We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, great location and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #62 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed here for seven nights late September / early October 2012 and it was a great hotel. We chose it based on the Trip Advisor recommendation and it did not disappoint. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, giving you advice and sorting out taxis if required. The hotel lobby included Mac computers and a touch screen interactive TV which allowed you to plan sightseeing and directions and give you info on where to go. There was also complimentary coffee in the mornings and ice tea throughout the day. The location was great, just a 10min walk to Times Square with a subway station at the end of the street which was very useful. The room was imaculate and kept so during the week with nice touches such as a weather forecast and temperature card for the following day, helping you to plan what you could get up to. The Grand View King room that we had provided spectacular views of the city and Hudson river and was well worth the extra ~£20 per night over the standard double rooms. Overall, a great hotel in a great location for Times Square and the subway, with friendly staff and a brilliant room with one of the most comfortable beds iv'e ever slept in. Well worth it and definitely recommended for a couple - could not fault it at all.

Room Tip: Go for a Grand View King room; higher up the tower providing great views and obviously quieter as yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod_W1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

We're happy to hear you discovered us through Trip Advisor and we were able to provide a comfortable stay during your New York City visit. It's wonderful to hear that the room was "brilliant," "with one of the most comfortable beds" you've ever slept in! We very much look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit to New York City. Please stay in touch with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,206 - 3,212 of 5,595 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

My third trip to NYC in the last 18 months and the best hotel I have stayed. Room ready on arrival, was a good quality, not cheap but then no accomodation is in the city but overall great value, good quality and even got a decent nights sleep ... recommended

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor like I did it is nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrStocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Thank you very much for choosing Distrikt for your return to New York City and for the wonderful feedback. We're very glad to hear we have provided the "best" hotel experience. We look forward to welcoming you again, and please let us know next time so we can make your next stay even more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We were in NYC for the weekend. We had a concert on Friday night and then just hanging out and seeing the city for the remainder. We had an excellent stay. The staff was great. They gave us tons of suggestions for places to check out for food and / or craft beer. The location is close to Times Square if you are there for that, but I felt removed enough from it. We walked to Central Park pretty easily and all around the area. Loved it. The room was a great size compared to what we've seen in other places. Super clean as well. No complaints at all. Would definitely recommend it and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bulldog15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

We hope you enjoyed your mini-getaway to the City along with your Friday night concert! It's great to hear that we were able to provide you with an "excellent stay" and that you would return again. Please stay in touch with us via Facebook or Twitter, so we can offer you our best rates for your next visit to the City. Take care until then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I found this place on tripadvisor, and stayed for five weeknights on a business trip. It was very convenient to get to the subway and lots of great restuarants. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and there were a number of nice perks: free coffee and NY Times each day, chocolates each night, and brownies on arrival. Rooms were clean, quiet, and about the size you'd expect for Manhattan. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camille078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

We're happy to hear you discovered us through Trip Advisor and were able to experience a five-night stay with us during your business trip. Thank you for your feedback on some of our complimentary amenities; it's always great to know guests are enjoying them. We look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit to New York City, whether it be for business or pleasure! Take care until then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Staff was super friendly and helpful Beds were comfy. Bar/lounge was nice place to hang out. Though the waiters were a bit ditsy. All around a wonderful stay. I was surprised to have a handicapped shower in the room, as i have had bad experiences with those getting water all over the floor but it turned out ok. Even with our 10 year old.
Good location. Walked to times square, bryant park, etc all good Dean and DeLucia for breakfast, coffee. Heartland brewery down the street also exceeded expectations.

Stayed: October 2012
1  Thank Anniej9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're glad to hear you were able to get to know our friendly staff, and we were able to provide a comfortable home base! It's great to hear you became familiar with the neighborhood as well. We look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit to New York City. Please contact us directly next time so we can make your next stay even more enjoyable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a very good value for price and location, close to Times Sq, Broadway, main metros and restaurants. Rooftop bar next door. Breakfast at hotel rel cheap and good, nice friendly helpful people, clean. View from 25th floor superb, because no other skyscraper in front! I would book it again. We actually shared a room, 4 persons in 2 queen size beds, this sure was not much space for 4 people and luggage but fun and easy.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garantido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Thank you for choosing for feedback. We're very glad to hear you felt your experience was of a good value. For your information we also have connecting Queen and King rooms, so that is a great, more spacious alternative to a Double room for four people. Please keep in touch with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

just ending a 5 day stay with my wife and 2 children at the Distrikt Hotel. What a wonderful refreshing hotel stay. Warm and friendly staff, great room with a view, comfortable beds and just a few blocks away from Times Square, Macy's and other attractions. Had a ball staying here and would definitely recommend this hotel and its great location to others.

Ian, Perth, Western Australia

Room Tip: high floor, overlooking Hudson River
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

It's truly a pleasure to hear that we were able to provide a "wonderful refreshing stay" for you and your family during your New York City vacation. Please do stay in touch with us! We very much look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit to the Big Apple. Take care until then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#107 of 471 in New York City
520 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#46 of 471 in New York City
648 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#76 of 471 in New York City
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 471 in New York City
728 reviews
Financial District
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
#33 of 471 in New York City
1,780 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#278 of 471 in New York City
11,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £97 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing