We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect choice for a girly SATC weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
East Village Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmslow, Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Perfect choice for a girly SATC weekend”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I rented the penthouse in order to take three of my best friends to NYC to celebrate my 40th birthday SATC style!
It was the perfect choice! So nice to be in an apartment rather than two hotel rooms! I visit NYC often & was determined to rent an apartment so we could experience the "New York City girl" lifestyle! The penthouse was spot on! Plenty of space, two bathrooms & three bedrooms between four of us & a great living/dining area upstairs, not to mention the amazing roof terrace where we spent many an hour quaffing fizz!
The decor is beautiful with lots of attention to detail. Very comfy beds & every amenity you could ask for. We loved the fact that we could pop to whole foods just a couple of blocks away to stock up for breakfast & thus really feel like a manhattanite!
The area is great. Perfect location for Soho where we spent lots of our time & easy enough to get anywhere in manhattan by subway though we tended to hail a cab at night due to ludicrously high heels! Nowhere was more than $15 including tip! As for the homeless people that past reviewers have mentioned, well we had no problem with them despite being four girls! Each morning we were greeted with a "hello, enjoy your day in the city" & when we went out at night we received many compliments & never once felt threatened. Truly some of the most charming men four dollies have encountered, & they just added to our experience of the big apple! It is a city after all, not the Home Counties of England!
The area is not quite as nice as Soho but it is up & coming with plenty of lovely little bars & restaurants/cafes. It certainly has more character than mid town Manhattan & the street where the apartments are based was classic NYC. We also didn't experience any noise.
We used Mali for transport which was great as she checked on our flights (which were late due to a fuel leak!) & knew where she was going! That meant that she was in touch with Sarah the manager who was there to meet us on arrival. As was a lovely man who helped take our considerable baggage up the stairs. He even made sure that the case of champagne went up first so that it could go straight in the fridge! Sarah was lovely, very helpful pre & during our stay & even left a bottle of wine in the fridge for my birthday!
Whilst the minimum stay was five nights & we could only stay for three this actually worked in our favour as it meant that the last day we could mooch around Soho & enjoy a last glass of fizz on the roof terrace before leaving for our flight back to London at 2100. Even paying for the five nights made it a more economical choice than a hotel due to the amount of space we got, not to mention the roof terrace! It meant that nobody got on top of each other & could get up & make a coffee without disturbing the others. We made quite a lot of use of the apartment as we weren't out all day sightseeing, rather mooching about & enjoying a girly weekend a la Carrie Bradshaw!
We all loved it! It was the perfect choice for the ultimate girl's weekend & we'd most definitely return! One request from future visitors.....please treat it with the respect that such a fabulous place deserves! It would be tragic if batchorlarette/ hen parties ruined it for other groups of girls wishing to rent it for an SATC weekend

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    62
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
175
23
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Six of us stayed in the garden apartment and had a great stay. The apartment comfortably accommodated all of us and had all of the amenities one could possibly need. We loved exploring the East Village and sampling the outrageous number of great restaurants nearby. Good access to subways and within walking distance of many of NYC's other great neighborhoods. Apartment management was extremely gracious and accommodating. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Zoegirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had 4 people staying in the “Sol” at The East Village apartments. Overall we had a fantastic time in NYC, loved the East Village area and surrounds, and would recommend others to stay here while in town… but… there is one large omission from the website which some people may have an issue with. It should be known that there is a YMCA type homeless shelter two doors down, so throughout the day there is often many drunk/drugged out vagrants wandering one end of the street. They tend to clear out by nightfall, and we didn't have any issues per say.. but still worth noting.

The apartment itself is well equipped and comfortable for 4 people, although we were really only there to sleep at night. One of the bedrooms is of adequate size while the other is very small. so many places to eat drink nearby, and subway is very close too.. All in all 4.5/5.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NB007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Excellent location and fab apartment. Close to subway and whole foods plus excellent local restaurants. Highly recommended xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Trickydicky21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We have just returned as a family from a wonderful 5 night stay in the Penthouse Apartment. The whole experience fully lived up to our expectations and we would definitely return another time. It was very enjoyable exploring a new part of the City with its diverse range of excellent restaurants and coffee shops. Having an apartment to return to after a tiring day and particularly the open terrace on the warmer days makes this a far preferable option to staying in a hotel. This is an area with a colourful history which is becoming more gentrified but still retains some grittiness. We had no problems with the rehabilitation centre nearby and indeed had a friendly encounter with one of the clients but can appreciate that some people might find this disconcerting.

Room Tip: We chose the Penthouse Apartment largely because of the large living room and its outside terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothesay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

we stayed in the "Sol" apt, 2 adults , 2 teens. great location, easy to get to subway,grocery,restaurants,shops. we felt safe; comfortable beds, clean and fun decor. kitchen was awesome, easy for breakfasts/lunches and take home food when tired at supper. staff were very helpful. all of us would go back in a sec, thoroughly enjoyed the neighbourhood:)

Room Tip: separate bedroom with queen, pull out king, 3rd bed queen with sliding door- adjacent to pull out. d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldsuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Booked for a family trip with the in laws. So much space! They had a room to themselves as did we and my brother in law had a choice where to sleep each night!
The best choice to feel like a real new yorker! Lots of places to eat and drink in walking distance. Subway also just up the road. Lots of space to eat in and relax.
We used Mali for both transfers with baggage collection, no problems at all.
So much better than a hotel! Loved this place would love to come back!
Rooms were clean and the decor was lovely!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louby81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#172 of 466 in New York City
684 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 466 in New York City
771 reviews
East Village
The Bowery Hotel
The Bowery Hotel
#186 of 466 in New York City
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#9 of 466 in New York City
455 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#15 of 466 in New York City
468 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#16 of 466 in New York City
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Village Apartments

Property: East Village Apartments
Address: East 3rd Street, New York City, NY 10003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 163 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Village Apartments are in a historic 1830's New York brownstone, in the hip East Village, a charming neighborhood in downtown Manhattan. Situated in the center of New York's artistic and intellectual life, it is within walking distance to bustling downtown with its myriad of restaurants, lively bars and great shopping. The four apartments have been exquisitely renovated to blend the comforts of a modern home in a historic atmosphere. The Penthouse sleeps 6-7, the Garden Duplex sleeps 8-9, Apartment Sol sleeps 5-6 and the Terrace Apartment sleeps 4. Together, they can accommodate up to 26 people in the same beautiful apartment house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your East Village Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Village Apartments Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing