We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The" perfect hotel in NY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #65 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We just came back home after 10 days in NY city, had a room on the 30th floor at the DISTRIKT hotel for the whole time so we had a great view of the city and the river. The room was comfortable and cossy, big enough for two adults with two big suitcases, beautiful bathroom w big shower, service was more than perfect, anything you ask for the amazing staff will do its best to get for you start with public transport schedual through recommended restaurants end with daily weather postcard on your bad.
we'd like to thank everyone at the hotel Anna, Nesha, Peter and Mamadou, We will definitley be back to this amazing hotel. Location was more than perfect, close to all the main attractions, theatres, bars, restaurants (Hell's kitchen) and the "Port Authority" central bus station (Just the door infront of the hotel), wich we used few times to travel outside manhattan (Jersey outlets and more).

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronen-Zeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Dear Ronen, thank you very much for taking your time to write your review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to Distrikt, and we're so happy that you loved your stay! We're very glad you were able to get to know our guests and they were able to assist you throughout your stay. It's also great to see you took advantage of our very central and convenient location to explore New York City as well as our surrounding areas. Thank you again and we very much look forward to welcoming you for your next trip to New York City! Please contact us directly next time so we can make your next stay even more enjoyable. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,246 - 3,252 of 5,464 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2012

I have not been to New York in over a decade, and sometimes booking a trip to a large city can be intimidating and daunting. From the beginning of my search, I noticed the high rating at The Distrikt Hotel. I only looked at their website out of curiosity and was shocked at their rates that were totally affordable. I started researching more and noticed their huge presence on social media. The Distrikt is on twitter and facebook and respond to all comments and tweets which I really appreciated. My room also was upgraded just by becoming one of their facebook fans and writing on their wall.


From the moment we walked into the lobby, we were greeted with smiles and offers to help hold our luggage while we checked in, and a refreshing drink to help us to cool down from the heat outside. Our room was especially clean, spacious, especially for New York and we loved the design. My mother traveled to New York two years ago and could not stop talking about how much bigger, nicer and less expensive this room was than the room she rented.

The beds were awesome. So comfortable and I was so impressed that they did a nightly turn down service topped off with chocolates on our pillows and a post card with the next day's weather and temperature.

I know that everyone writes this, but the staff was so super friendly. It wasn't a forced friendliness because it is their "job," but a niceness that comes when they love what they do, and are happy to make it your best stay.

I thought this hotel was a fabulous stay. It was right by Times Square and Broadway. I felt safe the whole time I was in New York and in the hotel. It may be right by the bus depot, but there was not a time that it was ever an issue with safety. The hotel has a lot of security measures in place, but I never felt unsafe to walk to and from the hotel, even at night. I thought that this hotel was in a great spot to get to many places to sight see.

On our departure, we were assisted greatly to get to the airport. Since we didn't know anything about how to get there, Carlos (shout-out to him) made a great suggestion that the girls at the front desk could order us a car service for about the same price as a shuttle. Boy, did we feel fancy. It made the departure easy and stress-free.

I highly recommend this hotel for its rooms, amenities, location and especially staff. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capri0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Thank you very much for taking your time to write your review, and choosing Distrikt as your home for the first time in New York in over a decade. We do love chatting with our guests in Facebook and Twitter, so thank you for doing so before your trip! We hope that we were helpful. We're very happy to hear you found the room spacious and clean; our beds are indeed popular for how comfortable they are, so it's great to hear you were able to experience this. We do pride oursevles on our friendly staff so we thank you for your wonderful feedback. Thank you again and we very much look forward to welcoming you for your next trip to New York City. Please contact us directly next time so we can make your next stay even more enjoyable! Best wishes from the entire Distrikt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Oh my goodness! What a wonderful hotel! We loved it so much! I have been to NYC more than 20 times, but this was my husband's first time. I really wanted it to be special and it was! From the time we checked in, everything was 100% perfect! The staff, and I mean every single one, was so nice, accommodating and so helpful! A special shout out to Cara for helping us on restaurants and our 4th of July plans! We loved getting to know everyone! The tea in the lobby was fabulous! The apple computers in the lobby were a great touch, the free wifi was so nice to have!! Other hotels barge $10 per day!!!our room was immaculate and very roomy for a NYC room!! The bed was so yummy and comfortable and the AC worked great! The bathroom was great and the shower was extra great....great water pressure! We loved, loved, loved the shampoo, etc...
Whenever we needed ice, it was there in a flash! And when we tipped, the sweet guys were so grateful!!! I ordered breakfast one morning and it was wonderful! Best hot chocolate I have ever had! Beats Starbucks!!! We were so sad to leave today and one home, but we will definitely be staying at Distrikt Hotel every time now!! Please, everyone, take my advise!! This hotel is great for the money, fabulous room, staff, close to everywhere.....

Thank you sooooooo very much, staff, for making our stay the best ever!!

Room Tip: We loved our room on the 26th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khanebutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thank you very much for taking your time to write your review. We're very happy to see you and your husband thoroughly enjoyed your stay, and we were able to provide an unforgettable experience for his very first time in New York City. We're very glad to hear you were able to get to know our staff and they were able to assist you thoroughly. Our beds are known for how comfortable they are, as well as the shower for its water pressure, so it's great to see you were able to enjoy these elements! Thank you again and we are thrilled to welcome you back for your next trip to New York City. Please contact us directly next time so we can make your next stay even more enjoyable! Best wishes from the entire Distrikt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

My first trip to New York and after researching a multitude of accommodation options, I finally settled on the Distrikt Hotel. So glad I did. I could not fault this hotel as far as cleanliness, size of rooms, comfort and location are concerned. The staff were friendly and efficient, my deluxe room was spacious, modern and clean and the hotel was central to everything (including a great choice of eateries around the corner in Ninth Avenue and the $1.00 pizza outlet on the corner of Ninth and 40th ... very handy for a hot, filling snack!) A big thumbs up to the Distrikt Hotel on all counts.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret313_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thank you for staying with us at Distrikt Hotel for your first time in New York City. We're very glad that you feel you made the right choice after much research for the perfect accomodation for you. We're very glad you found the room modern, spacious, and clean, and our location central.
We're also glad our staff was able to assist you throughout your stay. Thank you again and we very much look forward to welcoming you for your next visit to New York City! Please contact us directly next time so we can make your next stay even more enjoyable! Best wishes from the entire Distrikt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Just back from a week stay at the distrikt hotel and had the best time. The hotel staff were welcoming, friendly and very knowledgable. The hotel location was perfect within easy walking distance to all the major attractions. The rooms were very clean and modern and the beds were sooooooo comfortable. House keeping was impeccable and done daily. There were brownies waiting in our room on check in and also a birthday cake and card for my daughter, free of charge!! We had a great view of the empire state building from our room and the air conditioning was excellent. There was a mini bar in the room which was very reasonably priced. The room also had an iron and a iron board, big tv and iPod dock. The bathroom was spacious and toiletries supplied. The street the hotel was one was always busy and I always felt very safe on it. The port authority was across the road and had many handy shops and restraunts. I really don't know why this hotel is only rated 3 star it was perfect and I will be staying here again on any future trips to new York. Thank you to all the staff at the distrikt for helping to make this the best holiday I've ever had. Xxxx

Room Tip: Higher level rooms have the best view but it's not as if you will be sitting at the window much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank loustar49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thank you for taking your time to write your review. We're very glad to see you loved your week-long stay. We love celebrating special occasions with our guests, so it's great to hear your daughter enjoyed her special treat. Our beds are often praised for how comfortable they are, as you pointed out, so we're happy you were able to enjoy this as well. Lastly, thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding our staff; it's our pleasure to have been able to make this an unforgettable holiday for you and your family, Thank you again and we very much look forward to welcoming you again for your future trip to New York City. Please contact us directly next time so we can make your stay even more enjoyable! Take care until then! Warm regards from the entire Distrikt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

The staff at the Distrikt Hotel were outstanding!!! Perhaps the best hotel experience that I have had. The staff were friendly, welcoming, helpful and resourceful. They each had very strong knowledge of the city and where to go. Diner recommendations were also helpful. It was so nice to come back to the hotel and have a comlimentary glass of ice tea on a hot day!

The room was updated and clean, but typically small as most New York rooms are. There are only six rooms per floor so it was very quiet and restful - we couldn't hear a thing from the street or other rooms.

The location was central to everything, but on a side street between 8th and 9th Ave. - a little scary for first timers or those from small towns. But very safe.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WGG46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thank you for taking your time to write your review. It's so great to hear that it was perhaps one of your best hotel experiences. Thank you for this wonderful feedback. We're very happy that our staff was able to assist you throughout your stay utilizing their familiarity with and knowledge of the Big Apple. It's also fantastic that we were able to provide you with a 'restful' room, as we are always striving for your utmost comfort. Thank you again and we very much look forward to welcoming you again for your next trip to New York City. Take care until then! Best wishes from the entire Distrikt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

You couldn't do better for location--off the main drag but only a short walk to Times Square. There is free WiFi (one of my non-negotiables when considering where to stay), as well as Apple Macs in the lobby for guests to use. The toiletries provided are excellent and the room is cleaned to a high standard.
Room service food quality was inconsistent. Coffee and cocktails were great--particularly enjoyed the "Greenwich Village" pear-flavoured cocktail. On the less positive side, I ordered the Kobe Beef hot dog, which was overpriced and not very good.
The multi-lingual hotel staff were all pleasant and efficient. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LadyDiazepam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thank you for staying with us at Distrikt Hotel during your New York City stay. We're very glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay! It's great to know you found the room cleaned to a 'high standard' and found the amenities up to your expectations. We are sorry to hear the quality of your room service food did not meet your expectations; please feel free to contact or approach the front desk team whenever you may have any concerns, as we strive to amend or modify any situation as much as possible. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you for your next trip to New York City. Best wishes from the entire Distrikt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#85 of 469 in New York City
467 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#278 of 469 in New York City
11,726 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#77 of 469 in New York City
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#46 of 469 in New York City
595 reviews
Midtown
TRYP New York City Times Square South
TRYP New York City Times Square ...
#174 of 469 in New York City
3,887 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 469 in New York City
3,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £133 - £395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing