We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #69 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 August 2011

A small hotel by NY standards and that's its charm. Only 6 rooms per floor so very quiet and the rooms nicely appointed with fabulous bathrooms and comfy beds. Great location - 5 mins from Times Sq and nice helpful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMC62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Thank you for such a gracious review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our boutique hotel and look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,749 - 3,755 of 5,369 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2011

My 12 year old daughter and I spent 5 days in NYC. The Distrikt hotel was perfect for us. The beds were comfortable and the room was beautiful and extremely clean. I personally found the rooms noisy at night from the air conditioner and the street noise (I am used to sleeping on a quiet street) but it was easily dealt with using ear plugs that I carry. We ate breakfast downstairs a couple of times ... it was fine but nothing great. The location is fantastic. It was a quick walk to the subway and a quick walk to Times Square. I will definitely recommend this hotel to others going to NYC.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimosabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We were met last evening by really nice staff, and again today, everyone has been really gracious and kind. Need any help in the Lobby? Look for Joseph, who is quietly efficient and kind
Whoever planned this hotel really knows what they are doing. Everything lovely and fresh and new-feeling in the attractively furnished room, delicious brownies from a NY bakery awaiting to greet us along with a welcome letter (that actually sounded sincere) that included the password for access to the great MAC flat screens (three of them) in the lobby for guest use. Chocolates on the pillows, lush towels and easy-to-use great shower

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AussieTraveller6867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The Distrikt Hotel is located on 40th between 8th and 9th ave. A good location in the theatre district for fine\moderate dining. The only drawback is the bus station that is directly in front of the hotel, thankfully juust the side wall and not the main entrance. The front desk and lobby are quaint with personnel that are extremely polite, informative and helpful. There are 3 MAC computers available to access the internet, e-mail or to print off a boarding pass. Safety is important. You cannot ride an elevator without a room card. Rooms are very clean and large enough for a king size bed. Washroom has a shower, magnified mirror and bright lighting. Had many good night sleeps in the comfortable bed and did not hear my neighbours at all. Starbucks, Dean and Deluca nearby for quick brekky and favorite restaurants Becco, Amarone and Southern hospitality just a short walk away. Once you've eaten, you can catch a show at the nearby theatres.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

My boyfriend and I did a split trip, from Boston to NYC. In Boston, we stayed with a friend, but in New York, we stayed here, based on the wonderful reviews and the great special through TripAdvisor.

Let's start with the cons, since they are fairly insignificant.
- The location isn't TOO great. It's not right IN Times Square, but it's close enough. Close to a subway station, too. However, the street it's on is a tiny bit sketchy, but you can kind of expect that. It feels a little unsafe at night, but there's usually a ton of people around.
- The hotel looks small, particularly in the lobby. This is not the case with the rooms!
- The restaurant/bar is not very private and the hours are strange. Breakfast was okay and not complimentary, but it wasn't a huge deal. Most of the time, we weren't even up early enough to have breakfast!
- We had a long wait before we could actually check in to our room, but that's because we took a very early train in, so it wasn't too bad.
- Though you couldn't hear the outside noise, you could definitely hear the slamming doors in the hall.
- Our view wasn't that great, but we were up high enough that if we looked out from the right angle, we could see the city. We didn't spend much time looking out the window, though.

The pros!
- The hotel staff are very, very friendly and helpful. And I mean every single member, from the desk to the cleaners, to the bar and restaurant. Particularly, we enjoyed the French bartender, who was happy to mix any drink and to talk about anything, even late at night.
- You could tell other guests were pleased with their stay. They were friendly, too! We had nice conversations with some at the bar and a sweet (drunk) couple offered to share a pizza with us. Ahaha!
- The fixtures are so new and do not look cheap! Lovely decor and it's not cheesy or a dark boutique, like most others I've seen.
- Very clean!
- Not only was the room, big, but the bathroom was huge! Plenty of counter space for my many toiletries and hair products.
- Very comfy bed. We didn't want to leave it!
- Complimentary WiFi and a drink at the bar is not a bad deal.

I feel bad that my boyfriend did some sleep-eating and ended up getting chocolate all over the sheets. Hope they were able to recover those!

Thanks for the lovely stay, Distrikt. We'll be back when we can. :)

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nchiazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

A hotel which 100% delivers in value for money and service. Not in the most atrractive street in Town, but neverhteless, there were always plenty of people around and on the flip side if you want to use public transport, the bus station in right across the street. We stayed in a standard room on the lower floors which was absolutely fine with comforable beds and a large walk-in shower with constant hot water. Should you want a decent view, book a superior room on the higher floors. A bonus at this hotel is that there seems to be only 5 rooms on each floor, so it's nice and quiet. You need to use your room card to activate the lift which is a great security feature. Another huge plus was the free-wifi in all rooms, an absolute godsend when you're up at 5am on the first morning of your stay due to the time difference!! There's a nice small bar with a very knowledgable bartender and the reception area staff are so very helpful which is not always the case in New York! Times Sqaure is just a few minutes walk away and nearby 9th Avenue has some great restaurants. All in all, an exceptional choice for me, but for anyone who want's an olde worlde style New York Hotel, this is not the one for you. Will be back soon!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank UncleBulgaria15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2011

We are thankful for such wonderful guests and gracious feedback! The complimentary WiFi is available for all of our guests because we realize the importance in keeping in contact with home and continuing your travel research while already in the city. For those that do not have a mobile device, we offer Mac computers in our lobby, which also have printing capabilities.

Our Collage Bistro & Bar is a great stop for guests prior to the start of their night ‘out on the town’ or after returning from a long day of exploring or a Broadway show. Our knowledgeable bartenders are able to create one of the drinks from our customized menu or share one of their own personalized concoctions! These delicious drinks (along with a selection of local beers and wines) are available to order along with our food selections every night. We are so happy you were able to take advantage of our restaurant and we hope you are able to return on your next trip to New York City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

This is our second time staying at this hotel. This is a great quality space and comfort for your money. The staff is really helpful and the rooms are clean and fresh. I hope they manage to keep this hotel at the same standard in the future :) We had a great time :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisBros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2011

One of the things that we’ve pride ourselves in is that we’ve only improved on our guest services and amenities since the Distrikt opened in February 2010. We certainly plan on continuing this trend in the future and hope that you are able to come back and visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#85 of 469 in New York City
441 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 469 in New York City
1,060 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 469 in New York City
3,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#81 of 469 in New York City
1,029 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel Times Square
Cassa Hotel Times Square
#124 of 469 in New York City
1,224 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#151 of 469 in New York City
5,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £140 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing