We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Ranked #235 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The hotel is OK, but I was quite disappointed to be next to a room with a very noisy TV (there was a common wooden door). The management did not do anything about it even after I called. I won't sleep there next time I am in midtown.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krsto57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 251 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Yes, this hotel is small (6 rooms per floor, 3 facing the front and 3 facing the back), as are the rooms. If you know that before booking, and if you are not spending a lot of time in your hotel (we only slept there-getting back late and out the door early), it is a really good option for the area. You can get a really good deal and be mere blocks from several subway lines and attractions.

Staff is friendly and welcoming. Lobby is clean, as is the breakfast area. We did not have any issues with the elevators being slow-waiting maybe 2 minutes max. Both were functioning during our stay.

Being a couple of years old, the hotel shows a little wear and tear-but nothing out of the ordinary. We enjoyed our stay and it will be on my short list of hotels to return to our next trip to NYC.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side (37th street) face the Empire State Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RahRah44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The location is perfect, right in the center of manhattan. It's close enough to the theatre district, but not too close. Lots of places to eat and drink close by that are open on the weekends. The staff were super friendly and willing to help with any questions. Coffee (starbucks) was available in the lobby and there was a complimentary breakfast that we missed.
Parking was $30 a block or two away, no valet. It's probably like a 10-15 walk from penn station Room was clean and relatively quiet. The only knock on the hotel is the size of the room. It's basically a bed, I figured for over $400 a night you would get a little walking space. Would stay there again.
If you found this helpful, please click on the helpful button, thanks for reading!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NYGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel is in a fairly central location with an easy walk to many big attractions (Times Square, Empire State, etc.). The rooms are normal in size for NYC and fairly new. Cleanliness is average (it doesn't seem like the rooms are vacuumed after every guest). The bathroom is a tight space where the trash can only fits in the sink cabinet.

The big negative of the hotel for our stay was the noise. Despite asking for a quiet room in a hotel that wasn't full, we were placed in a room on a low floor overlooking 37th Street. You could hear pretty much every drunken conversation that was going on outside in the middle of the night (and there were many). To make matters worse, in the morning you were greeted by the cleaning staff yelling at each other at the top of their lungs. Not the most peaceful stay.

Breakfast was average (nothing great). The fruit selection was fairly subpar and hot choices were limited. And be aware, it ends at 10 am and that means everything has been pretty much removed at 10:01 am, so don't go at the very last minute. Parking was a block away in a garage and reasonable at $30/day.

The room rate we got was fairly low for NYC standards, so I'm more willing to forgive issues with the hotel at that price point (hence the 4 stars). However, if you're sensitive to noise, either ask for a room higher up or not facing 37th St.

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, ask for a room higher up or one that doesn't face 37th St (you will lose a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vvv3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here based on Marriott loyalty and price. The hotel is conveniently located off of 5th ave, on 37th street so it's close to Times Square and walking distance to everything. I was pleasantly surprised at the room upgrade to suite 1801. This suite feature a large balcony and awesome view of the Empire State Building.
Breakfast, room amenities, etc were all at par for a Fairfield. I would definitely stay here again while in a NYC.

Room Tip: Room 1801 is the best! Great balcony with view of Empire State Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobalMogul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

I booked a room at this hotel for a shopping weekend with my daughter. From the moment we checked in, we were impressed. We arrived around 1:00 and were immediately greeted by Daniel at the front desk. He was super friendly and very helpful. He got us checked in right away and offered to help with anything that we may need. The room itself was small, but that's pretty standard for NYC. We had a great view of the Empire State Building and a clean, comfortable room to sleep in. Each time we left the hotel, we were greeted in the lobby by the person at the desk. The same can be said for each time we returned.
Upon check out, we asked that our bags be stored for the day until we were ready to catch our train home. Our bags were tagged and locked in the closet in the lobby. When we came to retrieve them they were quick to retrieve them and get us on our way. I would highly recommend this hotel and will stay here again for sure!!

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Jmcguirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was my first visit to New York on work and the hotel was perfectly located. Walking distance from all my meeting places, shopping, food joints, the subway and train stations. The staff were very helpful - had a glitch using the internet on multiple devices which their IT team sorted out for me pretty late one night and they were happy to hold onto my luggage while i made a four day visit to DC. I wasnt even scheduled to stay with them on my return to New York, but they were great about my bags! Would highly recommend staying with them. They have a good breakfast spread and access to a gym close by.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sowmyaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel Richland New York
Hotel Richland New York
#272 of 470 in New York City
707 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#203 of 470 in New York City
840 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#238 of 470 in New York City
1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
U Hotel Fifth Avenue
U Hotel Fifth Avenue
#281 of 470 in New York City
1,088 reviews
Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan/Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan...
#243 of 470 in New York City
419 reviews
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#146 of 470 in New York City
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue

Address: 21 West 37th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#174 Business Hotel in New York City
#183 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#200 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £126 - £468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for Empire State Building hotels choose Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan//Fifth Avenue, a top hotel in NYC located moments from the iconic Empire State building and near excellent Fifth Avenue shopping. Our hotel in New York City offers an unbeatable location in Midtown, close to Central Park, Times Square, the Broadway Theater District, Grand Central Terminal, and more. We provide convenient and comfortable accommodations that are ideal for business or leisure travel. Stay with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue and enjoy a preferred choice among Empire State Building hotels. Our accommodations offer free Wi-Fi, well-lit work desks, and plush bedding. Guests who stay with us also get a free daily breakfast, which offers just the fuel needed for a productive and enjoyable day in NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan / Fifth Avenue Hotel New York City
Fairfield Inn And Suites New York Manhattan / Fifth Avenue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing