We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful hotel. Avoid for any business travel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Ranked #262 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This hotel is more like a youth hostel than a hotel. Room is completely cramped, even for NY standards. You couldn't fully sit on the toilet because there was furniture coming right up to the edge of the bowl. Not room for even a chair in the room. Just enough room for a small mattress.

What was worst was the mattress, which was probably the low end ikea model. The kind that crinkles when you push down on it. So uncomfortable. I would avoid this place and pay a few bucks extra for a nicer hotel next time.

I can't believe the reviews saying this would be a good place for kids. Where would you put them? The rooms literally had no space for a chair.

Room Tip: Avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ekdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

309 - 315 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

Was going to book for a quick night in NYC, I almost booked next door which was $100 more with the same amenities. Room was clean, people were friendly, for a quick night in the city this is all you need.

Room Tip: Always ask for a high floor in NYC to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samiventi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I stayed in the Fairfield Inn on West 37th Street with my wife and two young sons in August 2012. The hotel is well located just off 5th Avenue only a few minutes walk from the Empire State Building. The staff at the hotel are very helpful and friendly. We had a parcel delivered to hotel which arrived before we did and they were happy to store it for us.

The hotel is compact. The lobby and breakfast room are small. There is fee access to the internet in the lobby area. Free juice and cookies were provided from time to time. We shared one room with two double beds. The room was quite small, even by New York standards. There was limited storage space. There was no in-room safe. We had to use a safety deposit box at reception to store our valuables. The bathroom was fine.

There was a free self service breakfast. There was a good choice of food - cereals, fruit, bread, but limited hot food. The only drawback of breakfast is that the breakfast room was very cold due to the air conditioning, so although it was very hot outside, we had to wrap up warmly for breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RIchard035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013 via mobile

After searching for hotels that is strategically located as well as affordable, we settled for Fairfield Inn.. Prove to be the best decision made! No Regrets! Provides decent breakfast and a comfortable warm bed. A very friendly front desk that double as a superb concierge. Always ready to assist and always smiling. A short walk to the subs, macys just around the corner and strips of shops at the other corner. Plenty of delicious halal food cart. Will definitely stay again if I were to re-visit NYC.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leedeeyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here because we wanted a good central location to stay while visiting NYC. It was great! Great location. Fast, easy check-in. Great hospitality. We were there on a Wednesday night, so manager's reception with wine and cheese. It was fun sitting and chatting with other guests, many from other countries. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auntjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Great Hotel for a NYC visit. This Fairfield is on a quiet street in the Fashion District, but is close enough to trains if you choose to commute that way. It is also very easy to grab a taxi on 5th avenue about 1/4 block's walk from the hotel entrance.
The customer service at this hotel was suburb. I arrived early and my room was not ready. I did call for early check-in and am a platinum member but by 11:40 a.m. they didn’t have it ready. My bag was tagged and stored for me while I left the hotel to wait for my room. When I arrived back, my keys were ready and my bag delivered to my room. Through the remainder of our stay all the staff were extremely helpful and friendly in a way that made you feel welcome and comfortable, which made up for the short wait to get my room.
The hotel does offer a breakfast with hot and cold items and you should be able to fill up before you head out for the day without any problem. They serve Starbucks coffee and Tazo Tea as well, which was a treat. The breakfast room offers plenty of space to site and enjoy your meal.
The hotel does not have a gym but offers passes to Crunch, a nearby (2 blocks away) gym, for guests.
Overall I’d recommend this hotel for a stay. It has spacious rooms for Manhattan, clean room and bathrooms and friendly service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abbstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Traveling on business. Room was small but comfortable for one. If my "better half" was with me it would have been a cramped. Bed, very comfortable. Nice shower in the bathroom; however, when using the sink I had to close the bathroom door to make room. Wifi worked very well. I'd stay here again. BTW, front desk and cafe staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Empire State Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel Richland New York
Hotel Richland New York
#294 of 473 in New York City
706 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#160 of 473 in New York City
865 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#243 of 473 in New York City
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan/Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan...
#228 of 473 in New York City
444 reviews
Midtown
U Hotel Fifth Avenue
U Hotel Fifth Avenue
#297 of 473 in New York City
1,097 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#199 of 473 in New York City
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue

Address: 21 W 37th St, New York City, NY 10018-6201
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#98 Family Hotel in New York City
#173 Business Hotel in New York City
#182 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £99 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for Empire State Building hotels choose Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan//Fifth Avenue, a top hotel in NYC located moments from the iconic Empire State building and near excellent Fifth Avenue shopping. Our hotel in New York City offers an unbeatable location in Midtown, close to Central Park, Times Square, the Broadway Theater District, Grand Central Terminal, and more. We provide convenient and comfortable accommodations that are ideal for business or leisure travel. Stay with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue and enjoy a preferred choice among Empire State Building hotels. Our accommodations offer free Wi-Fi, well-lit work desks, and plush bedding. Guests who stay with us also get a free daily breakfast, which offers just the fuel needed for a productive and enjoyable day in NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites New York Manhattan / Fifth Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan / Fifth Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing