We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms but decent experience overall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Ranked #251 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Got a great price at this Fairfield Inn. It's a good location close to The Empire State Building and Fifth Ave and there was a 24 hour deli/store across the street to buy food/provisions when needed. They reception went out of its way to recognize me as a Marriott Rewards member, which I appreciated. The layout/setup is very similar to other Fairfield properties in the city with a handful of rooms per floor. The king room was pretty small as was the bathroom. We had to hoist the suitcases up on the desk as there was no other place for them. That said, the bed was comfy, there was good water pressure, and the rooms were cleaned adequately. We had no view to speak of which was fine as it was quiet in the back location. The continental breakfast is a nice plus to get your day started. My only complaint was that only one of the two elevators were working the whole time we were there (3 nights). That would have been ok but it appeared as though the maintenance staff was keeping one "on reserve" for their use. I wouldn't have minded however there were long wait times for the elevator, often times having to wait for a full elevator to go by twice before getting on. I witnessed a maintenance guy using the other elevator to grab two towels from the basement and (on a second occasion) use said elevator to drop off toilet paper to a closet on our floor. It seemed an inconvenience to the guests when it was going unused on the basement level (I only know that as I had to wait down there for the working elevator when I went to get ice). Otherwise, we'd go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthEndBos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

313 - 319 of 623 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

I stayed here for three days and overall, it was a good experience. The room seemed almost brand new (although no hair dryer found) and was very clean. The room wasn't ready when I got there around 4:30pm, but it only took about 15 minutes to get me in. Also, the breakfast is very generous...plus they exclusively serve Starbucks at breakfast and in each room. I think you'll like this place.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P318i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

As noted in other reviews, the staff here is very friendly and seems sincere in their efforts to make things right for guests. So, I wish I could give this hotel a higher rating. But we experienced some glitches that I would't have expected from a mid-town New York Marriott property.

We arrived a few hours before the official check-in time (3:00pm, which is a bit late) and were told our room wasn't ready yet. Okay, no big deal. The desk clerk checked out bags and told us he would call us as soon as our room was ready. We headed out for a long walk,a meal and a museum. Never did receive a call about our room being ready, but, happily, it was ready when we returned to the hotel at around 6:00pm. We were told our bags were in our room already. Up to the room -- no bags. Back down to the lobby -- oh, sorry, they're still in the baggage room.

Next day, we left the room at about 9:00am for a day of touring Returned to the room at 5:00pm to find that housekeeping had yet to get to our room. The front desk seemed surprised -- althrough on the way past the desk the first time we overhead the front desk arranging to take towels up to another room. In any case, they didn't offer any explanation about why the delay. They did offer to send housekeeping up to clean the room, but, being very tired, we declined and just asked them from some clean towels, which arrived bit later.

Last concern is about the elevator service in the hotel. There are two elevators servicing an 18-story hotel. One of them was completely out of service the first day we were there. It was repaired sometime that night. But both of the next two days, although you could tell that elevator was being used, apparently it was only available for the hotel staff, not for guests. Only a minor inconvenience for us, but If the hotel had been more crowded, this could have been a major irritation.

Others have already remarked on the generally well-appointed and clean, if quite small, rooms, the breakfast (nothing to write home about, but a much appreciated money-saving perk), and the nice view of the Empire State Bldg from the rooms in front on the upper floors.

Overall, it was pretty good, considering that I used Mariott Reward points to pay for the room. But, if I were paying with my own cold, hard cash, I would have been more upset with the service issues --- especially concerning the un-made-up room. Next time I'll take a look at some of the other properties in the area. The staff here seems willing enough -- management has to get their act together a bit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linkomatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Booked here for a weekend getaway to New York with my wife. This was a new and very modern hotel. The room was a bit on the small side but I hear that is typical in NY being that square footage is so expensive. For the location, I thought it was a fantastic deal and my wife was very happy as well. I highly recommend this hotel as an excellent Manhattan hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel on points--so no revenue in it for them. But they treated us so well. Always pleasant greeting, always asking if they can help us with anything. This is a small hotel with only six rooms on each of the 15 floors. It is located in an excellent area near Lord and Taylor. Up the street is the best Chinese restaurant ever and across the street is a grocery/deli open 24/7. What more could you want---good beds and pillows. They were so comfortable. If you are going to NYC pick this hotel. WE LOVED IT!

Room Tip: We were on the next to the top floor and with only six rooms on a floor--we never heard anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mssophdoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

This hotel is conveniently located to the central shopping area of Manhattan. Although the room was small (as expected), it came with everything needed and was very clean. The complimentary breakfast provides warm and cold meals. Free wifi internet in our room was certainly a plus. There is a 24 hours pharmacy/convenience store around the corner that has everything you need.

The hotel staff were extremely efficient. Even my girlfriend who travels a lot for work was highly impressed by their speed.

The only downside to this hotel is the noise outside. Being located in the heart of the city, noise from the outside can be a bit noisy. Ask the front desk for earplugs if you need any.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anson W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

So, this is the second time I've stayed at this hotel - mainly for the low prices.

Overall it is a fine place to stay, but do not expect anything super fancy or spacious - even on NYC standards it is small and sparse.

The one thing the hotel has for it is great staff - everyone was very welcoming and helpful.

Location is also so so, but decent enough, close to a couple subway stops and walkable to some sights.

Do not expect an amazing view, and ask for a high floor to be away from street noise if possible. It is a very small hotel, so the rooms are all probably under 200 sq. feet.

I got a price under $200, but that is the only reason I'd stay here again, and to be honest, for another $20 it might worth it to stay elsewhere.

I didn't take advantage of the free breakfast or wine for marriott card holders, but I am sure that adds more to the value if you can grab breakfast there before heading out for the day.

Room Tip: Try for a high-floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMR_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#143 of 469 in New York City
993 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#238 of 469 in New York City
1,910 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#193 of 469 in New York City
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#163 of 469 in New York City
2,183 reviews
Midtown
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, Ne...
#169 of 469 in New York City
2,334 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#125 of 469 in New York City
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue

Address: 21 West 37th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#174 Business Hotel in New York City
#183 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#200 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £148 - £412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for Empire State Building hotels choose Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan//Fifth Avenue, a top hotel in NYC located moments from the iconic Empire State building and near excellent Fifth Avenue shopping. Our hotel in New York City offers an unbeatable location in Midtown, close to Central Park, Times Square, the Broadway Theater District, Grand Central Terminal, and more. We provide convenient and comfortable accommodations that are ideal for business or leisure travel. Stay with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue and enjoy a preferred choice among Empire State Building hotels. Our accommodations offer free Wi-Fi, well-lit work desks, and plush bedding. Guests who stay with us also get a free daily breakfast, which offers just the fuel needed for a productive and enjoyable day in NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan / Fifth Avenue Hotel New York City
Fairfield Inn And Suites New York Manhattan / Fifth Avenue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing