We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #74 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kingswood, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We chose this hotel because it had a great Tripadvisor review/rating. We wanted a comfortable and friendly hotel in mid town Manhattan and we were not disappointed in any way. Staying between December 30 and January 4th we were very pleased with the location, the rooms were very well appointed and it would not have been possible for the staff, all of them, to have been more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble, tips on what to see, help with taxis and directions and really good restaurant recommendations. Very well maintained, this is not a hotel for you if you want all the extras like, gyms, sauna, restaurants and a choice bars. It's central New York, we were out all day everyday, so for us it was a great location, friendLy service, comfortable and clean rooms and access to all of the excitement that is New York City at New Years.

Room Tip: I think they are pretty much all the same, just some rooms at higher floors.
See more room tips
Green Features: They have an Eco towel and laundry change policy. The a/c and heating can be controlled in the room.
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
We are exceptionally happy when we can exceed the expectations of TripAdvisor reviewers. We are very glad that we were chosen for your New Years celebration and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are especially grateful for your endorsement, and will let our team know they helped make a difference in your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,492
    1,356
    256
    38
    22
See reviews for
1,019
2,600
245
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,049)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Had a fab stay at this hotel Jan 2014. It is in a great location and the staff were very friendly and knowledgable, always willing to help. Rooms modern, clean & tidy. Free wifi throughout hotel, free PCs in the foyer and a bar to relax if required. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
We are very proud to have earned your endorsement and recommendation. Thank you for choosing Distrikt and we do hope your next trip will come about soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I booked this hotel because of it's location and amazing Tripadvisor reviews. The staff is really nice and friendly. The room was smaller than I thought but I didn't let it get to me as I was in NYC and it wasn't about that…also it was super clean which is what matters most. I received a personal letter upon entering the room along with a brownie (THANK YOU for making that nut-free!) which was great as I was starving after our trip. We had 3 days of "Christmas in New York" adventures and Distrikt hotel was a welcome refuge. The guy who helps hail cars (can't remember his name) was SUPER friendly and we really liked him! Also, when asked where to go for brunch we were advised to hit the Westway Diner and was VERY PLEASED! Again, can't remember that guys name. :(. The infused water and the hot apple cider were all nice touches that I appreciated and that I'm sure most do as well. The free wi-fi was very welcome and the computers in the lobby for guests turned out to be very helpful. When looking over my credit card statement online and noticing a discrepancy the guy at front desk did everything he could to address the issue (even though I'm pretty sure it wasn't Distrikts fault)…even calling the company I booked the hotel through to work through it. Again, much appreciated!
I agree with everyone that the location of the hotel is super convenient being across from Port Authority and close to Times Square, but the road it is on is shady…but didn't feel dangerous.
Oh, and take the shuttle bus from LGA for $13 (it leaves every half hour) instead of cab…much cheaper :).
I don't know if I would stay at Distrikt again only because I like to try different hotels but Distrikt will always hold a special play in our heart as being a part of our Christmas in New York adventure! :-DBut who knows. It worked so I just might break my own rule ;)
I would definitely recommend Distrikt to a friend. It's the friendliness of the staff and the little touches that make it stand out among the crowd.

Room Tip: If you care about a view ask for a room higher up…we didn't have a view but it wasn't our fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrownLibra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Distrikt for your holiday travels and for your review on TripAdvisor. We are very happy our team and amenities helped make your stay a great one, and do hope you will break that pesky rule...let us know if we can help convince you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here during our honeymoon holiday. By the time we got out of the airport and got on and off the shuttle it was after midnight. The lady at the concierge was very helpful and polite. So were the door men. We stayed on the Chelsea section of the hotel and we were on the 11th level. The room itself was quite small but very clean and modern. The bathroom was big enough considering the size of the room. There were 2 complementary bath robes on hand too use which I've never had before. The only downside for me was that there wasn't any room in the fridge as it was only for vending purposes. Other than that the room was in a good location being a 5-7min walk to Times Square. It had a subway train station nearby, Starbucks nearby, Subway (sandwiches) around the corner and a pizza shop on the corner and it also had a Duane Reade on the other corner. All in all, a Very good hotel in a prime location if you want to be close too Times Square.

Room Tip: Try and get a room as high as possible to eliminate the noise on the streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Libs77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for entrusting Distrikt for your honeymoon home! We are thrilled we were able to help make your stay a memorable one, and thank you for all of the positive comments. We understand that our guests may want to keep some items cold during their stay, next time we will be sure to offer one of our minifridges for you to use during your stay! Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights in late November. We arrived a bit early for check in but we were able to leave our suitcases in a secure holding room whilst they prepared our room and we could have a look around the city. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from Times Square and the subway.

The room was quite basic but to be honest we didnt sprend much time in there as we were only there for a few days. We were on the 4th floor so had a view of a brick wall but you would have to be up really high to get any kind of view. When we first went in the room there was a personalised welcome note and some chocolates. Each day a maid came to our room with a weather report for the next day and more chocolates. On Thanksgiving we came back to our room to find some holiday themed cookies. Free wifi and hot cider in lobby was a great touch.

The only downside was the restaurant. There seemed to only be one waiter and whilst he did a good job serving everyone, it took 45 minutes for my order of toast and bacon to reach me.

Overall great hotel, great staff, great location. If i ever go back to New York I would definitly stay there again.

Room Tip: I would maybe pay extra for a higher room to get a bit of a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My mother took me to NYC as a gift for doing well in my exams when I was 17, as it had always been a dream of mine. We found this hotel pretty quickly, and booked it due to the prices and other reviews. When we got there, we were frazzled and exhausted due to JFK airport delaying our arrival but we were welcomed by a very friendly receptionist who checked us in quickly and explained everything we needed to know. The rooms were lovely and spacious, with a double bed each. The hotel was modern and included free wifi, a tv, and an ipod docking station, and a hair dryer, to name a few. The shower was very powerful and left my hair feeling very soft each time. Housekeeping were friendly and cleaned the room spectacularly, plus topped up any soaps or shampoos that weren't in the bathroom (the shampoos themselves were all lovely!). Throughout the week we stayed there, the hotel continued to impress us, they supplied free iced tea in the lobby that were changed often so you got a variety of flavours. On the morning we were leaving they had booked an ice cream van that supplied free ice cream to all the guests (and as much as we wanted!). Every time we walked past reception they would greet us and ask how we were doing. We tried breakfast once and it was a wide range menu, with tasty food and a selection of breads and fruit.

The hotel itself was in a great location, literally on the corner of Times Square but the road was still very quiet. There was a subway station less than a minute walk away. From our room, one of the cheaper rooms on a lower floor, we didn't have a great view but that did not bother us.

Overall the hotel was absolutely lovely, and one of the best hotels I have ever been in.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alaarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
It was a personal pleasure to read your review and to learn that Distrikt was part of such an amazing trip. We are so thrilled to have helped make your visit even more memorable and truly appreciate you sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The staff is very helpful, and friendly. Everyone seemed genuinely happy to be working here. Hugo and Jonathon were especially helpful, and friendly. Our flight arrived too early for us to check in, but they stored our luggage while we explored the city. The location is very convenient, and in an interesting and eclectic neighborhood. We felt completely safe the entire time. The lobby, bar, and room were all extremely clean. We found our bed, and linens very cozy. We requested a room on an upper level with a view of the Empire State Building, and we did receive one. Wonderful view. We were greeted n the lobby with delicious fruit infused water, and hot apple cider. Our room had some very good brownies when we arrived. I have to agree with other travelers. They do make the best hot chocolate. The appetizers during happy hour were just ok, but wasn't here for the food. Jonathon was able to arrange a car to bring us to the airport. We paid $169 per night for a weekend stay. I think it is a great value. Very new, and clean! We would return. Thanks, Distrikt staff! Oh, and the heat worked wonderfully.

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher level with a view
See more room tips
Green Features: They make an effort with water conservation in regards to linen changes. We appreciate this effort.
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank epharmgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for choosing Distrikt for your winter getaway! We are thrilled you enjoyed the hotel and neighborhood, and can't wait to pass on your comments regarding the team. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
998 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#71 of 467 in New York City
382 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
2,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#128 of 467 in New York City
5,134 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 467 in New York City
2,826 reviews
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#26 of 467 in New York City
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Property: Distrikt Hotel New York City
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing