We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in New York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #69 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 August 2011

A hotel which 100% delivers in value for money and service. Not in the most atrractive street in Town, but neverhteless, there were always plenty of people around and on the flip side if you want to use public transport, the bus station in right across the street. We stayed in a standard room on the lower floors which was absolutely fine with comforable beds and a large walk-in shower with constant hot water. Should you want a decent view, book a superior room on the higher floors. A bonus at this hotel is that there seems to be only 5 rooms on each floor, so it's nice and quiet. You need to use your room card to activate the lift which is a great security feature. Another huge plus was the free-wifi in all rooms, an absolute godsend when you're up at 5am on the first morning of your stay due to the time difference!! There's a nice small bar with a very knowledgable bartender and the reception area staff are so very helpful which is not always the case in New York! Times Sqaure is just a few minutes walk away and nearby 9th Avenue has some great restaurants. All in all, an exceptional choice for me, but for anyone who want's an olde worlde style New York Hotel, this is not the one for you. Will be back soon!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank UncleBulgaria15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2011

We are thankful for such wonderful guests and gracious feedback! The complimentary WiFi is available for all of our guests because we realize the importance in keeping in contact with home and continuing your travel research while already in the city. For those that do not have a mobile device, we offer Mac computers in our lobby, which also have printing capabilities.

Our Collage Bistro & Bar is a great stop for guests prior to the start of their night ‘out on the town’ or after returning from a long day of exploring or a Broadway show. Our knowledgeable bartenders are able to create one of the drinks from our customized menu or share one of their own personalized concoctions! These delicious drinks (along with a selection of local beers and wines) are available to order along with our food selections every night. We are so happy you were able to take advantage of our restaurant and we hope you are able to return on your next trip to New York City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,754 - 3,760 of 5,369 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2011

This is our second time staying at this hotel. This is a great quality space and comfort for your money. The staff is really helpful and the rooms are clean and fresh. I hope they manage to keep this hotel at the same standard in the future :) We had a great time :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisBros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2011

One of the things that we’ve pride ourselves in is that we’ve only improved on our guest services and amenities since the Distrikt opened in February 2010. We certainly plan on continuing this trend in the future and hope that you are able to come back and visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

This hotel is fantastic! It's in a great location, the staff are so friendly and helpful, the decor is lovely, it is incredibly clean and it offers great value for money. What more could you ask for?!
I was slightly nervous about its location having read some of the previous reviews but it was absolutely fine, we didn't have any problems. There's a great little pizza place just down the road called Capizzi's and various diners nearby where you can get a good breakfast (Theatre Row on W42nd and the Westway Diner on 9th Ave just north of W43rd).
I hope to go back to New York again some time in the future, and will definitely choose the Distrikt Hotel as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spandauspanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2011

We can’t thank you enough for such a wonderful review! We are overjoyed that you were able to indulge in the nearby fare, including Capizzi – our favorite local pizza restaurant and one of the best American-styled diners in Midtown – Westway Diner.

There are many other restaurants within the Hells Kitchen area that we highly recommend and we hope you’re able to return in the near future to try those as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Stayed here last summer on a 5 day solo trip to NYC. It was my 3rd trip to the city but the 1st on my own. I wanted to stay somewhere central and safe, with modern amenities and a comfy bed, without paying through the nose, and this ticked all the boxes. I booked through booking.com and it cost £144 per night.

Its located in the Garment District, next to Hells Kitchen, behind the Bus Authority terminal and is a 5 min walk to Times Square on W 40th St. There are a number of restaurants and deli's close by.

The room was big enough for just me, and although fine for a couple just wanting somewhere to sleep etc, with a comfy large bed and a decent TV, I had clean/modern bathroom with good shower, and I got a quiet nights sleep. There is free wifi as well as 3 iMacs to use down in the lobby. There's also free tea/coffee/squash in the lobby to help yourself to. There was a restaurant/bar but I didn't use it, it was always quiet. I tended to pop out for breakfast en route to my days activities (can recommend Dean & Deluca's New York Times Café - http://www.deandeluca.com/Aboutus/Default.aspx?id=190&selItemId=190&parentItemId=14). On the last day I took a taxi from the hotel to the Bayonne cruise port which cost me $90 with the tip.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TurnersTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2011

Our Midtown location is perfect for those traveling with a family, a loved one, or by themselves. We have a close proximity to multiple transportation hubs as well as restaurants, convenience stores, convention centers, shopping, cruise ports, and tourist attractions. Options on how to spend your time in New York are endless (almost requiring another trip)!

Our Queen and King Bed rooms are perfect for the traveling person or couple, while our Double Bed rooms are available for groups of three to four persons. We encourage our potential guests to contact us with any questions that would help with choosing the perfect room type for their stay.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and your trip to New York City! We also hope that you had a nice time on your cruise and that you are able to return to the Distrikt in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

This was our 1st time staying at a smaller hotel and we were not disapointed. The staff always greeted you with a smile and an offer of help if needed. The room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. We will definitely return in future visits to New York.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mula1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2011

The dedication of our staff is amazing and we are so glad you recognized this in your comment. We hope that your travels bring you back to New York City and the Distrikt Hotel in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

This hotel is a haven of calm amongst the chaos that is New York! We stayed here for 6 nights in the middle of the recent heatwave and it was bliss to walk through the door and be greeted with an iced tea, along with a friendly greeting from the doormen. All the staff were very welcoming and our room maid deserves a special mention for going out of her way to make sure our room was cleaned in the evening on the day we forgot to take the 'do not disturb' sign off the door!
Our bedroom was very well equipped - not a very big room but not so small that it was cramped. Lovely big shower though which was a bonus after a day in the sweltering heat of the city.
We were a bit concerned about the area, having read a few previous posts, but can honestly say that we did not feel any more unsafe there than anywhere else in NY. Being close to the Port Authority Bus Station (and Metro link) turned out to be a bonus. We visited Woodbury Common Outlet Centre by coach and it was great to only have to drag our (many) shopping bags across the road on our return!
Our only criticism of the hotel is the breakfast buffet, which was very disappointing. The service was good and the choice reasonable but the quality of food was poor, with most of the bakery items stale and inedible. There is a huge selection of good eateries in the surrounding area though so it wasn't a problem finding somewhere to get a good breakfast.
Should we return to NY in the future, we would definitely consider booking this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CockyCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Distrikt hotel for our birthday. OMG--what a nice place. Nothing to look at on the outside but our room was wonderful! The beds were extremely comfortable (and I'm picky about beds), the room was large and wonderfully furnished and the views were spectacular! We were about 3 blocks from all the Broadway plays and had the best Italian meal just around the corner. The staff was helpful and friendly and they even sent us up birthday cupcakes! I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The higher, the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank horsewomanPenryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2011

We are so glad that you were able to attend a Broadway show while staying with us! We are located right next to the Theater District, which contains most of the shows offered in the city. Our Front Desk agents can help with purchasing tickets for any show you would like to attend, while offering suggestions on how to receive a possible discount. We highly encourage our guests to attend a Broadway or Off-Broadway show while visiting – they are all amazing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#85 of 469 in New York City
441 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 469 in New York City
1,060 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 469 in New York City
3,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#81 of 469 in New York City
1,029 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel Times Square
Cassa Hotel Times Square
#124 of 469 in New York City
1,224 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#151 of 469 in New York City
5,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £140 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotelopia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing