We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel west of Times Square”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #66 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed for 2 nights using Choice Privileges points, selected based on high TripAdvisor rating and location. Front desk staff were helpful and pleasant. When I first checked in I was given Room 603, on the back east corner of the building. My AT&T cellphone got no signal in the room, though, and when I reported this and asked to be switched to a higher room or one facing a different direction, was switched to #405, where the AT&T signal worked fine. The supervisor was pleasant enough about my request, though I know it helped to be firm in requesting the switch. The room was adequate sized for Manhattan, with a reasonably-sized bathroom (stand up shower only). Water pressure was good. Bedding was good quality, though mattresses are somewhat soft. More lighting in the room would have been welcome. A Keurig coffee maker in the room was a welcome touch (I brought my favorite K-cups from home). Air conditioning was quiet and efficient; the windows can be opened. A small safe was adequate for a 13” laptop. There was plenty of drawer space. There was little noise. Elevators can be crowded going down in the morning, especially for guests on low floors. I did not eat in the restaurant; there are plenty of nearby options. The lobby was comfortable, albeit small. I did not find the neighborhood problematic, even late at night.

Room Tip: Avoid low-floor 03 rooms if you have AT&T wireless
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An0nym0us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Thank you for staying with us for your New York City visit. We're glad to hear you selected us based on our Trip Advisor rating and enjoyed your stay! It is great to hear you found the staff friendly and helpful, and that we were able to assist you thoroughly in providing a room that suits you best. Our beds are known for how comfortable they are and our showers popular for their great water pressure, so we're glad that you enjoyed them as well. We're also glad you were able to take advantage of our many amenities including the Keurig tea/coffee maker and safe. Thank you again and we very much look forward to welcoming you for your next visit to New York City! Take care until then. Best wishes from the entire Distrikt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,475 - 3,481 of 5,661 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

Just home today from New York and had an amazing stay that the Distrikt!! Everything was fantastic never stayed somewhere where ALL the staff were so nice and helpful. Couldn't recommend this hotel enough!! Special thanks to Peter and Joseph for all their help.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heatherg128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Thank you for taking your time to write your review upon your return home! We're so happy to hear that you had an excellent stay. We're happy to hear that our staff was able to assist you throughout your stay. Thank you again and we very much look forward to welcoming you for your next trip to New York City. Take care until then! Best wishes from the entire Distrikt team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel to celebrate my 30th Birthday. Hotel is in a very central location, just a few blocks from Times Square and on a quite street which we found to be absolutely fine (we'd read previous reports that the street wasn't the best).

Rooms are a great size for New York and decorated in contemporary decor. Room facilities include LCD Flat Screen TV, Tea & Coffee making facilities, iron and hair dryer. We had a room on the 21st floor and it had good views of New York and we enjoyed a good night sleep. Air con in the room is fab.

Staff at the hotel are all lovely and very friendly! They really couldn't do enough to please and always chatty saying hello as you arrived to the hotel. They also organised a yummy birthday cake for me and birthday card which was a nice touch.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor for quiter room and excellent views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danielle827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Thank you for staying with us at Distrikt Hotel for your birthday trip to New York City. We're very happy to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay; we're very happy to have been able to celebrate your birthday with you! We're glad you enjoyed your modern and comfortable room after a long day of exploring the City, and that you enjoyed the our complimentary amenities. Our friendly staff is always eager to assist and offer their knowledge and advice so we're glad that they were able to assist you during your stay. Thank you again and we very much look forward to welcoming you for your next trip to the Big Apple. Please contact us directly next time so we can make your stay even more enjoyable. Best wishes from the entire Distrikt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I had the pleasure of staying one night at Distrikt when I was in visiting my daughter who lives in the city. The staff treated me as if I was an old family friend and nothing was out of their reach. They truly do make you feel at home. Rooms are extraordinarily clean and are perfect to return to from a long day exploring. I would not hesitate to recommend and now have a solid home base when I make it back to the BIg Apple. My daughter may find that I enjoy the company of the staff more than hers ;)

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Thank you for taking your time to write your review, and spending one night with us here at Distrikt while visiting your daughter. We pride ourselves on our very friendly and attentive staff, so thank you for the wonderful feedback. We're very glad you felt comfortable and at home. We're truly happy to hear you feel that you now have a solid home base. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you again in the future. Please contact us directly next time so we can make your stay even more enjoyable! Best wishes from the entire Distrikt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Stayed here for my birthday weekend recently. I found this place on TripAdvisor, and decided to book after the good reviews, and availability for the days I was looking for. I love trying out different boutique hotels any time I come to the city, and this one has been one of my favorite finds!

Location is right smack in midtown, so you can get everywhere fast. Both Penn and Grand Central Stations are several blocks away. Times Square is literally like 2 blocks. And... you are right on the border of Hell's Kitchen which has some of my favorite neighborhoods to dine.

The rooms were modernly designed, clean, and a good size for NYC hotel room. Sometimes I take the train in to NYC, but this time we drove, and there was a parking garage literally right next door, and it was relatively cheap compared to other garages I have used in the city in the past.

For what you get, I feel the prices were extremely reasonable. Of course, you pay more for a view of the City, but at least you get to choose.

Definitely would recommend across the board.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gisele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Thank you for staying with us at Distrikt Hotel for your birthday weekend in New York City. We're very happy to hear you discovered us through Trip Advisor and thoroughly enjoyed your stay! We're glad you enjoyed your modern and comfortable room after a long day of exploring the City, and that you were able to take advantage of the parking garage with a special Distrikt rate. Thank you again and we very much look forward to welcoming you for your next trip to the Big Apple. Please contact us directly next time so we can make your stay even more enjoyable. Best wishes from the entire Distrikt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed at the Distrikt Hotel for 4 nights at beginning of June with friends. We arrived at about 1pm so too early for book in - however our luggage was looked after whilst we went for a look around Times square which was close by. The hotel reception offers free cold drinks in the afternoon and coffee in the morning. It also had internet access available on 3 computers which was free. Staff were so friendly whenever we entered. When we were offered our rooms we were upgraded to King beds which was superb as they were so comfortable especially after a long day walking New York streets. We ate breakfast in the hotel twice - it was excellent - very good value with never ending drinks through-out the meal - my husband and myself appreciated this start to the day. We were offered complimentary use of umberellas on a wet Monday which certainly stopped us from getting soaked - an excellent decision by management as we certainly never thought to add these to our cases. We will be looking at other Ascend hotels if we are travelling elsewhere in the world. Finally we were offered the use of the hotel limo as transport to Newark airport which cost only a couple more dollars than the inbound taxi and was so much more comfortable, this saved the panic off rushing into a cab to save waiting time...

We would definitely advise people to use this hotel as it is close to Times square and the Hudson River. There is a the Port Authority opposite which offers transportation around New York as well as a subway on the corner of 40th and 8th Avenue. Within minutes of the hotel there is so much to do.

Well done to all the hotel team.

Room Tip: We were in 1404 and it had no view but the bed made up for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pollyjones4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Thank you very much for taking your time to write your review. We're very glad to hear that you've thoroughly during your stay! We're very glad that you felt our staff was attentive and friendly, and you found the room comfortable after a long day of exploring the Big Apple. Our Collage Bar & Bistro is a great start to our guests' day as we serve a quick, light bite perfect for the beginning of the day. And finally, we see you've taken advantage of our very central location, which is fantastic. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future! Please contact us directly next time so we can make your next stay even more enjoyable. Best wishes from the entire Distrikt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

what a great find,not too big and very central to manhatten island.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.we could walk to most places from the hotel especially times square which is just around the corner and very handy for going to shows on Broadway.
We were out late at night oven and always felt safe coming back to the hotel.The rooms are roomy and have coffee and tea making facilities,paper delivered each day which is nice,the hotel is directly opposite the main bus depot and the sub station so really excellent for catching these,good value for new york

Room Tip: a room away from the street is a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#102 of 473 in New York City
555 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#73 of 473 in New York City
1,181 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#53 of 473 in New York City
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#33 of 473 in New York City
480 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza HY36 Midtown Manhattan
Financial District
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
#34 of 473 in New York City
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £125 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening to rave reviews in early 2010, Distrikt Hotel New York City - is a one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of the Midtown West, Times Square area. The Distrikt hotel towers 32 stories tall and offers guests a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. Our exceptional hospitality and customer service has launched Distrikt to be one of the highest rated hotels in New York City. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing