We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #67 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Just stayed here for 3 nights and it was great. The staff were so friendly and it had a great welcoming and relaxed atmosphere.
The trip was for a friends 40th birthday and this was acknowledged when we arrived and the hotel had put a chocolate pudding in his room wishing him a happy birthday.
Great location with Times Square not far at all.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Food20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of Distrikt on TripAdvisor. We are especially happy to have had a chance to be part of your celebratory trip to NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,416
    1,310
    243
    38
    19
See reviews for
968
2,554
235
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,040)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We just returned from New York after a 7 night stay at the Distrikt Hotel. It was a great experience! The hotel was tastefully decorated and very clean. The staff, from Housekeeping to the Front Desk, was so friendly and helpful. The location was convenient to shopping, Times Square and restaurants as well as other attractions! You can't go wrong with choosing the Distrikt! I would definitely recommend this hotel to all!

Room Tip: The king size rooms were comfortable. Usually the hotel rooms are so small in New York, it's har...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 227joanns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
We are very thankful for your endorsement and for sharing your experience with fellow TripAdvisor travelers. Thank you for recognizing the team's efforts, they will be very happy to have been part of your positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Right in the heart of New York, this hotel was perfect for our stay in New York! Right from when we walked in, super friendly staff and a cute lobby. Our room was quiet, cosy (standard New York) but just what we needed - a place to sleep. Breakfast at the College Bar was a pleasant surprise, buffet with everything you needed - we ended up eating there every morning. The location is SUPERB, only a few blocks from Times Square and the station, walking distance to many attractions such as Empire State, and right across from the Bus Terminal. This was perfect for when we had the Jets game!
I was so happy with our stay, especially for the price we paid! The lovely staff were the standout!

Room Tip: Book early for GREAT prices!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you so very much for your detailed description of your experience at Distrikt. We are very pleased we were able to meet and exceed your expectations, and love that you were able to enjoy so many of the sights close to the hotel...especially American Football!!! We will share your lovely comments about the team with them, thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Just returned from a four night stay at the Distrikt Hotel - our first time in NY.
I had emailed months ago to request a room with a good view as the trip was to celebrate my husbands retirement (I had actually forgotten I had done this) and we were greeted with congratulations from the chap on reception and cheesecake and a card later in the room - this was a lovely touch and started our trip off wonderfully.
I think we may have also been upgraded to a room higher up the building with great views - The Hudson one way and the Empire State building the other - fantastic!
The room was a good size, very clean, quiet and comfortable - I actually couldnt wait to get back of an evening to get into the gorgeous bed! Housekeeping staff do a great job - our room was spotless as were all the public areas in the hotel.
One of the best things about the hotel is its location. It is literally a couple of minutes walk to Times Square, Broadway etc.
There is a subway station at the end of the street and the Bus Terminal right opposite.
We flew into Newark airport and got the Express Bus, which drops you literally round the corner from the hotel.
The street itself is fine - we never felt at all uncomfortable or unsafe.
I would recommend this hotel without reservation and if I am lucky enough to ever return to New York I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsSinkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
We do hope you are very lucky indeed! Thank you for such a lovely review of Distrikt, and especially for allowing us to celebrate with you. We are very pleased that we met and perhaps exceeded your expectations and appreciate the great experience regarding location and transportation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I stayed in the distrikt hotel from the 5th dec till 10th dec this year, i was with my husband and 18 year old daughter. What can i say but what an amazing hotel.

We were on the 18th floor, no bother with noise from the front road, our room was spotless 2 good size queen beds. Furniture was lovely, heating was great could turn up or down to meet ones needs. Our bathroom was fab, what a great shower wish i had one at home..We arrive with a lovely welcome pack of water chocolates also 2 cakes for my daughter & husbands birthday.

Our room was cleaned every day with clean towels, coffee machine in room was great as well. The maids have done this hotel proud.

The staff on reception bent over backwards to help you with any enquiries nothing was too much trouble, Beautiful hot apple cider when you arrived in of the cold evenings yummy!!. I never ate in hotel but we did have a couple of drinks some evenings before going out. Bar area spotless & staff were so helpful.

The location was spot on, didnt have a problem with the area at all. so near to times square, few blocks to 5th avenue. fantastic location.

I have visited nyc stayed in the hilton & radisson, they do not have a patch on this hotel...all they have is fancy lobbys once you past the reception very dull also you are just a number.
With the distrikt the staff seemed to know you, always a smile morning evening etc.

I was recommended this hotel by a friend i am so glad she did, since i arrived back in the uk i have passed this information on to others. I will defo be back at the distrikt hotel.

Keep up the good work........
Excellant hotel excellant location excellant staff.

thank you distrikt for making my daughters first trip to NYC a memorable one

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor views are worth it......
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol2359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
We are truly humbled by your review and the comparison to such fine hoteliers. The team will be thrilled to have earned such high marks and to have their genuine service so fondly remembered. We look forward to when we can welcome you back to Distrikt!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This is a good, clean, somewhat upscale boutique hotel in a relatively quiet yet central area on the west side of Manhattan. The location across from the Port Authority Bus Terminal posed no problem from the standpoint of noise, traffic or safety, and is convenient to the subways as well as 9th avenue with its endless array of restaurants. The staff is well-meaning and helpful, the rooms are modest sized, clean and contemporary, the bed is comfortable, the thermostat works. Room service is available. Nothing fancy. If that's what you want, this is a very good choice at a reasonable price (reasonable being a relative term in NYC where it's hard to find a nice hotel at Xmas time for under $400 a night).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoCalTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for your review of Distrikt on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to have earned your approval and hope we have a chance to earn that fifth mark in the future by not just meeting, but exceeding your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed at the Distrikt Hotel for 4 nights last week for a birthday trip to New York. We based our hotel selection specifically on the Trip Advisor reviews and I'm delighted to say we were not disappointed.
We selected an upgraded room which was on the 26th Floor. Spacious, well appointed and a wonderfully comfortable bed. No noise at all despite being very centrally located.
We did not dine in the hotel however we used the bar and other facilities. The staff are a real credit to the hotel, very friendly, knowledgeable with a real emphasis on customer service. There were quite a lot of British residents there too which has been down to continued referrals.

We would definitely stay here again, whilst its not one of the bigger hotels (Hilton, Intercontinental, Marriot etc) I think this is to the Distrikt's advantage, it allows them to have much more customer focus and from what we saw its a very popular choice. We loved it, I hope you do too.

Room Tip: Upgrade from standard, we had floor 26, nice city views and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jools168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
We are very grateful that you chose Distrikt to celebrate with and are especially happy that we met and even exceeded your expectations. We thank you for your review, and also for your favorable comparison to the other fine hotels in NYC. We do have a great deal of international guests, and agree that is recommendations like yours that make that happen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 468 in New York City
935 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#139 of 468 in New York City
4,987 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#35 of 468 in New York City
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 468 in New York City
2,721 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 468 in New York City
2,851 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Property: Distrikt Hotel New York City
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Prestigia, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing