We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, clean comfortable rooms, good location but....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #71 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 December 2011

take care with your choice of travel to and from the airport. I chose this hotel based on trip advisor recommendations and would definitely go back again. Very friendly staff, comfortable rooms, no frills but good value for money and the nearby Heartland Brewery was a great place to eat when eateries in Times Square were full to bursting. However, the trip from Newark airport to Manhatten did not appear straightforward so I opted for the shuttle bus operator SuperShuttle. The journey to the hotel was fine but the return journey was a nightmare! We were kept waiting for 45 minutes over our "pick up window" which means we waited 75 mins in total. I called to check progress and was advised that the driver was 5 blocks away! A further check 20 mins later, I was told he was 3 mins away. After a further 15 mins I called again to be told he was pulling up outside. Needless to say, he wasn't but when he did arrive he had parked on another street and we were 'encouraged' ( hand waving in my face) to run after him with our luggage. Do go to this hotel but be careful about your choice of transfers!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonyagbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,562 - 3,568 of 5,358 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2011

This is a lovely hotel, great staff, nice rooms, brilliant views, yummy apple cider :-) But I didn't like the location. It's right opposite Port Authority and there are some dodgy characters around in the evenings. I have been to New York twice on my own and felt more unsafe this time even though I was with a group of friends.
I do really like this hotel but unfortunately would not stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HonestTraveller87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Conveniently located, 15 minutes walking distance from Time Square, this place is new and clean. Friendly staff, free wi-fi. Higher floors have nice views of the Hudson river.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LukeOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

The staff really is super nice! Truly can't beat them. However, the room was not well laid out. As big as it is, the closet is tiny. It could be much bigger. Also, there aren't enough electrical outlets. We had an accessible room, so the bath had a roll in shower. Water ran across the floor, which is no big deal really. The location is odd in that it's directly across from the bus terminal. So, the entire one side of 40th street is just a big hulking building. It's not noisy or anything, just not the best view and means there's no street life along that stretch. But, nearby is 9th avenue with lots of great places to eat.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GayTravelGuyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

The Distrikt was recommended to us by a friend and we could not have been more pleased! We arrived for a long weekend trip at the beginning of December, my first over-night trip to the city. The hotel was clean, modern and very well maintained! Our room and bed were very comfortable and we found the staff to be friendly and helpful! The location was close to everything we wanted to do, just a few blocks south of Times Square. We will definitely be back to stay at the Distrikt and will recommend to all our friends!

Room Tip: If you want any type of view, be sure to request it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SnR727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I stayed here with my boyfriend and some friends, and I had a good vibe from the start when we booked as they said they would do their best to keep our rooms close to one another. We had a nice high room (30th floor) and could see the Empire State building and the Hudson river. They acknowledged my boyfriend's birthday and even gave him a little cake when we arrived. We had a Deluxe King room, and even though it wasn't huge, there was plenty of room to open up both of our suitcase and still get around.

The bed was SUPER comfortable and the sheets felt lovely. The shower was very powerful and quite large, and I was delighted to find a hairdryer in the bathroom. There is an iron and ironing board, but the ironing board is a desk-top one, and a bit of a pain to use. However, we did make use of the dry cleaning service which was very prompt and quite handy. I don't drink coffee but my boyfriend tells me the Keurig machine was great. Would have liked to have space to put one or two cold items into the mini-bar/fridge but it's pre-packed. The little cards with the next day's weather were useful (and accurate), although we naively ignored the card that said it was going to rain the next day and got promptly drowned that afternoon! Lesson learned!

The staff at the front desk recommended a great diner for breakfast (I think it was called the Westway) and it was just three blocks up 9th Ave. They also steered us towards a great traditional italian place called Mercado, just around the corner (thanks Brandie!). We were just a few blocks from Times Square and walked to Macy's regularly. Very handy having the free Wi-Fi too.

I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask at the front desk for local places to eat, they won't steer you wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicat84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

This was a very clean, modern hotel in a great location. The staff were very friendly and helpful and had good recommendations for places to eat. They really seem to care about your experience and do everything they can to make it a good one.

If coming from LaGaurdia Airport don't take shuttle! It took 1.5 hours and cost almost the same as it would for a cab ($25), and the cab taken at the same time would have taken .5 hours. For coffee lovers, empire coffee is right around the corner on 7th avenue and offers great selection.

We were very happy with our experience at this hotel. Don't forget to visit them on FB before your trip!

Room Tip: We stayed in room #3002. We paid extra for a room with a view but the view really wasn't that sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelnaturelover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#86 of 469 in New York City
436 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 469 in New York City
1,055 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 469 in New York City
3,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#79 of 469 in New York City
1,021 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel Times Square
Cassa Hotel Times Square
#124 of 469 in New York City
1,222 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#125 of 469 in New York City
5,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £137 - £377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing