We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, perfectly situated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #65 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This hotel is just a few minutes walk from Times Square, and yet the rooms are so quiet you can hear a pin drop! The staff were extremely courteous and friendly. I also loved the extra little touches that made me think I was staying in a luxury hotel, but paying less than half what a luxury hotel would charge. The next time I visit New York, this is where I'm staying!

Room Tip: My room faced the back. No view, but it was so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thank you for staying with us at Distrikt Hotel! We are very conveniently located just minutes away from Times Square and all major train lines, however on a quiet street that provides comfort upon returning after your long day of exploring the Big Apple. We also only have five rooms per floor, which provides absolute privacy and quiet. We are very glad to hear you were able to get to know our attentive staff, and you were able to take advantage of our many fantastic amenities. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again for your next trip to New York City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,694 - 3,700 of 5,656 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights here on the 26th floor and had a great view where we were able to see the Empire State Building. Upon check in, the you lady who checked us in was friendly and sweet. We then went on to see the show Stomp! and had a blast and came back to different faces who were equally as friendly as earlier in the day. We spent time walking around Manhattan and seeing the sites and enjoying the foods recommended by the staff and then came back to see the Lion King that night. We were running a little late, so the hotel grabbed us a cab so we could make the show on time, which was a huge help.

As an assistant manager of another Ascend Collection property in the outskirts of Philly, I can see why this property won the Gold Award for this year. The little things the staff did, paying attention to detail, remembering little things about my wife and I and our need for a little "Us" time away from the kids was awesome. The staff at this hotel are top notch and it is well managed and maintained to exceed any industry standards.

This is a great place to stay if you are looking to be centrally located to everything that NYC has to offer...just a few blocks from Times Square and 2 blocks from the Subway, it was easy to get around and see as much as we could see in 3 days and 2 nights....only wish we could have stayed longer!! Kudos to not only this hotel, but the staff is definately top notch...may be one of the best staffs I have encountered in a long time.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to get a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrummingDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thank you for taking your time to write your review. We're very happy to hear you and your wife enjoyed your stay. We do pride ourselves on our very friendly staff, so it's great to hear they were able to assist you during your stay. We do believe that the little details make the difference; it is truly a pleasure to have made a difference in your stay. Thank you again and we very much look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit to the Big Apple! Warm regards from the entire Distrikt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Just back from 5 night stay and could not fault this hotel staff very friendly and very helpful just couldnt do enough for us. We had a room on 25th floor which gave us a brilliant view out over city and the room was big enough to accomodate 3 adults and the facilities in the room are some of the best we have experienced. Some reviews mention location is a bit dubious but we didnt find any real concerns and it is really close to times square and subways. If i go back or when i go back i wouldnt hesitate to book this hotel give it a go you wont be dissappointed

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thank you for staying with us during your New York City visit. We're glad our friendly staff was able to assist you thoroughly during your time here. Our rooms are designed for both comfort and modernity, and boast fantastic amenities, many complimentary. As you mentioned we are located very conveniently just minutes away from Times Square and many other major attractions. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you for your next trip to New York City. Please contact us directly so we can make your trip even more enjoyable! Best wishes from the Distrikt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

My wife and I traveled to New York for my wife's special birthday.

We arrived at the hotel and were greeted by happy smiling staff, they could not do enough for us and helped us enjoy New York.

They were always available for advice on where to go and where to eat.

Hotel is very clean and modern and we had a great view from our room.

The even left a note wishing my wife a happy birthday on the day. Nice personal touch.

I would definetly recommend this hotel and the bar upstairs in the port authority bus station just up the road. A hidden gem, we has a great laugh in there speaking to the locals and people traveling through.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael3973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Thank you for taking your time to write your review! We're glad to hear you and your wife thoroughly enjoyed your stay here for her birthday celebration. We do pride ourselves on our very friendly and caring staff, so it is fantastic to hear you were able to get to know them and they assisted you in your visit. Our hotel and individual rooms are designed for both utmost comfort and modernity. Port Authority included, as you mentioned, our neighborhood is filled with many fantastic restaurants and bars. We very much look forward to welcoming you both again for your next New York City visit! Best wishes from the Distrikt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I stayed at the Distrikt hotel in February 2012 for one night (Sunday). I got a good rate, and given how expensive Manhattan hotels are (especially around Times Square), as well as the positive reviews this hotel got, I decided to stay there.

I arrived late in the evening and the front desk staff was professional and courteous, including other staff members in the lobby who greeted us warmly.

The room itself was nice, although the view was not the greatest (I was on the 7th floor facing Port Authority Bus Terminal). Also, the hotel is easy to miss because it is very narrow and lacks the bright signs other hotels have to advertise their name brand. It is on 8th and W 40th street, 2/3 of the way between 8th and 9th.

Pros:

-Much cheaper that most other hotels in Manhattan for its class of service
-Not far from Times Square (but far enough to escape the noise)
-Exceptionally friendly staff
-Lobby and rooms are clean and modern - no obvious wear and tear, or that ‘needs updating’ feel.

Cons:

-I prepaid for the breakfast buffet while booking the room which, at $16 per person, isn’t too expensive. However, the buffet selection was limited. Cereals, yoghurt, hard boiled eggs, toast, bagels, fruits, muffins. The theme here is mostly carbs, so if you are on a diet or have dietary restrictions, you may want to pass on it. They have a la carte breakfast, but I didn’t look at their offerings.

-Room had a shower but no bath. The bathroom was clean, modern, and up to date (a bit spa like), but if you want a bathtub you may want to ask the front desk if some rooms have tubs.


Overall this is a great hotel; unpretentious and nicely appointed. You can find hotels a bit closer to Times Square, but you’ll easily pay twice the price or more. This one is reasonable without compromising on quality or service.

I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Get a room as high up as possible. If you want a bath tub, ask if there are rooms available with on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank titibalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Thank you for taking your time to write your review. We're very glad to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We are proud of our attentive staff, so it is wonderful to hear they were able to welcome you and check you in in an efficient and warm manner. Our location on 40th Street off 8th Avenue allows for some quiet and privacy away from the hustle and bustle of Times Square. Just being two years old, we do offer a very clean, modern atmosphere and design. There are only five rooms per floor, which provides privacy and comfort. We have very limited number of bathtubs in the hotel, and welcome requests, however there is no guarantee as it all depends on availability. We are sorry to hear your breakfast experience was not entirely satisfactory. As you mentioned Collage Bar & Bistro does offer a full, American menu as well for varied costs. Guests are welcome to contact the front desk at any point and we're happy to improve or work on any issue to the best of our ability. Thank you for pointing out, however, this point. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit to New York City! Please contact us directly so we can make your next stay even more enjoyable. Best wishes from the entire Distrikt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Book it!

I am writing this review from my room in the Distrikt Hotel, making use of the free Internet. I searched the Internet for hours/days trying to find the perfect hotel/location. The Distrikt hotel is clean, tidy and perfectly located; don't be put off by the reviews about the Parole Office at the end of the street.

My wife and I would certainly return to this hotel and highly recommend it!

The downside-we only have 4 days left to enjoy NYC.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alans40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Thank you for your great feedback during your stay (glad to see you're taking advantage of the complimentary wifi)! We are very conveniently located just minutes away from Times Square, the Theater District, and many major attractions. Being only two years old, we are very clean, tidy, and boast a modern, comfortable design throughout the hotel and rooms. We hope you and your wife continue to enjoy your stay! Best regards from the entire Distrikt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

From the moment we stepped in we felt welcomed. The location is ideal and the size of the room was good for New York. Two thumbs up for the Distrikt and will definitely stay here again when I ome back!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zinger0424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Thank you for staying with us during your New York City visit! We're glad to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and felt welcomed the moment you stepped in. We're very much looking forward to welcoming you again for your next visit to New York City, and please contact us directly so we can make your next trip even more enjoyable! Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#102 of 473 in New York City
554 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#73 of 473 in New York City
1,177 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#53 of 473 in New York City
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#33 of 473 in New York City
478 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza HY36 Midtown Manhattan
Financial District
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
#34 of 473 in New York City
1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £127 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening to rave reviews in early 2010, Distrikt Hotel New York City - is a one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of the Midtown West, Times Square area. The Distrikt hotel towers 32 stories tall and offers guests a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. Our exceptional hospitality and customer service has launched Distrikt to be one of the highest rated hotels in New York City. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing