside our window and loaded up for a good hour and that elevator and heater continued to make a lot of noise. We found the breakfast pretty brutal, too. Luke-warm coffee, boiled eggs that you found difficult to cut with a knife, dry croissants. If you stay here, be prepared for the noise. I don't know if requesting a room on a higher floor at the back of the hotel would help, but this is what I would do. We had a terrific time in NYC, but sleep would have been nice, too!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square South
Comfort Inn Times Square South
#318 of 470 in New York City
1,163 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Midtown West
Comfort Inn Midtown West
#324 of 470 in New York City
582 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New Y...
#363 of 470 in New York City
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#264 of 470 in New York City
1,257 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#291 of 470 in New York City
2,196 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#253 of 470 in New York City
2,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Times Square West

Address: 343 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-5402 (Formerly Comfort Inn Theatre District)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in New York City
#133 Business Hotel in New York City
#154 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £93 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Times Square West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Theatre District Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing