We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,758)
Filter reviews
2,758 results
Traveller rating
1,129
1,052
368
116
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,129
1,052
368
116
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviews times square new york free breakfast the breakfast area port authority hot breakfast javits center rooms are small yogurt breakfast staff penn station front desk staff business center would stay here again convenient location clean hotel few blocks
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 2,758 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this property which is on 39 th street. The only advantage of the hotel is that it's closer to times square. The location is crowded most time of the day. I would recommend people to stay in uptown area near Central park, which is a better area. Hotel is in an old building with old elevator. Many times we had to wait for 15 minutes to get an elevator to come down. A very small reception area with very tiny dining area for breakfast considering the number of rooms it had. One has to wait for atleast 20 minutes to get a seat in the breakfast area. With not many vegetarian options other then fruits and cereals, the breakfast was very ordinary. Also the breakfast was offered in paper plates and cups which is not expected from brand like Hampton by Hilton. I have stayed at Hampton even in central London where the breakfast was very nice comparatively with baked beans, cheese, breads, hash browns for vegetarian guests. Also the plates were not of paper. However the staff helped us in re heating our own food items carried with us. The rooms were very small with no place to move around with luggage. Bathrooms were also very small. Overall our stay was not very comfortable.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank AmitBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-HiltonHelp, on behalf of management at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Dear AmitBK,

We appreciate your review of your recent stay at our hotel and are very sorry you had a disappointing experience with us. We’ve addressed these issues with our staff. Satisfaction Guaranteed is the foundation of our brand promise. Your feedback helps us improve. Thank you once again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

We stayed here 1 night pre-cruise. The hotel is in a great location just a couple of blocks away from the theaters and Times Square.
The staff were so friendly and helpful, always had smiles on their faces and provided advice for our night on the town.
The hotel is very tall but narrow, so there were only 6 rooms on each floor, with 2 elevators in between. The hallways were tight especially with a lot of luggage. There could sometimes be a long wait for the elevators especially during breakfast and at hotel check out time.
The rooms were nicely appointed, clean and everything was in good working condition. The beds were comfortable and they provided extra pillows upon our request.
The bathroom is very tiny, they even had to carve out the door to get it to shut and not hit the sink. The shower stall is long but it's width is narrow, we kept hitting our elbows on the shower door and wall handlebar.
The gym is small, if you use it, go during off hours so there won't be a wait.
Overall, we enjoyed our time there and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lurcherm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Lurcherm,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your experience with us. The staff and I pride ourselves on the customer service that we provide and I am glad that you were able to witness that first hand.

Thank you again for staying with us, We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

I stayed here for one night after wrapping up a business trip to NYC, and was pleasantly surprised by how quiet this property was, considering how centrally it's located. I had a room on the 22nd floor and maybe heard one siren during the whole night. I had a 2 block walk to my theater, which was perfect as it started to rain during my short walk back. The room itself was quite small (two people would have been a squeeze) but it was perfect for a solo, one night stay. If you are just looking for a base to do some sightseeing and take in a show, this is a great place to pick.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichiganderAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear MichignaderAbroad,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, It brings us great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed yourself while you were here (despite the rain) during your walk back from the theater.

Thank you again for staying with us, We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Henry L
Front Office Manager
Hampton Inn Times Square South.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

This hotel is in NYC so I wasn’t expecting an inexpensive room and I was not expecting a large room. So paying a bit and the room size was not an issue.

The hotel is SMALL in size. The bedroom, the shower is EXTREMELY tight.

The biggest issue aside from the wet carpet and leaking shower were the elevators. YOU NEED MORE ELEVATORS IN THIS HOTEL. The place was packed and there were TWO elevators servicing 31 floors. That’s crazy. You wait so long for an elevator, sometimes Having to wait for another one due to them being full.

I wouldn’t stay here again because of how small/tight the hotel is and the elevator situation.

Breakfast was ok...but again, not a lot of room to move around bc they hardly even have space for the tables which do not accommodate nearly enough people. It just feels crammed in the all the time.

The staff was fine. I had no issues with them and found them to be quite nice. I didn’t complain about these issues bc there is really nothing they can do about it, it’s mostly due to location.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank aconnell28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Aconnell28,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Sorry to hear that our New York size hotel rooms were a little too tight for you, however we hope that our commitment to provide every guest with superior accommodations and service can make us for that. We hope that you continue to choose us as your hotel of choice for the next time you decide to return to the Big Apple.

Sincerely,

Henry L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here. Lovely hotel in a great location. Housekeeping could have been a little more on top of their game. They left dirty sheets on the bed which should have been changed. That was the only bad experience but it was enough to color my opinion.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Dana S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, I am deeply sorry that you encountered this issue with housekeeping. We have definitely have these matters addressed.

Thank you again for staying with us, we hope to see you again.

Henry L
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews