We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hospitality in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #71 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We enjoyed 4 great nights in NYC in April and our stay in Distrikt Hotel really added to the break. The staff were beyond helpful and nice and the room was magic with a view of the Empire State!!
The rate for the room was very fair and we will return hopefully for our next big celebration.
We were welcomed with hot cider on the snowy night we arrived...

Room Tip: Just ask for what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for finding us and taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and look forward to celebrating with you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,066 - 2,072 of 5,358 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

Really friendly staff! We arrived in New York earlier than ckeck-in time and the staff managed to get a room for us immediately. That made the difference!
The hotel is very clean, with individual bathroom and spacious room. It's also really safe as you can only reach your floor by elevator using your room key.
The only negative point is that it's located behind a huge terminal and that makes the street less crowded as usual. But we haven't suffered any threat at all in 7 days of stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guilherme O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you very much for leaving a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you staying with us, as well as all of your kind comments. We do hope you will return to us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed at the Distrikt for our first trip to NYC having been heavily influenced by the TA community. We were not let down.
The hotel sits on West 40th street between 8th Ave (Times Square awaits) and 9th Ave (where many food outlets await) with the front overlooking the back of Port Authority bus station.
We had read the 'negative' vibes about W 40th street but can honestly say that we disagree as we did not feel intimidated at all. It is also worth noting that the Distrikt is next to the Staybridge Suites, the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott as well as the Four Points by Sheraton.
We had emailed the hotel in advance as we were looking for inspiration on how we could celebrate our wedding anniversary. Step forward Cara who came up with a load of suggestions based on our preferences. Top pick was the Bateaux Dinner Cruise which we really, really enjoyed. Thank you Cara.
Anyhow, we had booked a grand view king room which was fantastic. The room was spacious, with a large bathroom, and had great views including a section of the Hudson River. There were loads of towels, bucket loads of hot water, with chocolate brownies, chocolate, weather reports and free wi-fi thrown in as well. We also received a cake and card for our anniversary, thank you Distrikt, it was a nice touch.
We had breakfast at the hotel twice as sometimes it is just nice just to chill and to have a lazy start. We sampled both the continental as well as cooked breakfast and were not disappointed. Mind you, the dining area is quite small so you may have a wait if it is busy.
As for the staff, all friendly, knowledgeable and can't do enough to help.
This is especially true for Hugo who we turned to for a taxi to Chelsea Piers on Saturday night at 17:00'ish. He told us to wait at the corner of 9th Ave. The next minute we saw a yellow cab appear with Hugo in the back waving out the back window with a huge smile. Well done Hugo, you are one of a kind.
The Distrikt is a great hotel which really punches above its weight.

Room Tip: Try and get a Grandview king and preferably not one at the top floor as there may be more A/C noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelpiefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

We truly appreciate you taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. Thank you for especially for all of the wonderful recognition of our team especially Cara and Hugo. We are so glad that you chose us to celebrate your special occasion and do hope we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I booked this hotel because of its location and the reviews on this site. It was well worth staying here. It has a great location only a sort walk to subway stations. Will stay here again when I return to New York

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank totpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

We are thrilled that after finding us on TripAdvisor, we still managed to exceed your expectations for your visit! We look forward to welcoming you back to district in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We booked this hotel based solely on the reviews seen on Trip Advisor, all of which were very positive... And the Distrikt did not disappoint!! The hotel was located a couple of blocks from Times Square which made it perfect for getting around in the busy city, but just outside the noise when it was time for bed.

We booked a Grandview King which I would recommend for the amazing views and the free wifi which enabled us to use the internet without running up expensive bills. The room was very modern and spacious, the bed was very comfortable, with a lovely bathroom and shower all of which were cleaned daily.

The decor looked great, very modern and with free computer usage and hot drinks in the lobby. But best of all was the staff at this hotel, we were made very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble and they helped suggest places to visit and eat. We would like to say special thanks in particular to Kevin on the reception who helped me arrange some flowers for my girlfriend on Valentines day via email before we arrived and Hugo who was so friendly, fun and helpful.

Thank you for making our first trip to NY a very memorable one. We will definitely be back...

Room Tip: Higher floors have amazing views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaggyG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

We are honored that you chose Distrikt Hotel for your first visit to NYC. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We of course are most grateful for your recognition of our team and their efforts especially Kevin's. We are looking forward to that next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This was a perfect fit for our experience. It's a tall narrow hotel so only five or six rooms on each floor so very quiet. This hotel was not expensive and was top quality. Extremely friendly helpful staff. Could walk everywhere we wanted to go - theatres, hockey game, Times Square, Letterman show... but really close to subway also if you want to venture out. We got to the hotel quite easily from airport by bus and 7 train, and they arranged a car back to the airport which was cheaper than a taxi and was perfect. Lather hair products, which I am now going to order for myself, Keurig coffee in our room, brownies, chocolates. The temperature in the room adjusted easily and quickly. Best shower ever in a hotel. Wi-fi easy and excellent. Room safe was easy to operate. No hidden charges at all. Would definitely recommend this hotel - absolutely!!! Thank you to the staff for making our trip so enjoyable and relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

We cannot thank you enough for sharing your experience. Truly your review is everything that we could hope for. We take pride in our service and the amenities that we offer to the gassed and are so very glad when we hear that they are enjoyed. Thank you again for choosing Distrikt, we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

What a fantastic hotel! Spotlessly clean, comfy room and bed, choice of feather or synthetic pillows. Great hair dryer in room, no need to bring own. I have long thick hair and it dried it no problem, unlike some hotel hair dryers.
Great location, close to transport links, Port Authority bus station across street (can get bus to Jersey Garden mall from there). Also close to Times Square and loads of other attractions.
Staff are great, we came over to elope and were treated like a king and queen! Special mention to Nisha (sp) at reception who had to take phone for me as people found it hard to understand our Scottish accents, all the staff were fantastic though.
Pay no heed to mention in other reviews about it being in a 'dodgy' area, the area is fine. Never felt unsafe at all, four hotels in a row so always loads of people around.
Beer Authority pub just on the corner is great, loads of beers on tap and great food.
Could talk all day about Distrikt. We will be back, for sure!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lauren68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

It was most gratifying to read your review of District. We thank you for taking the long trek to New York City, and for choosing us as your home away from home. It was great to read that you like the area, and especially that you will bring your brogue back to us and Nesha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#86 of 469 in New York City
436 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 469 in New York City
1,056 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 469 in New York City
3,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#78 of 469 in New York City
1,023 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel Times Square
Cassa Hotel Times Square
#124 of 469 in New York City
1,222 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#125 of 469 in New York City
5,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £139 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing