We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly and accommodating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Ranked #219 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very friendly and accommodating”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I traveled to NYC from 12/22/13-12/24/13 and stayed my last night at this location and have nothing but the best to say about this location and the service provided by the staff. Melissa and Jose, Daniel, Masiel, and Tracy were very friendly and genuine with their attention to detail and level of care and service. From my phoning the hotel prior to arrival to staying, and departing this hotel did a great job. It is a clean, and modern space. It is a it small, but I do not personally care about small stuff when all mentioned above happens. I recommend this hotel. Service is equal to if not better than comparable full-service Marriott hotels charging much more and having much more staff.

Great job!

Room Tip: Higher floors are very quite and showers are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    232
    78
    17
    21
See reviews for
130
243
35
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My boyfriend and I have never stayed at a Fairfield by Marriott before. Since prices soared for the season for some reason this year we decided this was the place for us budget wise. We were a tad unhappy by the size of the room. We could barely walk by each other when walking around the bed. The bathroom was quite small as well, not much space to place toiletries. But I guess that's the price you pay for staying in NYC. We were hardly in our room anyways so that's the only reason I took one star off.

The bed was very comfortable and clean. The shower was nice with a very large and tall shower head. Barely heard any noise. We had the Empire State building view from our window..Ill download pictures!! The staff was very friendly. Coffee bar was well stocked with Starbucks coffee (my favorite)!

If you are coming for the Christmas season Macys is a 1 and a half block walk which is awesome!! And yes you will be close to time square and other main attractions like Bryan Park too!

Id say if your trip requires you to be away from your room most of the day, go for it! You wont be disappointed! Its a very nice place to unwind and sleep!! :)

Room Tip: Request higher floor....less noise and possible view of Empire State Building which is beautiful at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatzApllz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We needed a good value hotel in New York and booked the Fairfield Inn 5th Avenue. Our expectations weren't high as city centre hotels are often poorly staffed and very average. To say our expectations were exceeded is an understatement! The hotel is situated between 5th and 6th avenue, 5 mins from Maceys and a view of the Empire State Building from our bedroom! The room was modern and immaculately clean, with a fantastic shower (how all hotels should be judged!) A buffet breakfast was included, and self service coffee was available at all times of the day. There was a business centre to print off our return boarding passes, free wifi and a comfy king size bed! The service was superb - whatever they are paying Daniel on the front desk it isn't enough. He couldn't do enough for us - recommending where to eat, helping us with our luggage, hailing cabs and ensuring we got the room we wanted. He is an exemplary employee and if you stay there you should ask for him by name! The other staff were also helpful which made our stay really enjoyable. We will stay here again if we visit New York and would wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone wanting a good value hotel in the heart of the Big Apple with great service.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davet444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I did NOT stay in the Fairfield inn because, Vicky charged my account $121.49 & then proceeded to LIE and say I didn't have the funds in my account!! When my card was in fact CHARGED! Fortunately I had cash so I told them I'd find somewhere that would accept cash.. I did not find out until I got home that my card was charged. Vicky had the nerve to say that it was a "no show" "no cancellation". That is impossible!! Because we went inside the hotel!! And told them were going else where!!! Vicky is extremely rude. If you want a nice hotel (worth your money) go across the street to Comfort Inn Suites.. They are much nicer.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizxmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The Fairfield Inn offered exactly what we were looking for in a weekend stay - reasonable prices by New York standards, a great location (the view out our window included the majestic Empire State building, we were just a few blocks from Bryant Park, Hells Kitchen, etc), clean rooms, pleasant staff, and even a free breakfast (which we didn't take advantage of, save for the coffee). Yes, the rooms are small, but are you going to NYC to hang out in your room or be out in the hustle and bustle of the city? We'd go back again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmt42013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We couldn't have picked better location for our October bank holiday weekend. From the moment we checked in the experience was wonderful. The receptionist who greeted us was so lovely and friendly, as were all the hotel staff. We were instantly offered an upgrade, and although there were no rooms available with views of the Empire State, the room suited us perfectly. Incredibly comfy bed, a huge shower, and only a few blocks from the subway. What more could you want for a long weekend in NYC.

Room Tip: Check in early and you might get views of the Empire State
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey County, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The location can't be beat, just three blocks from the 34th and Herald square subway stop. We could see the Empire State building from our room. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was very good, there was just a couple of cooked options, but a nice selection of cold cereal, fresh fruit (altho this tended to run out), whole grain bread for toast, bagels, and muffins.
The room was very small. There were no luggage racks, so we had to put a suitcase up on the desk, and empty the other one into the ridiculously small closet. The bed was comfy enough, but the linens were worn, and the comforter an unhealthy shade of gray. It was supposed to be covered, duvet style, by two sheets, but unfortunately the sheets didn't quite cover. The pillows were comfy tho. I felt the room was not as clean as it could be, altho certainly acceptable. Towels were hit and miss, sometimes we got Walmart rejects, sometimes half way decent ones, and 2 days out of 5 we got no washcloths at all.
Overall, a nice enough place to stay, altho it felt like being crammed into a closet.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mndb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#156 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#238 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,850 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#187 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#109 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Best Western Premier Herald Squa...
#103 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
Midtown
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, Ne...
#162 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Address: 21 West 37th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#178 Business Hotel in New York City
#187 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#205 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for Empire State Building hotels choose Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan//Fifth Avenue, a top hotel in NYC located moments from the iconic Empire State building and near excellent Fifth Avenue shopping. Our hotel in New York City offers an unbeatable location in Midtown, close to Central Park, Times Square, the Broadway Theater District, Grand Central Terminal, and more. We provide convenient and comfortable accommodations that are ideal for business or leisure travel. Stay with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue and enjoy a preferred choice among Empire State Building hotels. Our accommodations offer free Wi-Fi, well-lit work desks, and plush bedding. Guests who stay with us also get a free daily breakfast, which offers just the fuel needed for a productive and enjoyable day in NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan / Fifth Avenue Hotel New York City
Fairfield Inn And Suites New York Manhattan / Fifth Avenue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing