We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base”
Review of Leo House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leo House
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Via tripadvisor we have booked Leo House. And it met up our expectation. Great beds and clean but very basic room. The location of the hotel is perfect; walking distance to almost everything. 20 min Times Square and 30 min Wall Street. If you don't want anything but a good bed and a good location, Leo House is perfect.

Thank Marjam B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

Catholic or not, the Leo House, a boutique hotel in the Chelsea area is an exceptional value! It is going through a complete renovation so it is a little noisy at 8 am but you should be down in the dining room at that time to partake in the wonderful full breakfast which is around 9 dollars. Great staff, laundry, chapel for those interested, and clean rooms. Few have full bath. Very nice patio and lovely living areas to get away from it all and enjoy a cup of coffee or read a book.
Can't wait to see the full renovation. We will be back.

No bar or full restaurant, but all are near by if needed.

Oh, they supply you with ear buds to let you get some sleep during the noisy periods. Be sure to ask for a completely renovated room or else be ready for blue paint tape waiting for paint. LOL. Worth it!

You will love Sister Kathleen!

Room Tip: Ask for the kind of room you really want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiveToEatInNewOrlean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I’ve been to NYC so many times and only found out about this place recently. Its undergoing a renovation at present and I was lucky enough to have one of these newly refurbished rooms. They are spotless clean, small but cozy and very basic. No frills, but in all fairness what do you want in NYC apart from a clean comfortable bed as you are out each day.

The Staff are friendly and efficient, helping you where ever they can, I like the idea of the secure entrance/exit.

The chapel is such a joy and complete solace, I didn’t have breakfast, but it looked lovely and also great value for money. The computer room is a real bonus for all guests to use, it’s a shame they don’t actually have a printer available behind reception for guests to print out tickets and travel documents. It would also add to their revenue as nobody would mind at all paying it’s just so convenient to have it all together.
The location is perfect, with many great restaurants and bars around, public transport close by and more or less everything in walking distance.

I’ll stay here again for sure

Room Tip: I recommend a room at the end of a corridor by the fire escape they are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dublinblueeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I say this with qualifications. But, I went online and and looked for a safe hotel for a woman traveling alone and this came out, for myself, to be a good experience. Unfortunately there really was not a lot of information, but, in my own experience a wonderful staff made this a very good stay. I do not travel afraid, only aware. To feel safe is to also better enjoy the experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MsShipra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Myself and my Dad stayed for a week just back today. Staff all lovely people. From reception to the cleaners really pleasent. Seriously needs a bit of updating (but they getting there). Our room was small bathroom outdated but very very clean and beds so comfortable and that most important thing. Also felt very safe there. No messers didnt hear any drunk or loud people in hotel. Slept at front so obviously get sirens and cars making noise ear plugs sorted that. Breakfast sausages and bacon not like home and maybe ye could get nicer brand. But eggs fruit coffee cereals all lovely. It did set us up for the day,would recommend this hotel to my friends as a great place to stay. Small things count and they did all the small things well. :)

Room Tip: Ask for a new refurbed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reillyoha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay in the Leo House Hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The family room consisted of two rooms with a bathroom, dated but spotless and very comfortable beds. A great safe neighbourhood and convenient to everything. We loved it and hope to get back again sometime. It books out very fast so you need to book it as soon as you know you are going.

Room Tip: Our room was in the front and one in the back. The front was a little noisier but this is newyork an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fionnuala M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Leo House is not a high-frills place, but it is comfortable and certainly long on character. I found the staff uniformly pleasant and friendly, and although the decor in my room was very dated it was comfortable and clean, with fluffy towels and decent linens. It was also quiet, being positioned at the back. The location of the guest house is excellent and the price of a room entirely reasonable. I enjoyed the buffet breakfast ($9 extra), and it was good to sit in the parlor talking to a colleague who met me there. Somewhat variable wifi but basically fine. I would definitely stay at the Leo House on my next visit to NYC.

Room Tip: Stay in a room away from the street if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 469 in New York City
11,586 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#409 of 469 in New York City
550 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#235 of 469 in New York City
4,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#225 of 469 in New York City
1,568 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 469 in New York City
7,244 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#259 of 469 in New York City
2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leo House

Address: 332 W 23rd St, New York City, NY 10011-2289
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 163 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range: £90 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Leo House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Leo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leo House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing