We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Ranked #238 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We came to the city for a family wedding. We chose this hotel because of location and price, since it's very convenient to Bryant Park, where the reception took place. We checked in and were greeted by a very friendly and helpful front desk staff. We received a wonderful greeting from Daniel, who has a great personality. He also upgraded us, since we are platinum Marriott members, to an executive suite on the top floor, which was a quite large room with refrigerator, safe, king bed, and also with a balcony with a view of the Chrysler Bldg, and huge walk-in shower--awesome, plus there are only two rooms on that floor, so it was very quiet. Every time we saw Daniel, he greeted us by name and always offered any kind of assistance, along with lots of friendly chat. Also note that a hot breakfast was included. The location is great, since it's right off 5th Ave and very close to Times Square and Broadway.

Our only concern about this hotel is the security. During the day, anyone can go to the elevators and go to any floor; also, the balcony door didn't lock, and there is a building right next to the balcony, where someone could jump to the balcony, if they are dare-devils.
FYI: there is no valet parking, but you get a discount for a nearby indoor parking lot.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was my first time to stay in this hotel and I really didn't know what to expect. Boy was I pleasantly surprised. First, off, if you are expecting a big over plush hotel and all the service of say a big JW Marriott, this is not that hotel. But they don't pretend to be a a complete full service hotel and they are not. But they are very good at what they are. First, let me talk about the staff...they were all very friendly, and helpful. I was there on a mostly business trip and looking to save some money. I had a small but very nice and clean room. If you are by yourself this is a good hotel. Yes the rooms are small, so if there is two of you, this could be a problem. The rooms close for the front of the hotel seem to get more noise, especially late at night, but hey it's NY. They have free breakfast in the morning, but I was already up and out by that time. The location is good, just off 5th. Would I return? Yes, mainly for the value and the very good staff. Even the janitor/clean up guy is nice and friendly. Tip: good full service deli just across the street for meals.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are much quieter. Nice full service deli across the street, try and salad bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrTravelinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Its NYC, we expected a very small room. However the double beds room was quite ok, not too small. The staff was very helpful and friendly. It was very thoughtful that they served nice complimentary breakfast, lemonade and cookies in the afternoon and 24 hours starbuck coffee and tea and hot water. For us, party of 8, it was an added value.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferlita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Hello - I have been a rewards customer for the past 3 1/2 years booking all my business travel with Marriott properties. I have just experienced the very worst customer service ever! I booked a stay for business travel that I have to cancel due to client cancelation. I'm told the rate I booked was not refundable according to the GM at this hotel. (The rate was $477. ) I've never experienced this before and didn't intend to book a non-refundable rate...which by the way is only a few dollars less than what is available at this same hotel today. Usually a reservation can be changed within 24 hours. I have spoken to your hotel staff your customer service department, your Marriott guest customer service department (total time between these 3 calls after being put on hold and hung up on) was approximately 2 hours. The end result is this hotel would not allow me to cancel or even credit a stay unless I can rebook within one week...not even an offer to rebook within 3 months which would have worked. You have lost a rewards member; you have lost my future business with this type of "customer service". I will be sure to share this with all of my colleagues. We represent a major media company and travel extensively each week and I'm sure you are aware that there are many hotel choices available! Thanks for nothing Marriott!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Lynn122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I was in NYC for business and chose this Marriott hotel based on the location and that I'm a member of Marriott rewards. I saw some reviews that stated the hotel was noisy due to the rooms being close together. I spent two night there and slept like a baby! Never heard a peep from anyone and the hotel was full.
Great welcome from Karen at the front desk! My second morning I saw Daniel at the desk and he was very friendly and told me if I needed anything to please let him know. Rooms are small but efficient and clean.
My job has taken me all over the world and I've stayed in all kinds of hotels. This Marriott and it's staff are top notch and I couldn't ask for a better experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KtownKrusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

A very pleasant experience. Centrally located. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean though it was a little small. Lovely breakfast. Great view of the Empire State Building. After checking out, they take good care of your baggage. I would highly recommend this hotel.
-Rupa & Harish

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rupa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

After using this & other sites to help choose a hotel in midtown, we chose this hotel for our 5 night visit which ended yesterday. With that I thought I would note the things we liked, were ok with and did not like.

What We Liked: For our visit the hotel location in midtown was great. It is only a short 10-15 minute walk to Times Square & the shopping around that. The staff was very friendly & hospitable. The room was clean and while on the 4th floor we heard no sounds from traffic on the street. The king size bed was very comfy. Slept like a baby. Loved the free wirelress in the room which had no issues. Handy store right across the street for any food/snack/drink needs.

What Was Ok: Speaking of the bed, it certainly took up the majority of room space. While others have advised that smaller rooms are the norm in the city, it certainly is true. Small closet space and one suitcase had to sit on the desk. Tried the hot breakfast once and it is your typical hotel breakfast - nothing special. The breakfast area is small with limited seating. We went at 09:15 but had no issues finding a table.

What We Did Not Like: This is a narrow hotel with only 6 floors per room. With that, the room doors are very close. In the morning when a guest leaves their room, it is certainly a loud close sound of the doors closing. If you are an average sleeper, it will certainly awaken you. The room cleaning staff very much could have been better. On more than 1 occassion we had used towels taken away but not all returned. Went without drinking glasses on 2 occassions. The lack of a room safe and small fridge were things that would have been nice.

Hope you find this review useful. One thing about NYC is multiple hotel choices that can be a little overwhelming when choosing. Enjoy the city - we did!

Room Tip: LOL, contact all guests on your floor to close their doors quietly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blues911_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel Richland New York
Hotel Richland New York
#274 of 470 in New York City
707 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#202 of 470 in New York City
840 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#240 of 470 in New York City
1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
U Hotel Fifth Avenue
U Hotel Fifth Avenue
#290 of 470 in New York City
1,088 reviews
Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan/Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan...
#245 of 470 in New York City
419 reviews
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#143 of 470 in New York City
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue

Address: 21 West 37th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#99 Family Hotel in New York City
#174 Business Hotel in New York City
#183 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £126 - £463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for Empire State Building hotels choose Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan//Fifth Avenue, a top hotel in NYC located moments from the iconic Empire State building and near excellent Fifth Avenue shopping. Our hotel in New York City offers an unbeatable location in Midtown, close to Central Park, Times Square, the Broadway Theater District, Grand Central Terminal, and more. We provide convenient and comfortable accommodations that are ideal for business or leisure travel. Stay with us at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue and enjoy a preferred choice among Empire State Building hotels. Our accommodations offer free Wi-Fi, well-lit work desks, and plush bedding. Guests who stay with us also get a free daily breakfast, which offers just the fuel needed for a productive and enjoyable day in NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan / Fifth Avenue Hotel New York City
Fairfield Inn And Suites New York Manhattan / Fifth Avenue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing