We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Ranked #235 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 1 January 2010

We stayed one night here, it had just opened so I think we were the first people to stay in the room! The hotel itself is a highrise but has a small footprint so has only about five or six rooms per floor! The room itself was really tiny but very nice, clean and comfortable. The staff were all very polite and very helpful with our valet parking etc. Our car was taken to a car park somewhere and we cabbed it arund the city. This hotel is really clean and is a very good value in NYC! All in all a great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nsjetsetters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    967
    884
    296
    85
    62
See reviews for
839
544
122
360
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2009

The room was smaller than I expected but apparently this is how it is in NYC. The room was clean and comfy and had classy decor. Really enjoyed my stay; especially being within walking distance of the Port Authority bus station which is how I traveled. The breakfast was more than I am use too...had both hot and cold food. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel and come back.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjayBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2009

I stayed at this Hampton Inn in late December coming in via train from Boston and having to Overnight for a flight out of JFK in the morning. The check in was quick and efficient in a lobby that is tiny as is everything in this hotel. I stayed on the 28th floor. The floor must have 6- 8 rooms max. Good thing because there are only two elevators.

The room was "New York small" but clean and comfortable - although it was cold and the thermostat did not really adjust the heat much at all. The double beds were comfortable. There is not much room to move around and two people cannot move about freely without crowding the other.

The hotel is on 39th street between 8th and 9th. Not a pretty street at all. But few are in this part of town. There are other hotels on the block, but they are the holiday inn and courtyard variety. If the weather is good everything is within walking distance, especially if you plan to take in a show or two. I won't stay for breakfast so no comments on that.

This is a basic place to stay that is clean comfortable and cheaper than other locations. If I were staying more than a night I might have a different opinion, but for a short stay I would come back IF I intended to be out of the room except to sleep.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cyberi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2009

I thought this hotel was down right awful after reading the reviews. My stay was total opposite. During my stay, ALL of the employees were professional, nice and willing to assist us in anyway. Yes, the rooms are small, but it didn't matter to us. We (three ladies) left our room about 10am and didn't return until after midnight. We didn't go to NYC to stay in the room. We also saved lots of money by eating breakfast at the hotel. We were able to have great dinners due to the money we saved. We also felt safe with the hotel's location. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsTab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2009

While it's not in the greatest neighborhood (near Port Authority and closer to 9th than 8th Avenue), it is reasonably close to the Times Square and midtown action in Manhattan. Check-in/Reception was quick and friendly and the room was nice and more than adequate in size. Appreciated the free wireless in the room and the free--and pretty extensive--breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asrosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2009

Our room was clean, and nicely appointed. Small, but to be expected given the location. VERY comfortable beds. Staff were friendly and responsive.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sozar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2009

This hotel was perfect! The room was beautiful, clean, and comfortable. The staff was very nice and accomadating. The location is great, a little busy, but that's what you come to New York for.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#167 of 467 in New York City
5,176 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#276 of 467 in New York City
2,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#215 of 467 in New York City
1,816 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#241 of 467 in New York City
1,817 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square South
Comfort Inn Times Square South
#264 of 467 in New York City
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Address: 337 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#136 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#148 Family Hotel in New York City
#179 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Times Square and wake up to all of the great attractions the city has to offer. The Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South is the perfect base for travelers looking to experience everything New York has to offer from concerts at Madison Square Garden to Broadway theatre productions and the works of the world’s most famous artists at the Museum of Modern Art. Walk to Central Park or hop on the subway and travel to other famous attractions throughout the city.When you return from a long day of experiencing all of the sights and sounds the city has to offer, you can relax in a clean and fresh Hampton bed® and send pictures to family and friends using our high speed internet. When you wake up you can enjoy our signature complimentary breakfast with free coffee and tea throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing