We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value and a Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Ranked #237 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Value and a Great Stay”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We could not have asked for more. The room was immaculate and very comfortable. The breakfast was good with a variety of offerings. The staff was polite and efficient. We only stayed one night but the location was so good (within walking distance of Port Authority and near many restaurants) that we will book here later this Spring.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuffyMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Hello! Thank you so much for you kind words. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you in the Spring!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    979
    895
    300
    88
    64
See reviews for
847
553
125
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

First stay at the Hampton Inn in Manhattan. This was a very enjoyable stay as the staff was very accommodating and the location was convenient. The room was comfortable and clean and the breakfast was very enjoyable. The nice thing was that instead of having the same breakfast every day the facility varied the main course each day. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting NYC or the Times Square area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Hi there! Thank you so much for you kind words! We are thrilled to hear that you had a great stay!! We'd love to be your home away from home from here on out!! Hurry back!!!

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, MA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I cannot say enough good things about the entire staff at this location. From check in to check out and everyone in between, we were greeted with smiles and help and guidance. The concierge was most helpful in finding restaurants and telling us what subways to take, etc. The front desk staff was always smiling and helpful, even when they were dealing with a dissatisfied customer. The security staff went out of their way to open a door for me when I was carrying breakfast back to my room. Our car was brought from valet in a timely manner with a smiling valet. The breakfast buffet attendants went out of their way to get condiments and offered us bottled water. The location of the hotel was perfect for our needs those days. I have never stayed at a Hampton, but was totally impressed by your customer service. I work in the hospitality industry and wonder how we could get our employees so inspired! Thank you for the great experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank mobeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
We loved having you here!! Thank you for your kind words and for choosing us during your visit to NYC. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My family and I loved this place!! Friendly staff, clean facilities, delicious complimentary breakfast, excellent location, terrific rates!! You can't ask for more!! No parking (valet parking available, though), but who needs car anyways when everything is so close? One of the best things was the unexpected room upgrade! My daughter loved to be able to see the top of the Empire State Building from our window on the 21st floor. I recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a really nice hotel experience in Manhattan! We will be back, Hampton!!

Green Features: I love the fact that this hotel is environmentally-friendly, as this have to do with my philosophy of life!!
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecef75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Hello there! Thank you so much for taking the time out to review your stay with us! We really appreciate your kind words. We hope you hurry back and stay with us once again!!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I am blown away by this hotel. I stayed 3 nights in January. I cannot begin to express how impressed with this hotel. The hotel has the best staff I've ever experienced in Manhattan. I arrived early (around 11AM). The staff checked me in early with a smile on their face. After a long flight and getting thru Times Square, it was so nice to have a warm smile at check in. After Alexandria checked me in, she remembered me by name the entire time she was there. Very, very, very impressive! Nelson was working the front desk in the evenings. He also remembered me by name and made sure there was a leftover cookie for me (they are amazing!!). Nelson then gave me some great recommendations for dinner in the area. I had the pleasure of talking to SuEllen (spelling?) one of the evenings I was there. This lady takes the 100% satisfaction guarantee to heart. Her kindness definitely could be felt while interacting with her. Next, onto Monica. There is a bar next door (Tir na nOg). I went there and had a few more drinks than I probably should have. When I arrived at the hotel, Monica was so kind. She called me once I got to my room "to make sure I made it". We shared a few laughs and I got a great night sleep.

The rooms were spotless! Yes they are on the smaller side, but we are in the middle of Manhattan...what do you expect?! I was on the 28th floor and had some great water pressure, as well as hot water right away. I was impressed for being that far up.

Overall, this review is just the tip of the iceberg. I will do everything I can to stay here the next time I am in Manhattan. Thank you all for making my stay amazing!

Cordially,

T.J. Foster
Omaha, NE

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
You are such a gem!! Thank you so much for recognizing the staff and for the wonderful compliments. We love to make our guests happy and we are so glad that we succeeded!! Please come back soon!!! It was a pleasure having you here!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Putnam, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Great experience all around. The entire staff couldn't have been friendlier, delicious complementary breakfast each morning, varied content, coffee, tea, cocoa, hot cider all day long, cookies in the evening. Very handy location close to everything yet quiet during the night. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived and we were upgraded to a "view room" which made us the envy of our group. This after a wait of about 5 minutes. Our room was spotless, linens smelled like a spring day and although being on the 31st floor we never waited for an elevator. We will certainly use this great spot on our next trip to NYC.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Hello,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to NYC. We really appreciate your review and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Please come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLORIDA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Alex, the Bellman went overboard making me feel like a true welcomed guest. The Front Desk personell were equally as helpful and cordial. I will definetly stay there again. Clean, simple rooms, better than average breakfast and a staff that's extremely attentive and friendly!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRKNOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTS, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Hello and thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you choosing us for your stay in NYC. We hope you will visit us again for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#166 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,240 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#288 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#217 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#236 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square South
Comfort Inn Times Square South
#263 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Address: 337 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#136 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#148 Family Hotel in New York City
#179 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Times Square and wake up to all of the great attractions the city has to offer. The Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South is the perfect base for travelers looking to experience everything New York has to offer from concerts at Madison Square Garden to Broadway theatre productions and the works of the world’s most famous artists at the Museum of Modern Art. Walk to Central Park or hop on the subway and travel to other famous attractions throughout the city.When you return from a long day of experiencing all of the sights and sounds the city has to offer, you can relax in a clean and fresh Hampton bed® and send pictures to family and friends using our high speed internet. When you wake up you can enjoy our signature complimentary breakfast with free coffee and tea throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing