We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel at a reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #74 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Centrally located hotel with a comfortable bed. Nice clean rooms, size was better than what I have experienced in other big cities. The bathroom was too tiny. The bed was absolutely comfortable, and one of the main reasons to recommend this hotel. The location was good only 5 minutes from Times Square, and just next to the subway-system. Restaurants in Hells Kitchen are nearby, and so are cafe´s for breakfast. It is ok in the hotel, but not fabulous.

Room Tip: Middle floor rooms are fine, very little noice!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne Line E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We're happy to hear that the "bed was absolutely comfortable" and you enjoyed the location as well. Please keep in touch with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Take care until then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,270)
There are newer reviews for Distrikt Hotel New York City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,695 - 2,701 of 5,270 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2013

My daughter and I spent one night at this hotel in the Garment District. It's on 40th between 8th and 9th Avenue. It's a very tall and narrow hotel, with a small lobby and a little restaurant area. Each floor has only 5 rooms. We had a king bed room that was very nice. The restaurant has a limited but adequate dinner menu and the food was decent (we were tired and happy to not go back out in the cold to eat!). It also has bar service. Breakfast was also good....decent selection, including a continental breakfast bar. Room service is available.

The staff was very friendly...every person we dealt with was really nice and very welcoming. I would definitely stay there again....no question!

Room Tip: Our room was on a lower floor, so there wasn't much view. But I didn't find street noise to...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank debster_c_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

It's great to hear that you and your daughter had a pleasant stay recently here with us at Distrikt. We do pride ourselves on our friendly and welcoming staff so it's great to hear that your stay was enhanced by our team. Please stay in touch with us via Facebook/Twitter so we can provide you with the best rates for your return to NYC. Take care until then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

You can't ask for much more from a hotel. Excellent location, service and such a comfortable room! We needed last minute tickets and they were so helpful. Nice bar to relax at at the end of the day too. I can't wait to get back there on my next trip to NYC!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harvardmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

It's so great to hear that we were able to offer all elements you look for in a hotel! Please keep in touch with us via Facebook/Twitter so we can provide you with our best rates for your return. Take care until then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

There's a place in Manhattan where the Theater District meets the historic Garment District; where Midtown/Time Square's tourist traps, meet the *real* NYC of Hell's Kitchen and Chelsea. The Distrikt lets you explore each of these neighborhoods from a clean, familiar and affordable base of safety -- and sanity -- allowing a sense of why New Yorkers consider this town to be the center of universe.

True, it depends upon the reason for your trip: some travelers would prefer to avoid New Yorkers when visiting. Yet, others understand that it's the New Yorkers that make the City, not the other way around. The Distrikt is in walking distance of transportation hubs (the Port Authority, Penn Station, the subway) and major tourist/shopping attractions (Times Square to Herald Square - we'd also recommend the USS Intrepid and/or the High Line). However, it's also right on the border of real NYC neighborhoods -- think pizza-by-the slice meals, corner grocers, bagel shops, the High Line, Sesame Street-style residential playgrounds. And, you don't feel as though you'll be mugged, or trip over a sleeping wino.

Everything you need, very little of what you don't (swimming pools, exercise rooms) - makes for an efficient and welcome place to stay when visiting NYC.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EshInPennsyltucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're very happy to hear that you were able to experience many different sides of New York City and that we were able to provide an "efficient and welcome place to stay." We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Very friendly and well organized staff, always present to suggest us how to explore the city in the best way. The hotel location is perfect to visit NY city, near Times Square and metro station. Comfortable room with very good room service. Overall PERFECT!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123Cla123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

We're so glad to hear that your stay was enhanced by our "friendly and well organized staff" who was able to make suggestions that made the most of your time exploring the city. We're happy that we were able to provide a "perfect" experience and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This was our 2nd time staying at the Distrikt Hotel and we can truly say it feels like our home in New York!

I contacted the staff personally this time to request a quote and we were totally personally looked after prior to arrival, as well as during our stay. We were upgraded to the Grandview room which was great!

The staff are attentive, helpful, they go out of their way, they even remembered us from our last stay a year ago. Nesha at the front desk is our absolute favourite, she is not only lovely and helpful but is hilarious and a lot of fun!

We looked forward to returning to the hotel each night for our hot apple cider that they serve to guests in the foyer.

The rooms are modern, clean and they go the extra mile to present 5 star quality amenities such as turn down service, chocolate brownies in the room on arrival, and chocolates and weather cards on the bed each night.

The continental breakfast for $10 in the restaurant is great value and has a great range. There is a laundry just around the corner, and the location is great, yes it is on a backstreet near the Port Authority bus terminal but it is so close to Times Square and right near the subway. Perfect.

Great free Wifi throughout the hotel is brilliant! Once again, it was a joy to stay there!

We can't thank them enough for looking after us. We will be back. We love NYC...and The Distrikt!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jboy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Thank you for getting in touch with us directly for your second stay! We're so happy to hear we could provide a personal welcome even before your arrival. The little touches, such as the apple cider and the brownies, are absolutely guest favorites! And we'll definitely pass on your kind words to the staff. Thank you again for choosing Distrikt and please stay in touch with us via Facebook and Twitter so we know what you're up to!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Distrikt certainly lives up to its trip advisor review hype, we were very impressed.

We arrived a little early and our room wasn't ready, so we checked our bags and went off exploring, came back at the advised time and boom 2 mins later we were in our room.

The rooms are very comfortable, modern, clean and look great, sadly no bath though which whilst would have been nice it certainly wasn't a deal breaker. The rooms are cleaned each day with fresh linen/towels provided every other day. And you get a little chocolate each and a weather report for the next day left in your room each evening

Complimentary wifi all over the hotel, and in the lobby are complimentary iMac's, hot drinks and umbrella's. The team in reception are friendly and helpful, as are the doormen/porters. Sadly the bar/restaurant is not open all day.

The area seems a bit dodgy as mentioned in other reviews, a couple of sex shops on 40th street leading up to times sq, as well as a few random local loons that base them selves in and around the port authority bus terminal, but not once did myself or my wife feel uncomfortable or threatened.

Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, and will definitely stay here for our next visit to NYC!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gstaraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

We're very glad to hear that you had a great stay and that you felt our rooms were comfortable, modern, and clean! Please stay in touch with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Take care until then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#80 of 468 in New York City
410 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 468 in New York City
1,036 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 468 in New York City
3,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#127 of 468 in New York City
5,219 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel Times Square
Cassa Hotel Times Square
#121 of 468 in New York City
1,206 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#76 of 468 in New York City
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £137 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing