We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be staying there again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Ranked #247 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2014

My husband and I visited New York in July 2014 and stayed at the Hampton Inn for 6 nights. The hotel is located very close to Times Square, roughly a 5 minute walk. The rooms are extremely small, hardly any room to move, there are only two lifts in the hotel with a minimum of 10 minute wait to catch the lift up or down and was extremely frustrating.

The staff however were very friendly and accommodated us when we complained about a bad smell in the room and quickly organised for a room switch.

If we were to ever travel to NYC again, we would look to stay elsewhere and pay the same amount of money paid for a more comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee_junum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTS, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank you for your review. We are saddened to hear about the challenges faced during your stay. We appreciate your honesty and we will communicate these challenges with the appropriate department to ensure an immediate solution. Thank you for giving us a chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,084 - 1,090 of 2,476 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2014

This hotel is exceptionally small, with only about 5 rooms on each floor. Elevators take a while, so be patient. Arrive extra early for your breakfast to avoid a ridiculous crowd. The hotel is convenient for the Fashion District and the river cruises, and thats about it. There is a Starbucks nearby, but he bus lines are 2-3 long blocks away.

Showers are very narrow, A/C was troublesome and could stay consistent. No counter space for 2 people.

The positive - the bed was very comfortable, the staff was very nice and efficient, getting a cab at the door was really easy, and the coffee station was clean and well stocked.

Room Tip: Request a room on a floor with ice machine. We stayed on 16. Go to breakfast as early as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank WaterboyGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTS, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest feedback as this helps us remedy any internal challenges. Thank you again for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2014

I would like to address the negatives from other reviewers. Yes, the room and bath was quite small, but for people visiting the city to sightsee and not spend much time in their room (as one would in a resort, for example) it was fine. As for being a distance from the subway, the port authority station is only a block away. We are in our 60's and did not feel times square or other attractions were far at all. And what sights were a distance away, we just hopped on a subway. The bed was VERY comfortable, a huge plus. Being able to grab a quick breakfast (which we thought was good for a continental-type: even with eggs, meat & potato choices daily) in the hotel left us more time for exploring. All the staff were friendly, helpful and accomodating. The rate was reasonable and we would definitely stay here again. Hampton Inns have been very dependable.

Room Tip: I would agree rooms on a lower floor is a good idea since there are 39 some floors for the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTS, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Hello Daniel, thank you so much for the wonderful review!! It makes me so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much! I'm a big believer that it's the little things that make the biggest difference, 'Being able to grab a quick breakfast, the port authority station only a block away, a nice comfortable bed and of course our friendly staff is what makes Hampton. Thank you again for staying with us and please think of us again on your next trip to New York City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Stayed at Hampton Inn 337 west 39th street was a wonderful experience. Everything was great, couldn't believe there were 37 floors to this hotel coming from a Hampton Inn only having 98 room from where Im from thank you again and Breakfast was wonderful me and my sister had a great time. thanks again

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank bree5137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTS, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank you so much for the lovely review! I'm so very happy to hear that you and your sister enjoyed your stay with us! I really do hope that you and your family will come back to visit us again very soon! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Wow!! Totally blown away by the Hampton family love!! Very Very nice stay! Room and everything nice and clean. Breakfast was awesome! Room size typical for New York, but high quality furnishings. Love the pillows and mattresses! Great job for making us at home crew!!! I love you guys!!! W

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTS, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank you Wayne for the kind review! I'm so please to hear that my staff was able to make you feel so very welcome! One of strongest commitment is to provide the best possible customer service to our guests, I really do hope you can come back to stay with us again in the very near future! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I stayed here for a business trip and enjoyed the convenient location for both work and pleasure. I had a great rate considering the summer tourist season and was pleased with the service. I'd easily stay here again as the staff was very helpful in making arrangements on the fly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAXrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTS, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank you so much for the lovely review! It makes me so happy to hear that my staff was so very helpful to you and that our convenient location was perfect for your stay. Please think of us again on your next business trip to New York City! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Stayed two nights at this hotel and we weren't pleased with the facility itself. The location isn't bad if you don't mind a good walk to Times Square (hotel is actually in Hell's Kitchen, not Times Square) or to a subway stop. Changed rooms and each room we occupied had issues. The staff was extremely helpful from the point of the lost reservation through the room change. If they had a top notch facility, this review would have been 5 stars.

Room Tip: The lower floors were fine as 39th St doesn't have a high amount of traffic. None of the rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank OHBoy614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTS, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share this detailed feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our service and appointment and apologize we were unable to meet your needs throughout your stay. We hope you can give us a second chance in the near future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#159 of 469 in New York City
5,543 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#292 of 469 in New York City
2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#155 of 469 in New York City
2,208 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#146 of 469 in New York City
2,007 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#152 of 469 in New York City
5,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Address: 337 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#134 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#144 Family Hotel in New York City
#175 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £110 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Times Square and wake up to all of the great attractions the city has to offer. The newly renovated Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South is the perfect base for travelers looking to experience everything New York has to offer from concerts at Madison Square Garden to Broadway theatre productions and the works of the world’s most famous artists at the Museum of Modern Art. Walk to Central Park or hop on the subway and travel to other famous attractions throughout the city. When you return from a long day of experiencing all of the sights and sounds the city has to offer, you can relax in a clean and fresh Hampton bed® and stay connected using our high speed internet. When you wake up you can enjoy our signature complimentary breakfast with free coffee and tea throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing