We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Distrikt is Perfekt!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #65 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 May 2011

- Large room with really beautiful furniture
- Nice bathroom with strong shower
- Helpful staff
- The location is great - not far from Time Square

Go there!!! Best hotel in New York. It's fresh and new! We're going back in July :)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisBros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,995 - 4,001 of 5,456 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2011

My fiancee and I stayed at this hotel for 10 nights from the 6th of December 2010. We found the hotel very good for the price we paid. As most hotels in New York, the room was small, but ok for 2 people and probably large for the standards of New York. Whilst the service was friendly, the bathroom amenities we not replaced on some days and the toilet flush broke, which these things happen sometimes but it took about five calls to the front desk and a few hours to get someone up to fix it when they said they would be 'straight up there to fix it'. This was unfortunate as the hotel is fairly new and good for the price in New York and is also in a great location. We recommend the hotel only if you can get it at a good price.

Room Tip: Get a good price or go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dasscotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We booked 6 nights (2 doubles)at the Distrikt Hotel directly on their web site with their Advance purchase option.
The rooms are very clean and reasonably comfortable, however they are on the small side particularly with 4 people (2 adults & 2 kids aged 10 & 12) staying in the room. We stayed on the 14th floor - it was relatively quiet however our views were nothing special(looked over the car park).
We liked the boutique size (small & cozy) of the hotel and it was conveniently located to most of the major attractions (ie Macy's, Times Square, Hells Kitchen etc..). The free internet, WiFi, Coffee (morning) & Hot Apple Cider (evenings) were also a nice touch. The staff also seemed to be very friendly.
Like most of the other comments on Trip Advisor, the street that the hotel is located in nothing flash however as we were travelling with children the main priority was that it was safe (day and night) which it was!!
The only negative comment (which might sound strange) was that the beds themselves. Although comfortable we all seemed to get very 'hot' during the night and most nights we slept on top of the sheets. I am not sure if the mattresses were made from latex however they could be improved.
Overall the experience was very good and would recommend this to other travellers - probably couples or small families (ie 3 people).

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zorro2426134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Just back from a fabulous 5 night stay in NYC. Having booked the flights over 8 months ago, I then spent about another 2 weeks researching hotels and finally decided on the Distrikt. So glad we chose this wonderful hotel for our first visit to NYC. All the staff without exception were very helpful, knowledgeable and cheerful. I telephoned the hotel prior to our stay just to re-confirm as it had been so long since we first made our booking and was told that we had been upgraded to a Grand View King! The room, 30th floor with views of the Hudson, was everything we had hoped for and more and above all CLEAN.

I know many Tripadvisor reports have mentioned the hotels’ proximity to the Port Authority Bus Terminal and Parole Office, but it is also close to Times Square, Theatre District, Subway and lots of restaurants, not to mention 3 other hotels – so please do not let this put you off.

Finally, we would like to say a big thank you to all the staff and keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donkeytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Distrikt is a slender poem of hotel. It's jazz. A lean affair on West 40th, between 8th and 9th, the hotel is New York's better self—no clutter, no vamp, no Bling. Just thirty-odd floors of restrained urban chic. It's a synecdoche for the city. Okay, so the rooms are small, if handsome: but this is New York, right. You're not here to sit in the jacuzzi. There's a desk and a great bed and enough light coming through the window to make you want to get out and see where it's coming from. The hotel gives you about the best value you're likely to get for decent accommodation so close to all the action; my room cost me about $200 a night. If you can find a smarter hotel on the island for less, check in. Me: I'm heading back to Distrikt. Architecture, budgets, and poetics aside, Distrikt is the best because the gracious and beautiful people behind the front desk don't treat you like this is clearly your first time in the big city. What's delightful about the warmth, intelligence and generosity of all the staff, is that this is New York, and you don't really expect it, and you'd probably stay here even if they were rude. The hotel features a neat little restaurant and bar. I can't speak for the breakfasts, but I can tell you that Leo, the barman, is not only a maestro with the mixer, but quite possibly an angel. My advice: book fast and book often. And when you find the bar, ask Leo to surprise you. You'll never have tasted anything so good. Distrikt is like that, too—top to bottom. Affordable sophistication, and a delightful sting in the tail. For a place as grown up as it is, it doesn't even begin to take itself as seriously as it might. Distrikt is a small hotel that's a whole lot bigger on the inside than the outside.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marktredinnick62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

My daughter and I enjoyed our first trip to NYC . Our stay at The Distrikt was fantastic! The rooms were beautiful and clean and location...just a short walk to Times Square was ideal!
Service was wonderful and staff was very helpful.
We only ate there one time for breakfast, but it was very good.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.
Our trip to NYC was amazing, we would love to visit again!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda5667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

This is a fantastic hotel. The location cannot be beat. It may be on the higher end price wise, but for the time we saved because of the location (used cabs only at night time) it was worth it. The room was very very clean and the beds very comfy. Instead of typical hotel lines there were duvets which made me feel right at home. There are only 4 rooms to a floor so at night it was so quiet. The staff very helpful, made reservations, gave directions, and made recommendations in a friendly manner. Will absolutely return when I come to NYC again, Times Square and the subway (and almost everything) are a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirkie1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#86 of 469 in New York City
462 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#279 of 469 in New York City
11,701 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#45 of 469 in New York City
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#78 of 469 in New York City
1,070 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 469 in New York City
3,141 reviews
Midtown
TRYP New York City Times Square South
TRYP New York City Times Square ...
#175 of 469 in New York City
3,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £141 - £394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Splitty, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing