We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel! Very impressed”
Review of Andaz Wall Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Andaz Wall Street
Ranked #120 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel! Very impressed”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Andaz over the Easter weekend in April 2012. As regular visitors to New York City, we usually stay at the New York Palace but we were keen to try somewhere new in a different location. After reading many reviews on the Andaz, we had quite high hopes, which I am pleased to say were actually exceeded!

Upon our arrival at the hotel, we were welcomed by a friendly member of staff who kindly fetched us both a glass of wine, before checking us in. We were led up to our room and received a brief tour and explanation of all the cool gadgets. First impressions: The room (Large King) was HUGE! We had a great view overlooking Water Street and the noise from outside was minimal as we were on a very high floor. The room was very clean and the free mini bar was just awesome- we loved being able to grab a drink without worrying that it was going to cost a fortune! This is a great perk that was truly appreciated. We also liked the massive walk-in shower (which was more of a wet room really) and the premium C.O. Bigelow toiletries. The bed was really comfortable and we enjoyed the different lighting options.

The public areas of the hotel were modern and stylish but welcoming and cosy at the same time. The lobby had plenty of comfortable couches to relax on during the evening happy hour (6pm-8pm), where complimentary red and white wine is served. During the day, coffee and fruit juices were available (also complimentary), along with baked goods and fruit.

We received free breakfast with our booking, which was a first for us in New York City. On our first morning, we visited the Wall & Water Restaurant and chose to eat from the continental buffet. There were various cold cuts, along with cereals, pastries and homemade muffins (these were amazing!). We were pleased with everything that was offered but on subsequent mornings we chose to eat breakfast in our room, which we found to be more relaxing and a bit of a luxury. We both chose hot options, such as eggs benedict. The food was excellent- we were really quite surprised at how good it was.

In terms of location, while I can understand why first-time visitors to New York City might deem it to be 'out of the way', please do not let this put you off. Yes, a lot of the typical tourist hot spots are in Midtown but the subway is really easy to use and the Wall Street station is just around the corner. As I said, we are frequent visitors to the city and fancied a change from the hustle and bustle of Midtown- we knew we loved Downtown Manhattan from previous visits so we were eager to stay there and experience it properly. We were so glad we did! Being by the water was really nice and we visited some good restaurants and bars in the area. Also, there is a 24-hour Duane Reade right across the street, which was really convenient.

To conclude, we had a fantastic stay at the Andaz Wall Street. The various perks were great and the service was excellent. We're planning to return to New York City next April and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lozenge22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,979
    650
    183
    77
    46
See reviews for
522
1,049
231
725
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Picked this hotel as I needed to stay in the financial district and it was rated #1 for the area on TripAdvisor--was not disappointed. Check in took minutes, the room was amazing, all non-alcoholic mini-bar items were free, free wi-fi, free snacks/drinks in the lobbby, attentive helpful staff on duty in the lobby, and a short walk to the 17 street seaport area and too many restaurants and bars to count. Where most upscale hotels try to squeeze every extra nickel out of you, Andaz gives you things you would expect to pay for. I travel frequently for business, and I wish there were an Andaz in every city--it is my new favorite hotel anywhere. I can't wait to come back and bring the family for an amazing NYC vacation.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank randallsaddress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I arrived a little after 4 in afternoon and called the front dress to get my suit pressed for a meeting the next morning at 8. They told me that the hotel could not guarantee that the pressing would be done by then and told me to look for a dry cleaner in the neighborhood. Very disappointed in the hotel's inability to perform what seems like a basic service. Will stay elsewhere on my next trip to NYC.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny1967666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Stayed in the Andaz in February with my sister for 5 nights after reading reviews on Trip advisor we thought the hotel looked lovely and were not disappointed, the only thing I didnt agree with in this hotel is when we arrived they asked for my credit card (thinking they were just checking the card in which payment had been made) the gentleman then came back and said my card had been declined- much to my astonishment I asked why he had been trying to take money when we had already paid- he then went on to explain they take $100 per night for incidentals totalling $500 for our stay, as you can imagine after an 8 hour flight and 2 hour transfer I wasnt the happiest person, and they said they dont have it in writing in there t&c but every hotel in New York take this money. Luckily my sister had a credit card on her and we had no choice but to give the details, we were assured this money would be put automatically back in our account. After we had settled and got over the initial shock of the 'incidentals payment' i really dont have a bad word to say about this hotel, from the moment you work in its a beautiful, modern building and the rooms are a lovely size with an amazing bathroom and shower! I would recommend this hotel to anyone but would warn them about the paymenbt on arrival- as this was my first time to NY i wasnt aware of it and would have been grateful for a heads up, but knowing this now would defo visit the hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fionac22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This hotel was the best deal I could find for the weekend I visited NYC (214$/night). Located in the financial district, but close to the subway. Very quiet neighborhood, we were never awoken by noise from the streets or hallways. Fastest check-in ever, friendly staff, nice looking hotel, complimentary cookies, coffee (espresso machine) and tea all day, complimentary wine between 6-8 pm. If you like design, you will absolutely love the rooms. However, you have to know that (at least some) rooms have large windows next to the bed giving on the shower and bath (!). Not that much a problem if traveling with partner, but could be embarrassing if sharing a room with friends...! They provided complimentary non-alcoholic beverages (Tropicana juice, iced tea, carbonated and flat water, sodas) and snacks (vegetable chips, granola bar, chocolate bar) every day in the rooms. Bed comfort 9.5/10! Will definitively go back and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kapucine81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Andaz late May 2011 for our 1st trip to New York & was amazing. Easy check in, very classy & layed back atmosphere & staff very friendly. Room was great 32" tv on wall, huge bed, big bathroom with walk in shower, free mini bar & snacks. Don't think there's many places that would beat this hotel in New York, should definitely be a 5*

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at the Andaz Wall Street and absolutely loved it! We booked a one bedroom suite for the weekend on Priceline and immediately knew we chose the best deal in Manhattan. The room was huge, clean, and the staff very helpful, interesting, and informative. The price was unbeatable also - even regular rooms at 3 star hotels in Manhattan were not much cheaper. The mini bar is free (except alcohol) and restocked daily. There are many windows with excellent views of the financial district. We loved the bathroom - the tub is huge and the shower is also very nice. The room definitely has a modern feel to it, but is not uncomfortable. There is a panel to control the lighting and blackout shades (very cool). Check-in and check-out was a breeze and we found the staff to be top-notch. We also especially appreciated them holding our luggage for the day to allow us some last-minute sightseeing until our flight later in the afternoon. We definitely plan on returning to NYC, and this will be the only hotel on our list.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theboyfromillinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Q&A Residential Hotel
Q&A Residential Hotel
#22 of 466 in New York City
458 reviews
Financial District
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
#32 of 466 in New York City
1,613 reviews
Financial District
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#83 of 466 in New York City
2,478 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade...
#106 of 466 in New York City
1,491 reviews
Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan/Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan...
#202 of 466 in New York City
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Wall Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Wall Street

Property: Andaz Wall Street
Address: 75 Wall Street, Entrance on Water Street, New York City, NY 10005-2833
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in New York City
#25 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#28 Business Hotel in New York City
#43 Family Hotel in New York City
#97 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz Wall Street 4.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Lower Manhattan’s renaissance at Andaz Wall Street from Hyatt. Have a seat in the Andaz Lounge—an open, communal setting that’s equal parts living room and lobby—where your Andaz Host will warmly greet you and check you in with a handheld iPad. Complimentary High-speed wireless Internet and local calls will be make you right at home as well as free non-alcoholic beverages and snacks. Escape from the real world with high-impact treatments from The SPA or enjoy a quick stroll to South Street Seaport. It’s your call — you’re in the heart of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Kognitiv US Corp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Andaz Wall Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz Wall Street Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing