We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing hotel & location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #68 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“amazing hotel & location”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I stayed in the distrikt hotel from the 5th dec till 10th dec this year, i was with my husband and 18 year old daughter. What can i say but what an amazing hotel.

We were on the 18th floor, no bother with noise from the front road, our room was spotless 2 good size queen beds. Furniture was lovely, heating was great could turn up or down to meet ones needs. Our bathroom was fab, what a great shower wish i had one at home..We arrive with a lovely welcome pack of water chocolates also 2 cakes for my daughter & husbands birthday.

Our room was cleaned every day with clean towels, coffee machine in room was great as well. The maids have done this hotel proud.

The staff on reception bent over backwards to help you with any enquiries nothing was too much trouble, Beautiful hot apple cider when you arrived in of the cold evenings yummy!!. I never ate in hotel but we did have a couple of drinks some evenings before going out. Bar area spotless & staff were so helpful.

The location was spot on, didnt have a problem with the area at all. so near to times square, few blocks to 5th avenue. fantastic location.

I have visited nyc stayed in the hilton & radisson, they do not have a patch on this hotel...all they have is fancy lobbys once you past the reception very dull also you are just a number.
With the distrikt the staff seemed to know you, always a smile morning evening etc.

I was recommended this hotel by a friend i am so glad she did, since i arrived back in the uk i have passed this information on to others. I will defo be back at the distrikt hotel.

Keep up the good work........
Excellant hotel excellant location excellant staff.

thank you distrikt for making my daughters first trip to NYC a memorable one

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor views are worth it......
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol2359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
We are truly humbled by your review and the comparison to such fine hoteliers. The team will be thrilled to have earned such high marks and to have their genuine service so fondly remembered. We look forward to when we can welcome you back to Distrikt!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,419
    1,311
    243
    38
    19
See reviews for
968
2,557
235
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,041)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This is a good, clean, somewhat upscale boutique hotel in a relatively quiet yet central area on the west side of Manhattan. The location across from the Port Authority Bus Terminal posed no problem from the standpoint of noise, traffic or safety, and is convenient to the subways as well as 9th avenue with its endless array of restaurants. The staff is well-meaning and helpful, the rooms are modest sized, clean and contemporary, the bed is comfortable, the thermostat works. Room service is available. Nothing fancy. If that's what you want, this is a very good choice at a reasonable price (reasonable being a relative term in NYC where it's hard to find a nice hotel at Xmas time for under $400 a night).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoCalTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for your review of Distrikt on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to have earned your approval and hope we have a chance to earn that fifth mark in the future by not just meeting, but exceeding your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed at the Distrikt Hotel for 4 nights last week for a birthday trip to New York. We based our hotel selection specifically on the Trip Advisor reviews and I'm delighted to say we were not disappointed.
We selected an upgraded room which was on the 26th Floor. Spacious, well appointed and a wonderfully comfortable bed. No noise at all despite being very centrally located.
We did not dine in the hotel however we used the bar and other facilities. The staff are a real credit to the hotel, very friendly, knowledgeable with a real emphasis on customer service. There were quite a lot of British residents there too which has been down to continued referrals.

We would definitely stay here again, whilst its not one of the bigger hotels (Hilton, Intercontinental, Marriot etc) I think this is to the Distrikt's advantage, it allows them to have much more customer focus and from what we saw its a very popular choice. We loved it, I hope you do too.

Room Tip: Upgrade from standard, we had floor 26, nice city views and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jools168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
We are very grateful that you chose Distrikt to celebrate with and are especially happy that we met and even exceeded your expectations. We thank you for your review, and also for your favorable comparison to the other fine hotels in NYC. We do have a great deal of international guests, and agree that is recommendations like yours that make that happen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the DISTRIKT 29th November for 4 nights-it was everything we expected & more.

We stayed on floor 29-the room was an excellent size, clean & modern with everything you need for a city break. We had 2 large cases as we were going on a cruise following our stay & there was ample space & storage. Robes were provided, a coffee machine & the bed was so comfy! The bathroom is small but perfectly formed.

The staff, what can I say? Each & everyone of them were amazing! Welcoming every morning & evening & constantly on hand to provide recommendations, directions, anything we needed. Prior to our trip Neesha from the main reception helped us plan our itinerary, giving restaurant ideas, options of getting to/from JFK & also sourcing us NHL tickets prior to our trip. We could not have asked for any more!

This was our first trip to NYC & we found the location great, right next to Hells Kitchen for lots of dining options, 5 mins to Times Square & fifth avenue not much further. It's a great location for seeing all the main sites & the subway/bus for anything further afield.

I had no problem with the street, there are 2 other chain hotels on the street & we never had any issues. There are many streets in New York much less desirable than W40th!!

I will be returning to the DISTRIKT when I am next in NYC, it was great & I'd recommend it to all visitors who want a central location & excellent standard of room & service.



Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Miztech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you so very much for choosing Distrikt and for you lovely review on TripAdvisor. The team, and especially Nesha, will be thrilled with the recognition and appreciate it. We are very grateful for your promise of return as well as your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I took my 2 teenage daughters to NYC for a long weekend. I have not been to the city in 25 years. I was very happy to have selected The Distrikt to stay during our trip. It was centrally located to all the sights and attractions we wanted to see. The staff there is wonderful! They took care of everything we needed. Neisha and David were great to my daughters and I. I would highly recommend The Distrkit as a great place to stay. We will be going back again!! Thanks for making our trip all we could hope for!!

Mike C from Ohio

Room Tip: Stay on an upper floor for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cortez M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
We are very happy to have hosted you and your daughters for your return to NYC! Thank you for your lovely review, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We are especially grateful for your recognition to the team, and will pass on your comments to Nesha and David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

After reading many positive reviews we decided to stay at the Distrikt over Thanksgiving weekend. The location is ideal - within walking distance to the theaters, tons of restaurants, Times Square and the subway. We took a cab from the airport for $50 (rush hour), but the hotel can arrange for a car and driver for $45 inc tolls and tip. Or, if you want to save, you can easily get a airport bus for $13 per person.
By far the most impressive thing about the hotel was the STAFF. We've been to NY many times but the staff here was the friendliest and most helpful of anywhere we've stayed. They recommended restaurants, helped us figure out which trains to take to get to where we wanted, and advised us where to go to have a less crowded view of the parade. They also told us about the viewing of the balloons at the American History Museum the day before the parade.
We will stay at Distrikt from now on every time we visit NY!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunlover180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
We are thrilled that you chose to spend the holiday with us, and that we were able to assist you in the best parts of the parade. The team will be most proud of earning your high regards, and we thank you for the recognition. We can't wait to welcome you back, and hope it is soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2013

What a great hotel and what brilliant staff. I went from Scotland to NYC with my fiancée, daughter who is 2 years old and 19 friends to get married in Central Park. I was very impressed with how friendly all members of staff are at The Distrikt. They couldn't have done anymore for us. From arranging tickets for shows cheaper than we could find etc. rooms are very clean and good size. Location of hotel isn't fantastic however you soon forget about that. I would 100% recommend this hotel

Room Tip: You won't get better service anywhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you so very much for your amazing review and endorsement. We are thrilled that you chose Distrikt for such a special trip and made us part of your memories. We had so much joy in being part of your celebration, thank you for including us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 468 in New York City
935 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#138 of 468 in New York City
4,994 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#37 of 468 in New York City
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 468 in New York City
2,724 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 468 in New York City
2,857 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Property: Distrikt Hotel New York City
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing