We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, Earthy modern style and without Arrogance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #70 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Perfect location, Earthy modern style and without Arrogance”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

On 40th Street across the street from the Port Authority central bus station,
This skinny little hotel offers up a ton for your buck.
Its earthy modern style make it very approachable. 
The staff is great, for one reason. - They care about you, the client.
 
The front desk is genuinely interested in what is making your day good..
Actually having time to listen and replying with an insightful reply...
 I don't get to see that much of that kind of hospitality in America, especially not NY..
Numerous percentage of the guests are Euros - Which may have something to do with that.

Beyond that, the rooms are a little bigger than the usual "NY small" size, but the bathroom is well thought out and the shower seems almost large.
The Hotel is 2 short blocks from the A,C or E, train and 2 long blocks over to 7th Avenue for the 1,2,3 trains.
You can easily get anywhere in Manhattan from this hotel via the subway.

They have storage rooms for your luggage to accommodate your departure flights etc..

Also, they do have a little bistro on the back of main floor for breakfast and drinks in the evening...
There are no windows in the restaurant, leaving the room feel like being in a basement.
Although the food is acceptable - its nothing exceptional and the attitude and quality of the servers here are on the opposite end good...
A quick breakfast is actually is closer to over an hour..
New management in the restaurant are clearly needed. 
But this would not keep me from staying here, being that there are so many other excellent, close eating options available... 
Just don't pay extra some sort of meal package..

Go enjoy your stay for a reasonable rate in NY,NY!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LumenateTHEway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We've very glad that you had a wonderful stay, overall. We appreciate your feedback regarding the restaurant. Here is a response from our Restaurant Manager, Rachel: "On behalf of the Collage Bistro, I would like to apologize for your less than enjoyable experience dining with us. We know we have limited options in regard to the physical makeup of the restaurant, but work with the space we have to try to create a pleasant environment for our guests. We are currently in the process of revamping the restaurant and striving for positive changes to come. In the moment, we are training new staff and reconstructing past standards so that we may meet a higher level of excellence and customer service. I appreciate your taking the time to provide us with the feedback we require to reach these goals as soon as possible." Thank you again and please stay in touch with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,452
    1,329
    248
    38
    20
See reviews for
990
2,576
239
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,044)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

All amenities were nice and the service was top notch. But these rooms are as small as hotels in Europe. There was some cleaning chemical that they used in the bathroom that gave me a bit of allergic reaction but that is no fault of theirs. Beds were comfy and once again the staff was very friendly and knowledgable. Location is within walking distance to Time Square. Prices were not to bad for NYC.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvgoliath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
We're very glad to hear that you felt service was "top notch" and that you thoroughly enjoyed the amenities and the location. The rooms are designed with modernity, comfort, and privacy in mind, and we are sorry to hear that it was not entirely satisfactory. Guests are encouraged to approach our front desk staff whenever they wish so we can amend/modify the situation as much as possible. Please stay in touch with us on Facebook/Twitter and please contact us directly next time so we can make your next stay even more enjoyable. Best regards from the Distrikt Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Small hotel with a lot of heart! The staff is so attentive and they go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay. So appreciated the hot apple cider in the lobby and the chocolates in the room were delish! Really comfortable bed, great shower and excellent cleanliness throughout!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkTwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you very much for such a great compliment; we're very glad that you felt we were provide an experience that of a "small hotel with a lot of heart." It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed many elements of your stay such as the complimentary drinks in the lobby. Please stay in touch with us via Facebook/Twitter so we can provide you with our best rates for your return! Take care until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacombe, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

This hotel is awesome. It is in a great location, was really modern, super clean and had great staff. Overall a great experience for our first visit to New York. We would definitely stay at The Distrikt Hotel if we return to New York.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 22nd floor and had a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judym326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you for spending your first time in New York with us at Distrikt Hotel. We're glad that our "modern, super clean" home base and the "great staff" made your first time in the City even more enjoyable. Please stay in touch with us via Facebook/Twitter so we can provide you with our best rates for your return. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Well, TA you did it again. I read the reviews online and opted to stay at the Distrikt. The staff was gracious and very competent. I have never seen friendlier staff at any Big Apple hotel...as a matter of fact I thought I was in the friendly south, not bustling NYC. The room was well adorned with a flat screen TV, and Ipod dock and a great shower. There were upscale toiletries given out each morning and little chocolates were delivered each evening. It is well within walking distance of Times Square and the theater district. The value for this hotel is beyond excellent!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmymdnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience and kind words. We're very glad to hear that you selected us based on Trip Advisor reviews and you were very satisfied with your stay. We do pride ourselves on our friendly and knowledgeable staff, so it's wonderful that they enhanced your Big Apple visit, and that you found the value of your stay "beyond excellent." Please stay in touch with us on Facebook/Twitter and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

This is the second hotel I stayed in when I was in NYC. And I only have good words for it. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. The location is so convenient if you want to make your hotel the home base for watching Broadway musicals and going to Woodburry Commons outlet. The bus station is just right across. And 42nd street is just 2 blocks away. The subway stop is on the same street. The room is clean and the toiletry set is not cheap. The towels are also thick and clean. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dartagnanaguilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
It sounds like you were able to take full advantage of our central location and enjoy all that NYC has to offer! We're glad that you found the staff "very friendly and accommodating" and the toiletry of value. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

My daughter and I chose the Distrikt due to its location, and the TA reviews. The hotel is ideally located, just a short walk from Times Square and a subway which can get you to pretty much anywhere you want to go.

The staff at the Distrikt are second to none (special mention for Hugo, but they were all without exception, excellent). We both agreed they were the best we had encountered. And the legendary hot apple cider in the lobby is exactly that - legendary!

The room itself was good, nothing hugely special, but quiet, modern, a fair size and clean. We had two double beds - very comfortable, and high quality bedding. My email request for no feathers was responded to immediately, and had been actioned.

There was a large flatscreen TV, a coffee machine, hairdryer, minibar, plenty of storage, and a safe. The coffee/tea etc is replenished daily. The maid service was very efficient, and you could also have turndown if you wanted.

The bathroom was lovely, very modern, large shower (although we found it difficult to operate), plenty of towels (some were a little on the shoddy side, but mostly ok), plenty of VERY NICE toiletries (replenished daily) - shampoo, conditioner, lotion, shower gel, soap. Modern fixtures and fittings and lots of hot water.

The weather in NYC when we were there (mid Feb) was FREEZING so we were very glad that the room was lovely and warm, however the heating system was noisy.

I would definitely stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend it. The only disappointment (and hence not 5*) was that I paid for a City View, and on the 13th floor I got a view of a car park. I was actually happy with the price I paid for what I got, but if you are promised a City View, then you should be given a City View. If that is important to you, then check in advance.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank juliaplynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you for choosing Distrikt based on Trip Advisor reviews! We've very glad to hear you and your daughter had a great stay. We appreciate your feedback regarding the bathroom; in fact, we now have new towels for our guest rooms that you can enjoy next time. For our Trip Advisor community's information, whenever guests encounter an issue with their stay, we encourage guests to approach our front desk staff any time so we can amend the situation as quickly as possible. We want to make sure what you were assigned was the room type you booked, so please contact us directly at FOteam@distrikthotel.com and we'd love to hear more. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 466 in New York City
962 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#133 of 466 in New York City
5,055 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 466 in New York City
2,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#41 of 466 in New York City
418 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 466 in New York City
2,777 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#74 of 466 in New York City
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Property: Distrikt Hotel New York City
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing