We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #67 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Andy Wing , Callum Murden and myself Joanne Murden stayed at The Distrikt in December 2013 ..On behalf of us all I want to thank the Distrikt team for making our stay all the more wonderful . We could not fault the hotel and its staff .So welcoming and warm , and made us feel like regulars . The special cake in the room for my son Callums 18th was so thoughtful ..sometimes it is the little things that make you smile . Thankyou one and all and I hope we can return to New York one day and we will stay at The Distrikt without a doubt . Keep up your hard work guys ..you have a fabulous team you should all be very proud off . Regards and best of wishes to you all .Jo , Andy &Callum .

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank joandycal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,251 - 2,257 of 5,500 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

The Distrikt Hotel is a fantastic hotel...from staff service to accommodations, it is top notch. Front desk staff was very helpful, especially the evening staff. I had great experiences with every staff member I interacted with. Martha, the bartender, was absolutely amazing and really made my stay as great as it was. As I do not travel into NYC much for business, I was unaware of the hot spots for food and how to get from the hotel to the locations I needed to go. Martha went above and beyond the call of duty to assist me and help make my visit a great one. She really deserves recognition by name for her shining personality and top notch customer service while I was at the hotel...thank you Martha! She epitomizes customer service and genuine friendliness, and if that's the attitude that is reflected at this hotel, then this will be my hotel of choice everytime I'm in NYC. The hotel accommodations were great and the hotel is in a prime location. Being there during Super Bowl week, it sure was an exciting time around NYC. Thank you all for a wonderful stay at the Distrikt Hotel.

Room Tip: When booking a room, choose a room type with a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D_S61281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I'm a 22 year old female who stayed for a week in mid-January. Whenever I return to NY, this hotel will be my number one choice. (I actually work the front desk at a hotel and would love to work at a property like this!) It was everything I like in a hotel - simple, great location, modern, and very sophisticated giving it a fancy feel. I loved the refreshments in the lobby every evening and the little chocolates and weather update card the housekeeping staff left every night. I'm a very low maintenance hotel guest so I didn't discover all the amenities they offer, but my stay went perfectly and I couldn't ask for anything better. The only thing they are missing is an on-site hotel gym, but they give you a pass to a private gym a block away. I can't wait to return! Great job, guys!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We were in NY for just 3 days, so we needed a good, clean and near room. We found it at the Distrikt Hotel!
Good personnel, little but clean room, great wellcome!
We will sure choose again this hotel if we'll tourn back to The City!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cc r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This is not a very fancy hotel but is a gem!! The rooms are a clean , good size.It is conveniently located close to the bus authority, times square and other metro stations.The staff is great and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hussain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

I would like to start this review by saying that this was my first trip to NYC. I found this hotel on Trip Advisor and what a find it was. The desk staff was awesome and welcomed me to the city with a room upgrade. Room was clean and very comfortable, location was great. I will repeat.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Soflaguy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I've stayed at a few similar hotels in the same area (between Times Square and the Garment District) and this one is definitively the best I've found (for similar rates/level of service).
The rooms are clean and the furnishing very recent. Nice design both in the rooms and in the public areas (to include the restaurant).
Breakfast at reasonable price and good service. Front desk staff very kind and helpful. Definitively in my short list if I were to visit NY again!

Room Tip: I've stayed at the 27th floor. I strongly suggest staying at 20th or above (much more quiet).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ganahal_AG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#92 of 470 in New York City
479 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#75 of 470 in New York City
1,096 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#43 of 470 in New York City
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 470 in New York City
11,806 reviews
Midtown
TRYP New York City Times Square South
TRYP New York City Times Square ...
#172 of 470 in New York City
3,917 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#38 of 470 in New York City
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £120 - £418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing