We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little New York gem with wonderful people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #69 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Gotta say I loved the Distrikt Hotel. Mostly because I got so much for so little (booked way in advance and got a pretty darn good rate), a really nice room, and staff that were helpful and --sometimes a surprise for NYC-- genuinely kind and caring.

The hotel itself is in a good location in the midst of everything (takes a little walking but what's wrong with a little exercise?). Every floor has its own theme based on an area of NYC, which in itself showcases the hotel's distinct personality; postcards and photos in the room are related to the floor's theme. Very unique touch.

Rooms with a view are extremely classy and gorgeous; thank you SO MUCH to the staff for upgrading us (we posted in advance on their facebook page and mentioned our upcoming stay to celebrate our anniversary)--they even provided a thoughtful treat for us. Just a little touch that made our stay twice as special.

The iced tea available throughout the day, the free in-room wifi (and Macs in the relatively small lobby), and turn-down service with chocolates on the pillow and the next day's weather was great. Didn't try the restaurant but it looked decent and apparently has a relatively cheap prix-fixe menu.

If you can find it for a decent price, GRAB IT. Very nice place to stay. Couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
1  Thank LetsGetAway-ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AS D, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Thank you for choosing Distrikt Hotel for your special New York City visit. We're very happy to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay! We do love celebrating special occasions with our guests, so it's great to hear we were able to contribute in making the stay memorable. We're also glad that you were able to take advantage of our location as well as the Distrikt personality. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit to New York City! Take care until then. Best wishes from the entire Distrikt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,251 - 3,257 of 5,499 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

My family spent 4 nights at the Distrikt Hotel. I was expecting the room to be small since this is Manhattan. However, I was pleasantly surprised to find it quite spacious. The beds were the most comfortable I ever slept in. We received brownies on our first night and chocolates every night. The ice tea (Raspberry, Mango, Blueberry) in the lobby was always a refreshing treat after a long day of exploring the city. I really liked the make up mirror attached to the bathroom wall. The staff is very friendly. The employee that worked a double shift since 3 pm yesterday was still very curtious when we checked out this morning. I even bought a robe for $85.00 to take home as a souviner of our pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ProudToBeCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AS D, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Thank you for staying with us during your New York City visit. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay. It's great to hear that you found your room and bed comfortable after a long day of exploring the City, and that you found the staff helpful and friendly. We very much look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit to New York City. Take care until then! Best wishes from the entire Distrikt Team. Enjoy the robe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Distrikt for three nights and had nothing but pleasant experiences. Our room looked out over a small space between it and the neighboring building, which meant that we heard ZERO noise from outside (a first for me in NYC). And despite being right next door to the elevators, we never heard them either. The room was larger than I expected (though not to be confused with a suite) with a clean, attractive bathroom. The best part of our stay was without question the amazingly friendly, helpful staff at the front desk. We were always greeted with a smile, and the staff were always willing to help whenever we had a question. The weather was hot while we were there, so the complimetary cold teas on offer in the lobby really hit the spot upon coming back home. The location is perfect, just half a block from the ACE subway line and a short walk to the heart of Times Square. There are tons of restaurants nearby on 9th Avenue.

In short, we were delighted with the Distrikt from A to Z and recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thielees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AS D, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Thank you for choosing Distrikt Hotel for your New York City visit with your daughter. We're very glad to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay! We're very happy that you were able to get to know our friendly staff and they were able to assist you. We're also glad to hear you took advantage of our very convenient location and enjoyed our amenities as well. Thank you again and we very much look forward to welcoming you for your ne visit to New York City. Take care until then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed at the Distrikt from July 1-6, 2012. We were accompanied by about 12 close friends and family members for our wedding, about half of whom stayed at the Distrikt. Our flight was greatly delayed arriving into NYC; however, when we arrived at nearly 2 a.m. the front desk knew our names and greeted us warmly. There were even welcome pastries in our room.

The Distrikt is conveniently located near the Theatre Distrikt and Times Square. There are more attractive streets in the area, and the proximity to the Port Authority meant some 'interesting' characters about, especially late at night. However, the modern rooms, friendly staff and competitive pricing more than compensate for this.

Our room had a great view toward the Hudson River and was kept clean throughout our stay. We appreciated the late-afternoon turn-down service (which includes a chocolate and card with the weather forecast for the following day). Breakfast (or cocktails for that matter) are available in the small restaurant on the main floor.

Overall, a great stay. We would highly recommend the Distrikt Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank justrrcgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AS D, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

We thank you and your party for choosing Distrikt Hotel for your wedding. We're very happy to hear you and your party thoroughly enjoyed your stay, and that we were able to provide a warm welcome after your long journey! We're glad you were able to take advantage of all of the Distrikt elements, such as the very central and convenient location, modern and clean rooms, and attentive staff. Thank you again and we very much look forward to welcoming you for your next trip to New York City! Take care until then. Warm wishes from the entire Distrikt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

Really nice rooms, Great location, amazing service. Will definitely recommend this hotel that anyone who I know is going to New York. The staff are extremely friendly is parking is cheap right next-door. $28 per night

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesey351985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AS D, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Thank you for staying with us during your New York City trip. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It's fantastic that our staff was able to assist you thoroughly, and you were also able to take advantage of our great parking rate right next door. We look forward to welcoming you again for your next trip to New York City. Take care until then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in July. The location was ideal - about a 5 minute walk from Times Square so close enough to walk to but quiet enough to be able to sleep.

It's a great area to stay in as from Times Square you can easily get anywhere on the subway.

The rooms were spacious and modern and the bed was really comfortable.

Check in was quick and easy and the staff were really friendly. Every day they left us a weather forecast which helped us make plans for the next day.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in New York - they deserve their high ranking on Trip Advisor!

Room Tip: Go for a room higher up if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beckie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AS D, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Thank you for choosing Distrikt Hotel for your New York City visit. We're very glad to hear you loved your stay. We are happy that you found your room spacious and modern, and bed comfortable. We do pride ourselves on our efficient and friendly staff, so it's great to hear that they were able to provide a positive check-in/check-out experience. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you for your next trip to New York City. Take care until then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

From the moment I booked this hotel for my wife's 40th birthday trip we have been nothing but impressed. We stayed in a a Grand View King Room, which was spacious to say the least. Great sized bed, shower with a fantastic air con system which made the room feel nice and cool. Room was always spotless and the complimentary tea and coffee machine was a great bonus.
We found it ideally located for Times Square as well as shopping, and visiting the Top of the Rock, Empire State building and Circle Line Cruises on foot with subway handily located with a few minutes walking distance.
The service from the staff was superb from check-in to check out, especially Misha on reception's singing whilst we waited for transport back to JFK. Look forward to coming back soon...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bmdefiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AS D, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Thank you for choosing Distrikt Hotel for your wife's birthday. We always love celebrating special occasions with our guests, so it's great to hear that we were able to assist you thoroughly during your stay. We're happy to hear that you found the room comfortable and the location convenient. We do pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, and we will be sure to pass along your kind comment to Nesha. Thank you again and we very much look forward to welcoming you and your wife again for your next trip to New York City. Take care until then! Best wishes from the entire Distrikt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#88 of 470 in New York City
479 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#77 of 470 in New York City
1,096 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#43 of 470 in New York City
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 470 in New York City
11,804 reviews
Midtown
TRYP New York City Times Square South
TRYP New York City Times Square ...
#172 of 470 in New York City
3,911 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#38 of 470 in New York City
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £120 - £415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing