We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Ranked #218 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thanks!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Great location, helpful staff. Would have liked a mini fridge to keep drinks cold.

Requested a south facing room for the ESB.

Note, doors of rooms are very close and you can hear all the comings and goings.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    232
    78
    15
    21
See reviews for
129
242
35
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We requested a South facing room and received a amazing room with view of ESB! Daniel at front desk could not have been more accomodating, Thanks Daniel ! Daily breakfast was more than adequate for our needs. Location is close to all we needed - Penn Station, subways, etc. Good, safe neighborhood. Free wifi was a plus. Will definately stay again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Request South Facing room - you will enjoy a view of the Empire State Building. No promises, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This hotel was one of the first stops on the LaGuardia hotel shuttle into Manhattan. When we arrived we were checking in quickly, and we were unable to get all of our requests, even though I called earlier in the day and spoke to a very rude lady who didn't would not even look up my account to see if the requests I made during the reservation were inputted onto my account. Non the less, the staff who were working when we arrived were very friendly and helpful. We were given room 1003 which had a nice view of the top half of the empire state building. Rooms did not have a lot of space to walk around in, but that was expected. The King bed was comfortable, and the heating system took a while to figure out, as kept switching back and forth from hot to cold air without us touching it. Bathroom was clean and hair dryer worked well. Everything in the room worked as it should. Breakfast area was pleasant, with a good enough breakfast available. Eggs, sausage one day, bacon the next. Always bagels/bread, pastries, yogurt, juice and fruit. Limited starbucks coffee available also. We stored our luggage from 11am-6:30pm on our last day with no problems. Good location right in the middle of 5th and 6th Avenue, only 10 minutes walk to Time Square. Great hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors are probably less noisy; on the 10th floor we didn't have any traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellor5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Enjoyed the location and the breakfast. Staff was professional. Daniel, the bellman, is a friendly guy always willing to help. Rooms aren't that big, but they do offer kingsize beds and it is clean. Overall, it was a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GustavoTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I booked this hotel because it has the Marriott brand on it. However I was a bit disappointed with the overal experience, especially because I had stayed one night at another same category hotel on the 36th St and the differences are huge.

The front desk personnel was extremely helpful and kind all times.
There is a small business center with two available computers with internet and free coffe and tea 24h which is a plus and very convenient. On the basement they have an ice machine which was also helpful since there was no minibar on the room.

The breakfast area is small and the variety of the food is short. For a stay of 6 days we started to be sick of the same food options after the third day. All the cutlery is plastic, and the cups and dishes are made of paper like in a kindergarden. For a hotel that is keen on protecting the environment I found this odd. When the time limit for breakfast approched the staff entered the permises and closed eveything in a minute without asking the guests if they wanted anything else before removing the food, which I found rude.

The room was small and in a regular condition (furniture was a little bit used up) and had a view to the Empire State Building. The wardrobe was too small for a stay of 6 days for 2 people visiting the city. The were only 2 tiny shleves inside it. The AC was OK but rather noisy. The bed was comfortable so as the pillows.
The bathroom was simple but functional. The cleaning service did their job but we stayed in many other hotels of the same cathegory where staff did pay more attention to some details.

On the third day we received a document stating that the power had to be cut on oue floor from 10AM to 7PM due to works. Because of that they would given us Reward Miles. We appreciated the gesture but that does not hlp me drying my hair, entertain me with the TV, etc. Remember we were there on vacation?

All in all the experience was ok but compared to the same cathegory hotel (Hyatt Place) we had stayed in the day before checkin-in Fairfield, this is way behind in terms of value for money.

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor room turned to south
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank esbanjador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Had a very good experience at this hotel. It has many things going for it:

1. Centrally located. Walking distance all major points of interest. Penn Station is a leisurely 10 minute walk and so are the main shopping avenues. The UN Head Quarters is 15 minutes away. If you dont have much luggage, you could take a train from Newark or JFK to Penn Station and walk to the hotel.
2. Good spacious and clean rooms
3. Extremely helpful and friendly staff
4. Left luggage facility where you could leave your luggage for a few days without a worry.
5. Free wifi with reasonably good bandwidth
6. Spacious work tables in most rooms
7. Stands one notch higher with others in comparable range.

The walls separating the rooms arent that thick and if you have very noisy neighbours (only one wall is shared) you could hear them. It shouldnt be a bother unless one is very sensitive to even subdued noise.

One thing they could improve is the breakfast. Its leaves a lot to be desired.

Room Tip: Take a room higher up to reduce noise levels, even though it has well insulated windows. If you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OffroadTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Without a doubt this was a very pleasurable and timely surprise, especially since it was during New York's February snow storm. Centrally located in midtown, this hotel is surrounded by numerous shops, just blocks from Broadway and Times Square. Also by restaurants (my favorite was right across the street "Frankie and Johnnies"). The room and hotel was very clean, and sure small, but wisely doesn't allow pets. The hotel staff was simply put "OUTSTANDING", as was the free breakfast variety. This is now my favorite New York hotel. Great price, Great location, Great staff, and Great sense of service and cleanliness.

Room Tip: Dinner at Frankies and Johnnies, across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rand R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#157 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#236 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#191 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#110 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Best Western Premier Herald Squa...
#107 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Midtown
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, Ne...
#160 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Address: 21 West 37th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#178 Business Hotel in New York City
#187 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#205 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for Empire State Building hotels choose Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan//Fifth Avenue, a top hotel in NYC located moments from the iconic Empire State building and near excellent Fifth Avenue shopping. Our hotel in New York City offers an unbeatable location in Midtown, close to Central Park, Times Square, the Broadway Theater District, Grand Central Terminal, and more. We provide convenient and comfortable accommodations that are ideal for business or leisure travel. Stay with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue and enjoy a preferred choice among Empire State Building hotels. Our accommodations offer free Wi-Fi, well-lit work desks, and plush bedding. Guests who stay with us also get a free daily breakfast, which offers just the fuel needed for a productive and enjoyable day in NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan / Fifth Avenue Hotel New York City
Fairfield Inn And Suites New York Manhattan / Fifth Avenue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing