We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel For Our Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #76 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Hotel For Our Honeymoon”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Back in October my wife and I booked into the Distrikt Hotel in NYC for our Honeymoon. We were recommend this hotel by friends of ours and I had concerns by being so close to the Port Authority but I was wrong this is a great hotel in a great location.

When we arrived the initial impression you got was how welcoming the front of house staff were, more so than any other NYC hotel that i have stayed in!! And i have stayed in a few. They asked how we were how was our trip etc but you could feel the warmth in their questions. The check in process was seamless and before we new it we were on our way to our room. The room was beautiful and far bigger than normal NYC shoe boxes. The decor of the room was lovely, light walls with dark wood furniture - big bed and bigger tv !! Mini bar, great coffee machine in the room and space!!! The room and bathroom was clean, there was a chocolate on the pillow when we got back in the evening and a weather report for the next day free internet/wifi. Its little things like this that make the stay more memorable and enjoyable. In addition to the above the local knowledge of the staff was great able to tell us were to go to eat with great recommendation and just helpful advice. Anytime we came back to the hotel we got a hello, and asked how our day went which is nice.

As they say in property its location, location, location. And this is true with the Distrikt Hotel, right next to the Port Authority where you can hope on buses going to outlet centres like Woodbury Common etc, or tours of the City. Easy access to the Subway any attraction or location is not that far away, or with an easy transfer. You are about a 5 minute walk away from Time Square, great if you have shows/dinner booked like we did.

I couldn’t fault the hotel, staff location etc on any level!! If you are looking for a great hotel in NYC to stay were you feel like you are getting value you for money and more importantly that you feel wanted rather than just being a number then this is the place to stay. I cannot speak to highly of the place!!!!

Room Tip: Access for a room in the top floors with a view of the city and Hudson. You could see the Empire St...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,500
    1,359
    256
    38
    22
See reviews for
1,025
2,604
245
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,049)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Balloch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We arrived at 12:30 lunch time a bit early,but our room was ready.Check in took just a few mins.Our room was as shown in pictures.Left our luggage and went out and about.Just a couple of minutes from Times Square,took the city sightseeing tour bus downtown and spent a few hours just watching the various sights.Did not eat in the hotel so cannot comment on food.We stayed for four nights and enjoyed ourselves in The Big Apple.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sengaburt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We spent 4 nights at the Distrikt, arriving very late after a snowstorm got us diverted to Bangor, Maine before finally arriving in NY. The staff were charming, smiling and helpful. Good sized rooms for New York, well appointed (and a great view). Good shower, although would have loved a bath after walking for hours but I understand rooms with bath tubs are rare. Lovely toiletries, only tiny niggle would be that a shower cap (I know, very old fashioned) would have been useful as the shower head cannot really be moved from its high position.

Fabulous linen and comfortable bed. Breakfasts are served with a smile and relatively good value for NY hotels. We'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: The higher, the better. 01 rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caratania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Recently returned from a 4 night stay at the Distrikt Hotel and it was great! Couldnt recommend it highly enough. We were there to celebrate a birthday and our engagement and they really looked after us. Our room was great, plenty of room, great bathroom. Absolutely nothing about this hotel/service that you could find fault with. Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LDN2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We choose this hotel after reading the positive reviews on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately we were a bit disappointed. Overall the hotel was lovely but there were a few little things that affected our stay. Check in was pretty quick and we were in our room within 5 minutes of arriving. We liked that you had to scan your room key before the lift would move, no-one could just walk off the street and get to the rooms. As we gathered before we went, the hotel is small with just 4 rooms on each floor. We found the room to be rather small, even for New York standards. There wasn't much storage space for 2 people staying for 5 nights. The bathroom was also a bit small, not even really big enough for 2 people to stand side by side! The room was clean and the bed was really comfortable. Unfortunately our room was next to the service closet which meant that we were woken up on a couple of mornings when the staff were getting out the cleaning equipment, at least this meant we were awake when they started vacuuming! One morning we had the 'Do Not Disturb' sign on the door but the cleaner still knocked on the door. She apologised but the sign was on there for a reason! However all the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. At the end of our stay we were able to leave our bags at the hotel and they let us go into the restaurant to sort our bags out before getting a taxi to the airport. There are a few positives and a few negatives about the location of the hotel. The hotel is only a few minutes to the nearest subway and 8th Avenue with plenty of places to get food and souvenirs. And it's not too far from Times Square. It is right next door to the Port Authority Bus Station which is a positive and negative. It's perfect if you're getting a bus but it means that there are homeless people begging for money and taxi drivers asking if you need a taxi. I did feel a did intimitated walking along the street to and from the hotel at both day and night, partly due to the Parole Office on the same street. It felt a bit out of the way for us.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room on the higher floors, hopefully the view will be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveW13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Distrikt Hotel. We were travelling with a 9 month old baby and this hotel was the first in the USA that had our travel cot waiting for him. Amazing shower and bathroom, fantastic products, big TV, comfortable bed. We used room service a bit and the menu and the food isn't the best match like for like description, but eating at the hotel was a last resort anyway. Breakfast was lovely and very reasonably priced, as we didn't have a package that included it. I wish that they provided milk for the tea and coffee machine and we were a little disappointed that the fridge was only a minibar - difficult for travel with a baby - but the ordered us a kettle to the room which was much appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We stayed here from 29th oct for four nights and I cannot recommend it highly enough. Fact. There were 8 in our group and we all felt that the service was second to none. The staff at front desk couldn't have been more helpful, printing off restaurant recommendations, giving directions and weighing a lot of ladies suitcases to allow redistribution of weight!! And the daily spiced apple cider is now legendary!! Rooms immaculately clean and warm, location ideal for exploring downtown and we really felt well looked after for the duration of our trip. This really was the icing on the cake for our once in a lifetime big family trip to NYC!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weejuleso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
1,000 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#74 of 467 in New York City
383 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
2,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#130 of 467 in New York City
5,136 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 467 in New York City
2,828 reviews
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#22 of 467 in New York City
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Property: Distrikt Hotel New York City
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing